Buying Options

Kindle Price: $10.99

Save $10.00 (48%)

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

You've subscribed to Monk & Robot! We will preorder your items within 24 hours of when they become available. When new books are released, we'll charge your default payment method for the lowest price available during the pre-order period.
Update your device or payment method, cancel individual pre-orders or your subscription at
Your Memberships & Subscriptions

Buy for others

Give as a gift or purchase for a team or group.Learn more

Buying and sending eBooks to others

Select quantity
Buy and send eBooks
Recipients can read on any device

Additional gift options are available when buying one eBook at a time.  Learn more

These ebooks can only be redeemed by recipients in the US. Redemption links and eBooks cannot be resold.

Quantity: 
This item has a maximum order quantity limit.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

<Embed>
Kindle app logo image

Download the free Kindle app and start reading Kindle books instantly on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required. Learn more

Read instantly on your browser with Kindle Cloud Reader.

Enter your mobile phone or email address

Processing your request...

By pressing "Send link," you agree to Amazon's Conditions of Use.

You consent to receive an automated text message from or on behalf of Amazon about the Kindle App at your mobile number above. Consent is not a condition of any purchase. Message & data rates may apply.

Loading your book clubs
There was a problem loading your book clubs. Please try again.
Not in a club? Learn more
Amazon book clubs early access

Join or create book clubs

Choose books together

Track your books
Bring your club to Amazon Book Clubs, start a new book club and invite your friends to join, or find a club that’s right for you for free.
A Psalm for the Wild-Built (Monk & Robot Book 1) by [Becky Chambers]
Audible Sample
Playing...
Loading...
Paused

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.

A Psalm for the Wild-Built (Monk & Robot Book 1) Kindle Edition

4.6 out of 5 stars 1,244 ratings

Price
New from Used from
Kindle
$10.99

Nolyn: The Rise and Fall, Book 1
In the depths of an unforgiving jungle, a legend is about to be born. Listen now

Amazon Business: Make the most of your Amazon Business account with exclusive tools and savings. Login now

Editorial Reviews

Review

A USA Today Bestseller!

A Psalm for the Wild-Built begins a series that looks optimistic and hopeful, pursuing stories that arise from abundance instead of scarcity, kindness instead of cruelty, and I look forward to seeing where it goes from here.” ―NPR

“The gentle touch with which Chambers handles her material makes the book's loftiest philosophical aims feel grounded. With a pervading sense of optimism and warmth, A Psalm for the Wild-Built inaugurates an exciting series from one of science fiction's brightest stars.” ―Shelf Awareness starred review

“Hugo Award–winning author Becky Chambers begins a new series with this delightful and quietly philosophical novella that presents a hopeful glimpse into a future where humanity actually does the right thing.” ―Buzzfeed

“Chambers’ writing is always tender and healing, but this book has something else braided into it ― something more... This is a book that, for one night, made me stop asking ‘what am I even for?’ I’m prescribing a preorder to anyone who has ever felt lost. Stunning, kind, necessary.” ―Sarah Gailey

"This was an optimistic vision of a lush, beautiful world that came back from the brink of disaster. Exploring it with the two main characters was a fun and fascinating experience.” ―Martha Wells

"I'm the world's biggest fan of odd couple buddy road trips in science fiction, and this odd couple buddy road trip is a delight: funny, thoughtful, touching, sweet, and one of the most humane books I've read in a long time. We could all use a read like this right now." ―Sarah Pinsker

"I read this book in one sitting when I was having a really wretched day, and it helped. It felt like a warm cup of tea made by someone who loves me. It's a soft hug of a book, and it says 'It's okay if you're not okay right now.' It made me cry the good sort of tears―the sort when someone is unexpectedly kind to you at the moment you need it most." ―Alexandra Rowland

"A joyful experience and, as with all of Chambers’s books, I was left with a warm, fuzzy feeling inside." ―New Scientist

“The first book in Chambers’ new series feels like a moment to breathe, a novel that exists to give readers a place to rest and think… Recommended for fans of Chambers’ Wayfarers series and The House in the Cerulean Sea by TJ Klune.” ―Booklist Starred Review

"Written with all of Chambers’ characteristic nuance and careful thought, this is a cozy, wholesome meditation on the nature of consciousness and its place in the natural world. Fans of gentle, smart, and hopeful science fiction will delight in this promising series starter." ―Publishers Weekly

--This text refers to the hardcover edition.

About the Author

Becky Chambers is a science fiction author based in Northern California. She is best known for her Hugo Award-winning Wayfarers series. Her books have also been nominated for the Arthur C. Clarke Award, the Locus Award, and the Women's Prize for Fiction, among others.

Becky has a background in performing arts, and grew up in a family heavily involved in space science. She spends her free time playing video and tabletop games, keeping bees, and looking through her telescope. Having hopped around the world a bit, she’s now back in her home state, where she lives with her wife. She hopes to see Earth from orbit one day.

--This text refers to the hardcover edition.

Product details

  • ASIN ‏ : ‎ B08H831J18
  • Publisher ‏ : ‎ Tordotcom (July 13, 2021)
  • Publication date ‏ : ‎ July 13, 2021
  • Language ‏ : ‎ English
  • File size ‏ : ‎ 5351 KB
  • Text-to-Speech ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • Screen Reader ‏ : ‎ Supported
  • Enhanced typesetting ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • X-Ray ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • Word Wise ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • Print length ‏ : ‎ 160 pages
  • Lending ‏ : ‎ Not Enabled
  • Customer Reviews:
    4.6 out of 5 stars 1,244 ratings

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
4.6 out of 5
1,244 global ratings
How are ratings calculated?

Top reviews from the United States

Reviewed in the United States on July 14, 2021
Verified Purchase
57 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on July 13, 2021
Verified Purchase
35 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on July 18, 2021
Verified Purchase
16 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on July 13, 2021
Verified Purchase
15 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on July 15, 2021
Verified Purchase
15 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on July 14, 2021
Verified Purchase
12 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on July 15, 2021
Verified Purchase
6 people found this helpful
Report abuse

Top reviews from other countries

Jeremy Pack
5.0 out of 5 stars A great little story
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on July 23, 2021
Verified Purchase
3 people found this helpful
Report abuse
A J Graves
3.0 out of 5 stars Irritated and disappointed.
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on July 13, 2021
Verified Purchase
4 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Graeme Oswald
5.0 out of 5 stars Nothing much happens
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on July 14, 2021
Verified Purchase
3 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Dan Williams
3.0 out of 5 stars Competent
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on September 8, 2021
Verified Purchase
A. J. Sudworth
5.0 out of 5 stars Its short , but gets right to the heart of the issue of what matters
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on August 10, 2021
Verified Purchase