Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Puerto Rico LTD Anniversary Edition
Your Garage Up to 80 Percent Off Textbooks Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Benjamin Leftwich Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Coffee Totes Amazon Cash Back Offer PilotWave7B PilotWave7B PilotWave7B  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis DollyParton Shop Now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on January 9, 2012
Puerto Rico is one of the best selling, and among the highest rated euro board games (according to [...]) to date. It's an incredibly deep game heavily rooted in strategy with minimal luck that is not out of reach of more casual players. That said, there are more than enough reviews about the game itself, so I'll focus the attention of on what's changed with this special, limited edition release.

The anniversary edition comes with a welcome facelift and more than several notable changes that enhance the overall gameplay experience:

Colonists and nobles are no longer round bits that can roll off tables. These have been replaced by larger, hexagonal blocks that are easier to grab not only during gameplay but making setup easier.

Goods are now in the shape of crates, and fit the shipping theme of the game much better. New artwork can be found on nearly everything! Player mats, role cards, plantations, quarries, cargo/colonist ships, VP chips, etc. Building pieces are now beautifully illustrated with bonuses abbreviated (for seasoned players), while the other side remains text heavy as the original should you prefer one or the other.

Doubloons are no longer cardboard bits, but have been upgraded to metal coins. All cardboard game pieces are double the thickness of the original game. No plastic divider tray has been included for organization, although plastic bags are included as a dissappointing alternative.

The rulebook now includes an official 2 player gameplay variant, and the whole lot includes both expansions: The nobles expansion along with the alternate buildings expansion released in 2002. All of this is boxed in a beautiful, dark brown box contrasted with gold accents for text and illustration.

Something to note, my copy of the game came with no additional game pieces. If you're unfortunate enough to lose a game piece down the road, god help you in finding a replacement for this limited production run. Just weeks after release, the Rio Grande site has already listed this anniversary edition as "Out Of Print".

In conclusion, this is a great way to experience Puerto Rico for those that are new to this board game or have been holding off on picking up a copy. Those looking to upgrade need to ask themselves if the "upgraded" gameplay experience is worth the extra money, since nothing in regards to gameplay execution has changed. Big fans of Puerto Rico and collectors should consider this set a must buy!
____________________________

Update 4/20/2012

I've posted some pictures of the new game tiles along with a storage solution I found that fits in the original box along with the game mats. For those who are curious, I custom made my PR gamemat using a lazy susan purchased here on Amazon.

Link below for more details on how to make on yourself!
[...]
review image review image review image review image
55 comments| 34 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 24, 2014
Pricey but worth it for game collectors. High quality game pieces, wonderful art work. This is a truly beautiful game to play with. As to gameplay, there are no dice or card hands. You win by strategy. You win by getting the most victory points. Points are obtained by shipping out produce that you grow, or through constructing buildings. That's a quick dry explanation, but in reality it is quite fun to play.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 7, 2015
One of the best games I have ever played. If you haven't played, it's a turn based, resource management game. Would be nice if rio grande games re-released this edition because it comes with better quality game pieces and two expansions that cannot be purchased elsewhere (unless you buy the Xerox copy knock offs off eBay, which I'm not interested in doing).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 4, 2012
Best components ever! Nice thick boards. Metal gold coins....Now its over $100 on amazon so i cant recommend this product anymore. But hey when its around $70, dont hesitate to buy it!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 6, 2012
I have played Puerto Rico several times before, but I never bought the original version. When I saw this edition with the improved graphics and components, I knew it was time to buy it. I'm not sure if the redesign would be worth it for the price if you already own the original version. I haven't played with the expansion pieces yet, but that wasn't much of a influence on my decision to buy it. I'm generally not a fan of expansions unless they fix some problem in the base game. In this case, I don't think there is anything wrong with the base game, so it might be a while until I try out the expansions.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 4, 2012
Puerto Rico is perhaps one of the greatest board games of all time. It has all the hallmarks of what makes a fun game: varied play, 2-5 players and nobody is ever eliminated. This version of the game (which includes both expansion packs) has been largely remade with much nicer components and some improved artwork. It also includes the special rules for a 2 player game to save you the trouble of having to look it up on line.

If you already own Puerto Rico it probably isn't worth your while dropping the big bucks to get this version. If you don't have it yet (or are looking for a copy of the game) don't even think of getting the original while there is still stock of this one. It is limited so gab it while you can!

If you like Euro board games then you NEED Puerto Rico!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 22, 2013
The special edition is worth having...there are metal doubloons instead of cardboard circles for money, and all the pieces are easier to handle. The board is brighter and easier to see as well.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 26, 2012
Great game, great version. I bought this because I love the game itself. I was not disappointed in the content or the production value. Well worth it if you are a Puerto Rico fan.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 2, 2013
The game itself is amazing and full of potential for strategy. Having it made with such high quality materials and design makes it beautiful.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 27, 2012
I had played this game whom my good friend introduced to me years ago. I had wanted to collect this game then but somehow procrastinated abit. When I learnt about the new Limited Edition coming
out in Dec 2011, I knew I had to get my hands on it. The boxed set is grand and beautiful, together with all the artwork and pieces. It also come with the 2 expansion sets which basically sealed the deal for me. :)

For those who have not had the previous set and looking to get one, I would strongly reccommend this set. The price may be high compared to the normal set but you have to factor in the improved tile set which is thick and designed for durability. All the board items are beautifully designed, especially the coins which are real metal! Plus the inclusion of the two expansion sets all thrown in.

On the con side, not too sure if it is really limited edition or just a marketing gimmick, but this box set is way superior to the normal one. It is a worthy inclusion to your boardgame collection. :)
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.

Customers also viewed these items

$45.00

Need customer service? Click here