BCA Month Salon Beauty Magazine Deals Hallo nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments $69.99 Handmade Tote Bags hgg17 Save $30 on a Deep Cleaning Appointment raydonovanfinale raydonovanfinale raydonovanfinale  Three new members of the Echo family Now shipping All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 All-New Kindle Oasis South Park Shop Now HTL17_gno

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
23
Punch: The Delights (and Dangers) of the Flowing Bowl
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:$20.07+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

on October 2, 2017
Great book about the history of Punch! Lots of deeply interesting stories here. There are also many recipes as well/ However, most are historical recipes and not ones you would necessarily want to make and serve today for a party. For example, I made the punch that is associate with Charles Dickens and it reflects its time. It does not contain the ingredients that are readily available now. But it was still interesting to make and sample. So this is not a recipe book for modern times but rather a historical study, although there are one or two recipes that you will enjoy making and that will please a modern crowd.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 1, 2011
I was already a fan of Wondrich's previous book "Imbibe", and was pleasantly surprised when I had learned of his follow-up entry "Punch". If you are the curious type, as I am, you'll be delighted to learn more about this niche of history, and with a little bit of preparation, and Mr. Wondrich's help you can taste the beverages that our forefathers enjoyed when they wanted to relax. This book is not only a translation of bygone recipes to modern equivalent of ingredients and measures, it also gives the back-story, and puts the drinks into the context of the period. I couldn't recommend any of David Wondrich's books any higher, as I find myself coming back rereading sections of them again and again.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 10, 2017
This is David Wondrich’s follow up to Imbibe! in which he tells the history of the punch bowl. It is filled with fascinating stories, traditional recipes, and modern mixology notes. Pick this up before the next party you throw.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 24, 2017
I had read "Imbibe", the author's earlier history of cocktails. As expected, "Punch" is an informative and amusing look at a forgotten part of our history. Wonderful recipes, too!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 10, 2012
For your beverage shelf in your kitchen bookcase:

Communal beverages are no longer popular but for a couple of centuries they were the thing. This is a well written and well researched book on Punch drinks. Bought on a whim since I enjoyed the punch episode of Good Eats, this is an odd, charming and fun book and perfect for when you are stuck somewhere and need to be self-entertained (car crap, doctor crap,airport). It's engrossing to the point you won't mind being whether you'd rather not be. Clearly not as essential as the Trader Vic's Bartender's Guide but better than most beverage tomes. Tempted to make a big bowl of something for the holidays and place our car keys in the lock box.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 18, 2016
Every recipe is easy to understand and prepare. They are delicious and attractive to the eyes as well. I have shared it with some friends, who cater parties, and they loved it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 14, 2015
Wornderich is at his best here. This book is informative, exhaustively researched and often hilarious. Now if I can just get some friends to try some of these....
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This book includes a thorough -- and thoroughly interesting -- history of Punch, as well as an in-depth guide for producing Punch of the highest quality. The section detailing how to create an oleo-saccharum ("sweet oil" made from citrus peel and sugar) are alone worth the price of the entire book. The recipes are great, the stories about the recipes even better, and learning the lost art of Punch making is priceless. Highly, highly recommended. Quite possibly the best drinks book in my collection.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 23, 2016
Excellent recipes, interesting history
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 29, 2015
Pleased with purchase.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse



Need customer service? Click here