Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book House Cleaning TheOnlyLivingBoy TheOnlyLivingBoy TheOnlyLivingBoy  Amazon Echo now $99.99 Limited-time offer: All-New Fire 7, starting at $39.99 Kindle Paperwhite uncharted Tailgating STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 12 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 16 reviews
on February 19, 2015
There ain't many books I can pick up 7 years after I bought them and laugh out loud when rereading them. As per Amazon I bought this one 7 years ago, on September 3, 2007. I read it again last weekend, February 2015, and this morning before going to work I was browsing it again... It still manages to thrill me.

Why? Well, the characters and the story and the art... Need I say more? Yes, the landscapes, the volcano, the choppers, the tanks, the fights, the kynetics, the dialogues, the facial gestures... the action.

This is a vibrant crime comedy, to put it mildly. A gathering of characters, from US military, Italian mafia, CIA, DEA, FBI, right up to an ex-Irish priest, latinamerican "presidentes" and 3rd world military. And let's not forget about the porn actress, and the Ron Reagan's statue. And an operatic story.

Charming Barracuda can be overpowering in just about any plot, and yes, that's the point of this book. It is about Barracuda and his deranged world, masterfully portrayed from the dark comedy angle -which resonates a lot with our world and its not very well hidden secret plots.

Of note, the lines between writer and artist are totally blurred. Who created this? Ennis or Parlov? Are they really separate entities?

Yes, and no. This is a book crafted by two natural-born European comic-artists, Parlov and Ennis. If you know your dime, then go get it.

And chances are, seven years later, you will still be enjoying it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
HALL OF FAMEon October 14, 2007
You didn't really think that a shotgun blast to the chest in shark infested waters would kill Barracuda did you? After being left for dead by the Punisher, the one-man wrecking crew known as Barracuda is piecing together a plot to get revenge, but to do it he's going to need a little bank first. That's the basis for this side story, which finds Barracuda taking the hemophiliac son of a crime boss (that looks quite reminiscent of Christopher Walken) under his wing to teach him how to be a man, but it isn't before long that the true, double dealing intentions of the many parties involved are revealed, and as the body count rises and the bullets fly, there's just one guy left standing in the middle with a colorful smile on his face. Punisher Presents: Barracuda is a darkly funny and highly enjoyable blast that shows writer Garth Ennis at his near best. One of the things that made Ennis such a legendary comic scribe to begin with was how he weaves incredibly dark humor into his stories, which is something that he has done few and far between since the MAX launch of the regular Punisher title. The only real downside to Barracuda is that the character isn't one of Ennis' better creations, but you'll find yourself laughing plenty throughout the read. The art of Goran Parlov (who also did the art for the original Punisher/Barracuda storyline) is a bit too cartoony at spots and an acquired taste as well, but overall Barracuda is a winner. All in all, if you're a frequent Punisher reader, you'll definitely get a kick out of this side story.
11 comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 14, 2016
It's only 32 pages and Amazon doesn't have the rest of the series in paperback, only kindle, disappointing since I don't like reading comics or books electronically.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 12, 2011
This Punisher Max series TPB was a good read, but that is usally the case from Garth Ennis. When he did Preacher it was Jody and TC who had there own story before they died,and now "Punisher Presents Barracuda". The only villian to ever match the Punisher on every gets a proper send off. Solid story,good art ,and the dialogue is classic Ennis. I suggest this would suggest this to anyone who couldn't get enough of the Barracuda.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 10, 2011
This page turner kept me superbly entertained until I reached the last page and realized it's not really a Punisher comic! Barracuda is such a perfectly charismatic anti-hero that I am certainly not sorry I purchased this book to really just read about The Punisher. Hilarious raunchy & violent fun!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 23, 2015
Must have for any garth ennis punisher fan
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 22, 2015
A
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 30, 2010
Some of Garth Ennis best work. The story gives a gritty insight to the foundation of what Frank Castle becomes; showing us the young Castle and some of the early metamorphosis that formed his strict code of honor, an honor that few understand. Frank becomes a psychotic killer, BUT one who never crosses the line of killing innocents. In his personal war, there should never be 'collateral damage'. Yet in this story by Garth Ennis, we see a Frank Castle who is still forming that special 'code'.... leaving you, the reader, to decide if early on, did he cross the line??
Darrick Robertson's pencil's, and Tom Palmer's ink's bring this chapter in Frank Castles life to us in a vivid way without being overdone. They manage to make you hear the chop of the huey's in the background, the rain on the canopy's, and the distant warning of what is coming to this doomed outpost.
This is definitely worth the read... even if you're not a Punisher fan.
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 22, 2009
What else needs to be said? If you know the Punisher MAX line then you know Barracuda. This DOES NOT disappoint - he's here in all his glory with a wonderfully violent story with serious comedy included. I've read this over and over and loved it every time.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 16, 2009
Barracuda is over the top fun! I really enjoyed reading this spin-off story line from the Punisher MAX series. If you collect the Punisher MAX series, it is a must buy.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse