Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Puppy Love (Hallmark)
Your Garage Buy 2 kids' books and save Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Lindsey Stirling Fire TV Stick Totes Amazon Cash Back Offer PilotWave7B PilotWave7B PilotWave7B  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis Water Sports

Format: DVD|Change
Price:$8.18+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon February 23, 2013
If you like safe, clean, and predictable romantic comedies, especially with a dog, you'll love this movie. Hallmark/Gaiam put out bunches of these films(see recently released, Fairfield Road), and they're well made with good actors and family friendly, this one's Dove approved for all ages.

Here stars Candace Cameron Bure, who's very good at this type of role, as single mom/professor Megan, and hunky guy, Victor Webster as Jake the aging ballplayer. Their paths cross when Jake's dog is mistakened for a stray and adopted by Megan and her 10 year old daughter, Caitlin(well played). Both Caitlin and Jake love the dog, but Megan and Jake are at odds with each other. All parties agree on joint pooch custody.

There's light comedy, and the possibility that the battle between the sexes could lead to an unexpected romance. Our kids were interested during the first half while the dog was the main focus, but got antsy when the romance started to rear its mushy, gushy, head. Hey, at least there's something for everyone!

Sweet and non-threatening in all manner, shape and form, it'll either bore you silly, or you'll enjoy it. Candace Cameron Bure wears her high heeled boots just to barely get up to Victor Webster's shoulders. Cute dog.
0Comment| 37 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon October 3, 2013
Megan Nolan's daughter, Caitlin, was struggling to adjust to their new home. With a spur of the moment decision, Megan decided to get her a dog. What she didn't expect that her daughter would go towards the most unruly, biggest dog at the shelter. Ben Fuller had return home from a baseball game when he found that his dog, Jake, had run away. When he found that his dog was adopted to Megan, he was determine to get his friend back. But Caitlin loved Jake as much as Ben. Maybe joint custody was the best way to go.

Okay. I'm going to ignore the fact that the animal shelter did not make the normal effort to search for Jake's owner before just putting him up for adoption. And I'm also going to overlook the fact that the shelter gave a stranger the address of their adopter, instead of calling her to return of said dog. Once I got passed the set up for their meeting, I found this movie to quite cute and charming. I will admit the plot was pretty predictable. It's pretty much like watching a gentle romance book. But sometimes, I like the fact that I know what's going to happen. This was a pretty straightforward movie. There were no bad guys. No unnecessary misunderstandings. Not a lot of drama. However, you will have plenty of humor (the 'heel' scene was a riot) and sweet scenes.

The casting was spot on. Especially our hero. Jake, played by Victor Webster, is a total hottie and sweetie. When a man loves his dog that much and good with kids, dare I say drool-worthy. Hallmark knows how to create heroes. Megan, played by Candace Cameron Bure, is good in her role as well. But the side characters - Megan's best friend, Jake's best friend, Caitlin and Jake the dog - really kept this movie going. Without them, things would definitely be at a standstill. The acting was not cheesy or over the top.

If you are a fan of sweet romances and don't mind predictability, this is the movie for you. Great casting, good acting and a simple plot were major points in its favor. And since the movie is clean and wholesome, the entire family can watch. The most you will get is kissing near the end. However, if you are looking for something with drama, different and/or with action, pass this one by. It might be a little boring for you. The only reason I gave it 4 stars was because as much as I like it, this isn't a movie I would watch over and over again. But definitely, a good movie that deserves a spot on my shelf.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 14, 2013
This was such a cute fuzzy movie. The main charactes do a great job at acting distant at first, then gradually warm up to each other. Perfect little movie for a rainy, afternoon.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon September 28, 2013
Someday the Hallmark Channel will broadcast a movie that's not in the least family-inclusive, and that'll be a sign that the end times are upon us. But no worries for now. Hallmark still keeps it family-oriented. There's a comfort in knowing that the network's there for when I'm jonesing for something clean and wholesome and for when my nana comes visiting. PUPPY LOVE, which aired in 2012, is a fine example of Hallmark cinema. It doesn't chop you at the knees with an influx of coarse or seedy elements. It doesn't have foul language or violence for violence's sake. PUPPY LOVE is predictable, yeah, but amiable and fun in an uncomplicated way.

Megan Nolan (Candace Cameron Bure) is a single mother and also a professor who's landed a job at the Roanfield University. But her 10-year-old daughter Caitlin (Katie L. Hawkins) is desolate over their having to relocate to Roanfield.

Minor league baseball player Ben Fuller (Victor Webster) lives in Roanfield. When not playing on the road, Ben hangs out with his rambunctious dog Jake. The plot properly kicks off when Jake negotiates his way thru a door and out the house. He ends up impounded at the animal shelter just as Megan decides to get Caitlin a pet to hopefully spring her from her sad mopes. Now, can the baseball player and the professor (and her daughter) share custody of Jake without driving each other bananas?

No surprise, much of the humor comes from the messes that Jake, that undisciplined dog, gets into. See, Ben is an easy-going sort who treats his dog more like a person than a pet. Meanwhile, Megan's real big on making sure that Jake receives proper behavioral training. And, now, look, she's got an obedience clicker and all. So it's the expected personality clash between our two grown-up leads. How can romance possibly come out of this? But it will if only the writers stick to the Hallmark playbook. Candace Cameron Bure is likable as the "grown-up" of the lot. The love story's okay. But Victor Webster's interactions with the kid actress, Katie L. Hawkins, are what make the movie work for me. The dog is shaggy and adorable. Expect mayhem with shoes and sudsy doggy bathtub dips and the hazards of leaving meat unattended on the chopping table. A fun and light movie! 3.5 out of 5 stars.
44 comments| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 25, 2014
Cute movie. Jake stole the show. You have a college professor, her young daughter, a baseball player and a dog. You can probably figure it out from there. I gave it four stars because the acting was good, the story, even though it was somewhat predictable, was done well. I've seen Candace in several movies and she looked more adult in this one. To sum it up, Dog owner (baseball player) goes out of town for a game leaving his friend to take care of dog. Dog escapes house and ends up in pound. Mom reluctantly adopts dog for daughter. Owner returns. Locates dog. After seeing the attachment that has already happened between the girl and the dog, agrees to shared custody. You can take it from there. If you just want something to watch that doesn't make your brain hurt from trying to keep up or figure things out but just enjoy a little humor and romance it's a good one for you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 22, 2014
The idea is real cute, and the movie makes it so. We really enjoyed the way it was put together, and believable presentation by the actors. We would recomend this to anyone who likes a light, enjoyable plott.
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 29, 2013
This is a must own movie for all dog lovers. It is a perfect movie for a rainy or quiet afternoon
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 7, 2015
It was a cute, predictable "LMN" type of movie. My 7 and 9 year olds usually love animal movies but this was more of a romantic/dog movie and they weren't interested. My youngest fell asleep before halfway through the movie. It wasn't bad but not something I would recommend either.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 26, 2015
Fun, playful movie (with a really satisfying, happily-ever-after--if somewhat predictable--ending), clean enough for the whole family to sit together and watch. If you're an animal lover, the big pooch will steal your heart--he's adorable! No deep plot or remarkable acting, I suppose, but I will watch it again when I'm in the mood for something light and enjoyable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 27, 2014
Webster yes, but I bought it because Candance Cameron Bure' is in it. They make a great team, even though they were not aware of it, at first. It is a family movie and one for all ages. Delightful and cute with a nice story line, unique as it was. Good casting and good acting. A warm, funny, love and romance movie all around her daughter and a dog, bring in the owner of the so-called lost dog and you have a winner!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here