Industrial Deals HPC Spring Reading Introducing Prime Wardrobe nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Unlimited Music. Made for you. Learn more. GNO for Samsung S9 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Mother's Day gifts Home Gift Guide Mother's Day gifts across Amazon Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon howardsend howardsend howardsend  Echo Fire tablets: Designed for entertainment Kindle Paperwhite AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop Now TG18PP_gno



on August 20, 2016
Stan Phelps does a great job in his Goldfish series focusing on subjects that add money to the bottom line as well as makes doing business more enjoyable. As a small business owner, Stan’s book is easy to read and apply. His clear-cut examples bring the points to life, making them memorable for the business owner as well as the business team members.

I’ve also had the pleasure of hearing Stan speak and meeting him. Stan is genuinely passionate about the topics covered and has expert experience to back up his work.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 26, 2015
Using a Creole' expression or word "Lagniappe" as a concept frame, Stan Phelps writes about the benefits of doing the 'special thing' for customers or clients, increasing value plus building relationship and loyalty.

Phelps ran a poll with his contacts asking for examples of their experience with that 'little something extra and preferably spontaneous'. The book is the collection of examples along with discussion and documentation of the success resulting from each of the examples.

Phelps explains that the core of Lagniappe Marketing encompasses an axiom/truth that all benefit when expectations are exceeded. Good customer service is, unfortunately, not something expected in our current social/economic culture. Decent customer service is exception. What happens when customer expectations are met, then that little extra service or item is added as 'frosting on their cake'? Customer pleasure is enhanced; the customer wants to come back for more business. And, that customer tells his or her friends about you! That is frosting on your cake! All of this frosting is AFTER the pleasure you get from planning the Purple Goldfish that you will deliver to your customer. When you love what you do, this pleasure is no small reward.

Some examples of Lagniappe (pronounced lan-yapp) are tangible. The tangibles can be large or small. Sometimes the Purple Goldfish is attention -- customer care and contact. More than dropping a couple mints in the check-out bag...when the business calls to check on the customer or drops a card in the mail, the customer positive experience meter pegs out!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 2, 2015
I was able to attend a lecture that Stan Phelps gave at our company's convention. He is a great motivator and makes me feel like I can do anything I want if I am willing to put in hard work. The book is good and filed with great tips and solid ideas.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 15, 2016
If you want to improve the customer experience at your company, this book is a must read. I loved all of the examples and case studies. I have a much clearer understanding now of what lagniappe is and how to implement the strategy into my own business. Excellent read. Great ideas. I highly recommend it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 23, 2016
Purple Goldfish is my first read by Stan Phelps. I've already started Green Goldfish, and the other little fishes - Golden and Blue - are swimming right in line. Excellent insights and applications of customer service.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 12, 2014
This book gives great advice on how to treat customers to make sure they are guaranteed to come back. This is now has a laginiape. This means you give the customer a little extra for their money. Filled with wonderful examples and great anagrams such as GLUE (read the book to find out the meaning.)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 12, 2014
While it's good to reinforce the message of giving your customers a little extra to remember (and talk about) you by, the book is a little repetitive.

I like the examples that different retailers/providers use to promote 'word of mouth'. It got my wheels turning on how to apply these tactics to my business. So for that, reading the book was worthwhile.

LINDA GROSS
Author/Speaker
The Men's Advocate
[...]
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 19, 2014
Before i read this book, i had not yet completely understood what customers wanted. I have had a mentor who has always given me advice on being the best business man. However, it was until i read this book that i changed my way of looking at things. This is only one of the few books that have kept me interested. Most definitely a must have book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 26, 2012
This book is the culmination of one of the most amazing customer service research projects I've ever heard of. In the past few years, Stan has collected over 1,000 stories of companies who "give little unexpected extras" that he calls "Purple Goldfish." In his book, he shares several of these stories to build a cohesive argument about what makes for good customer service today. Want to know how companies are doing it right? Read this book.

The most amazing insight to me was that the companies with the most highly satisfied customers aren't just the ones with the best products; they're the ones with the best add-ons, surprises, or experiences that come with the product. If have to say that I was more inspired by this book than any of read this year. I highly recommend it for anyone making business decisions involving customer service.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 17, 2013
Stan Phelps has done an amazing job capturing compelling case studies of business and marketing strategy and tactics that are easy to digest and apply to other corporations across industries. Consider this an easy to read marketing guidebook of "how to's" from name brand examples and industry leaders.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse