Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Pussy Riot: A Punk Prayer
Amazon Vehicles Buy 2 kids' books and save Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Snacks Totes Summer-Event-Garden Amazon Cash Back Offer power_s3 power_s3 power_s3  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Shop Now

Customer Reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars
10
Format: DVD|Change
Price:$16.41+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on May 19, 2016
Whatever their ridiculous beliefs seem to be (Extreme feminism, extreme secularism, to name a few), they were obviously used as a pawn of the state and corrupt forces of Russia. The court system is a joke and so is the police state. I support artistic freedom, thus they should have never gone to jail as a "show trial" that is always popular in Russia. They show some Russian Orthodox Christian group that looks like a bunch of backward motorcycle clodhoppers. The prosecution lacked any sense or evidence, the judge was some imperious nitwit.

What is even worse of a joke is the popular "marketing" of the band in the Europe and USA, I'm sure you'll be able to get the clothes line at the Gap soon.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 16, 2015
What was frightening about this documentary is our moving closer to the system they portray here - corrupt govt and court system, media that is impotent and disinterested in real reporting, etc. What surprised me was that two of the three are still serving sentences; when the one group member was released, it was widely reported that they were released. Not so.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 11, 2015
What a gorgeous and devastating indictment of power and privilege! Gorgeous!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 8, 2015
I'm not sure how they got tagged as a "punk" band. Sounds more to me like club music with shouted lyrics and some guitar/bass fuzz. Call it what you will but I think the rawness and spontaneity is wonderful. I was mesmerised with the film because it is astonishing that in this day and age you can be thrown in jail for performing protest songs. Which is what they are. And they should be applauded for pulling off "guerilla" performances with gear you can carry around in grocery store bags.
it doesnt matter if they make records or not. In fact I think that would defeat the entire concept. The "what the hell just happened" approach is WHY this works. Its meant to get your attention and it certainly does. And the name "pussy riot" is frickin ingenious. How can you ignore THAT? Conjures up the image of pissed off cats (perhaps?) with gas masks. AND you get transistor distorto guitar w feedback, stunning pyrotechics via road flares and fire extingwhishers.. No way that can be bad in MY book.
Now I'm not russian, I have never lived or even been there. But despite the facade of a new and improved Russia its pretty clear to me at least that core principles haven't changed much. There are STILL societies where women are treated as second class (or worse) citizens and thats what seems to me is happening here. I fail to understand how a president or country with an entire army at its disposal feels "threatened" by pussy riot. How do they not realise that throwing them in prison is giving them a WORLD STAGE?
If they were men doing this, I think it would be a different story. Just my opinion.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 25, 2015
amazing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 15, 2014
Well done
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 10, 2014
A good summary of the background of the four women charged, their "trials" and the effects on their family members.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 5, 2014
Emily Blunt over at BluntReview (dot)com says: Since the beginning of organized religion, a person, or group of people, could count on being skewered if they dared to stand up and talk of discontent. Going up against that force also guaranteed your being noticed...or burnt at the stake, broken on a wheel; general consider-it-done torturings post proclamations. Nothing ever really changes kids.

Back in February of 2012 a small group of women “punk” rock musicians took their song of protest quite literally onto the alter to give their sermon of protest. In bright masks and little dresses, a group that had been, until then, shouting out on the streets of Moscow, got heard around the world. They called themselves Pussy Riot, and they opened up a s***-storm with their 40 second performance on Moscow’s Cathedral of Christ’s hallowed stage, um, altar.

Before security could get all of them to stop, the brave gals sprang onto the altar area and began to flash-sing their lyrics of protest for government / church collusion (God S*** is the title?). Onlookers were dumbfounded, and in the melee the group got away.

Not for long. Because up on the list of least tolerable places to live, Russia, shines like bright evil death star. The Russian government hunted down and arrested three of the five in performance that day. The charges were extreme and seriously distorted. Smelling blood, the media flocked. And what would have been a sentence of probation now brought a nation, then the world, in to watch – and lend their own opinions (truth based or not ;depending) towards the case. It was now an event.

The seconds-long show was portrayed as an act of religious hate-mongers – that sold more papers and upset more comrades. The three girls were put in a cage and asked to dance for the courts.

By the time court came about, many had heard of the act, and the vilifying, and tuned in; a side firmly chosen. The saner of the hordes understood that beneath the headlines, Pussy Riot’s small act of defiance was being blown up into a twirling dervish's convention of accusations to help railroad anyone who would dare to speak up and out against the state of things.

And the documentary, Pussy Riot: A Punk Prayer, from the performance through the whole court proceeding shows you exactly the state of things; and of power of state and church in Russia.

The film makers don’t choose a side; they do not have to. The film interviews expose the snowballing of everything. They interview a group of wildly enthusiastic priests that think the charged girls are nothing less than witches and bemoan that in 1670 they’d have burned them – case closed. It is wonderful (and terrifying) to watch these men-of-God and their hypocrisy unedited before you.

The group’s name is explained to throngs in the street: “pussy” is not just a little innocent kitten but a uterus – but not really it is slang meaning a "deranged vagina".

Now an international news story, Pussy Riot was given a platform. And from their cage they spoke out even more. They really couldn’t have asked for a larger spotlight! Now, all ears and cameras on them, the captured Pussy Riot members give eloquent dagger-strike comments on issues that need to be addressed for women and the countries people – it’s brilliant.

The wonderfully ironic part is those who seriously attempted to nail them to the metaphorical cross managed to make the Pussy Riot a relevant and substantial voice for all people who want to be heard, everywhere.

Buy It
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 14, 2014
They will go down in history as the only rock-band in the world without as much as a single, let alone an album. Total rubbish exploited for political aims.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 16, 2014
One problem about ascertaining if Pussy Riot was good or not is first, the format has to be in USA formatting and not Europa formatting. Therefore, I have not played Pussy Riot because it is not in an American Format. I am unable to ascertain and see the movie Pussy Riot.
22 comments| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse