Buy Used
+ $3.99 shipping
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by Zoverstocks
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: All Discs are inspected and guaranteed. All dispatched with 1 - 3 working days from the UK
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

The Pye Anthology: 1963-1967

4.7 out of 5 stars 14 customer reviews

See all 3 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
New from Used from
Audio CD, July 18, 2000
$199.98 $11.99

What other items do customers buy after viewing this item?

Editorial Reviews

Virtually every significant track the Searchers recorded during the height of their fame is included on this astutely compiled 60-track set, which also boasts informative fold-out notes by Bob Stanley of St Etienne. The Searchers made up for their lack of a writing team to rival the Beatles' Lennon-McCartney in two ways. First, they boasted a sound that was totally unique among the British 1960s beat bands, built around a chiming 12-string guitar and Everly Brothers-styled close harmonies. Secondly, they invariably chose songs that suited their strengths. For the dancers, they could punch out R&B classics like "Farmer John" or "Love Potion No. 9"; for the more romantically inclined, they served up bittersweet ballads such as "Needles and Pins" and "Goodbye My Love." When protest music was in favor, they released the lovely "What Have They Done to the Rain." Through it all, they produced priceless pop artifacts like "When You Walk in the Room" and "Sweets for My Sweet." Much of what gushed out of Liverpool in the wake of the Beatles now sounds banal and dated. Like a fine wine, however, the Searchers have improved with age. --Johnny Black

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. Sweets For My Sweet
  2. It's Al Been A Dream
  3. Ain't Gonna Kiss Ya
  4. Alright
  5. Farmer John
  6. Love Potion No. 9
  7. Where Have All The Flowers Gone
  8. Since You Broke My Heart
  9. Sugar And Spice
  10. Saints & Searchers
  11. Don't You Know
  12. Listen To Me
  13. Hungry For Love
  14. All My Sorrows
  15. Needles And Pins
  16. Saturday Night Out
  17. Don't Throw Your Love Away
  18. I Pretend I'm With You
  19. This Empty Place
  20. I Count The Tears
  21. Sho' Know A Lot About Love
  22. Can't Help Forgiving You
  23. Where Have You Been
  24. Someday We're Gonna Love Again
  25. No One Else Could Love Me
  26. The System
  27. When You Walk In The Room
  28. (I'll Be) Missing You
  29. What Have They Done To The Rain
  30. This Feeling Inside
  31. Goodbye My Love
  32. Till I Met You
  33. Everybody Come And Clap Your Hands
  34. If I Could Find Someone
  35. Magic Potion
  36. I Don't Want To Go On Without You
  37. Till You Say You'll Be Mine
  38. Goodnight Baby
  39. Bumble Bee
  40. He's Got No Love
  41. So Far Away
  42. When I Get Home
  43. I'm Never Coming Back
  44. Take Me For What I'm Worth
  45. Too Many Miles
  46. Don't You Know Why
  47. Each Time
  48. Be My Baby
  49. Does She Really Care For Me
  50. I'm Your Loving Man
  51. Take It Or Leave It
  52. Don't Hide It Away
  53. Have You Ever Loved Somebody
  54. It's Just The Way
  55. Popcorn Double Feature
  56. Lovers
  57. Western Union
  58. I'll Cry Tomorrow
  59. Second Hand Dealer
  60. Crazy Dreams

Product details

  • Audio CD (July 18, 2000)
  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Label: Pidm
  • ASIN: B00004SPQ6
  • Average Customer Review: 4.7 out of 5 stars 14 customer reviews
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #319,429 in CDs & Vinyl (See Top 100 in CDs & Vinyl)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?
    If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Amazon's Searchers Store

Customer reviews

Share your thoughts with other customers
See all 14 customer reviews

Read reviews that mention

Top customer reviews

August 20, 2017
Format: Audio CD|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
October 8, 2016
Format: Audio CD|Verified Purchase
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
May 11, 2016
Format: Audio CD|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
February 26, 2017
Format: Audio CD
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
November 22, 2000
Format: Audio CD
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Most recent customer reviews