Amazon Vehicles Beauty STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc PCB DG Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Shop Book House Cleaning Moonlight Moonlight Moonlight  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire HD 8 Kids Edition, starting at $129.99 Kindle Oasis GNO Shop Now Ellen

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 19 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 39 reviews
on May 14, 2016
This book is written with no real healthy guideline beside the advice of not to eat junk food. How a health & wellness doctor can give such a poor nutritional advice ?
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 1, 2013
I just bought this book and only skimmed through it so far, but have been following Qsymia's development and recent FDA approval for over two years now. Dr Lipman's book seems very thorough and well written. It addresses the results of clinical trials and how different people fared with different doses. It also gives many guidelines which you can check out yourselves by looking at the ToC.
My initial reaction to the book, which I have not read thoroughly yet (just bought it a few hours ago), is that at times, when he is talking about foods to avoid and how to set meal plans, he doesn't remind people enough that IN THIS CASE Qsymia will HELP THEM SUCCEED with these restrictions or changes that they have heard a 100 times before and failed with. I'd probably have mentioned that every 3rd sentence or so, to drill it home, because it can be very discouraging to read otherwise.

As well, he does throw in some very controversial foods as OK, and others as not OK, that people who have been dieting for a long time might question, like his opinion on diet soft drinks, wheat bread and nuts.

I am a believer of low carb, so my opinion may be a little slanted. This will probably be an issue for all people who believe in one diet or another. He appears to keep a middle road here, and that can either keep everyone happy or everyone a little unhappy. But that said, he does emphasis moderation and that really is the key. Hey, I wouldn't mind eating a slice of wheat bread once in a while if I felt I could! When the emphasis is on Qsymia helping people bring back some balance in their eating habits, I think the book is a terrific success.
I highly recommend everyone that has serious weight loss issues to read this book. Qsymia, as a medical aid for weight loss, is NOT snake oil. It is a real FDA approved medication that has gone through years of rigorous clinical trials. This book will explain everything you need to know about it, and more. You won't be disappointed. A LOT of research when into this book. Bravo.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 5, 2013
I bought the book when I went on Qsymia. My review is mainly about Qsymia the drug. I think the drug is just wonderful. I'm a 6.0" female, I lost 40 pounds in about 5 months--I'm now well within the healthy weight range and am keeping the weight off just fine. Here's the deal though, I found the 2nd dose (the first step up) too high (insomnia, tingly hands), so (with the approval of my doctor) I only took it every other day (at every other day, zero side effects). You know what that means....the $150 drug lasted twice as long. I thought it worked just fine every other day. I had to work at it just a little more, but that was fine with me. Qsymia makes you feel so normal around food...it's what life is SUPPOSED to be like! One bite of ice cream...no problem. Pass on the cookie, chips, whatever, no problem...no feeling of deprivation. It made weight loss so easy, when nothing else worked, I was almost embarrassed how easy it was. I almost felt like I just went to sleep one night, and woke up skinny the next morning. I know it's expensive, but it's worth it.
Re the book...there's some decent technical info in the book about two drugs and how they interact...good to know if you try to explain it to someone. Some people think you can just get the two generic drugs independently and put them together yourself, but as the book explains, it doesn't work that way. As far as diet/lifestyle advice in the book....it's the basics most of us already know.
I wanted to add a follow up that I'm really keeping the weight off for the first time ever. I think the big difference is that with Q you eat normal foods in much smaller portions. You don't need to remove any food (except alcohol). So you really learn a new lifestyle, not a temporary thing that won't last. With Q you can keep whatever you like in your diet and really learn how to manage it. You CAN learn moderation!
11 comment| 60 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 5, 2013
I was very disappointed in this book. I expected more information regarding the recommended diet and got very little. The price was very expensive for what the book disclosed. Not a good buy at all. I cannot believe it was so highly recommended.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 23, 2013
I have not tried this medication as of yet, but I have asked my doctor to prescribe it. I have taken Phentermine by itself and also as a stack with Topamax, the two together were successful for weight loss, but the side effects were vicious. I think the form of Topamax in this medication will work for me. This book is well written, simple, and this physician really seems to know his stuff. I can't wait to give it a try!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 29, 2016
I never received this book!
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 17, 2013
This book, if you can call it that, is just a lot of fluff that is available for free elsewhere. If you want to know about Qsymia, go to their product website. The only thing that this "book" clarified is that if you take a diuretic and Qsymia, make sure that your doctor monitors your potassium levels. Diuretics leech potassium from some people and evidently this drug can have the same effect. The diet portion, which is 90% of the "book" is as others have reported, just common sense. Save your money. This "book" is WAY overpriced for what you get!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 21, 2014
All medication is not created for all consumers, so every patient needs to do their own research first. Will there be side effects that are likely given your personal history? Have you been addicted to any medication in the past? Have you tried to lose weight with other medications and been successful? These and other questions you MUST honestly ask yourself and discuss with the prescribing physician when going on Qsymia or other weight loss drug. During the build up phase of the drug, I had VERY little side effect, first two days a little effect like taking a sinus medication feeling. A little woozy from it, so I didn't drive. Then I was fine! During this year I have lost 50+ pounds, off of blood pressure medication and cholesterol is great. Retrained myself to eat fresh fruit and veg and love it. The weight loss encourages more fitness, extra baggage makes working out at first VERY hard. The loss of that first 20 pounds makes you want to start a walking program since the pounding is not so hard on your feet. Hubby was proud to get new wardrobe for me this past Christmas! Keeping it up to get some more off. Doctor said that will taper off about in the fall. Started one year ago April 2013.
11 comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 5, 2016
it was a good guide to read for weight loss. thank you
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 31, 2013
Mostly this ebook is about common sense dieting and had generalities that anyone with half a brain would know. Want to know about Qsymia? Visit the Vivus website. I've been taking it now for 17 days and have lost 13 pounds. I'm very pleased and most side effects have abated. I understand the further weight loss will be slower but this is a very helpful drug and is 1/2 the cost of Januvia the $300 per month diabetes med that I hope to have discontinued once my weight is at a normal level.
66 comments| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse