Your Garage Luxury Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Mother's Day Gifts hgg17 Book House Cleaning billions billions billions  Introducing Echo Look Starting at $49.99 Kindle Oasis Nintendo Switch Shop Now disgotg_gno_17

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 113 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 128 reviews
on May 22, 2015
Quest is the third in the David Maddock Adventures series written by David Wood. Dane and Bones are off on another adventure.

Dane is asked by Kaylin Maxwell (from Dourado) to help find her fiancé, Thomas. He has gone off on a trek through the Amazon looking for Percy Fawcett’s path and has not made it back, just as Fawcett didn’t. Dane, while still dating Jade (from Cibola) still has an attraction to Kaylin and agrees to help. Especially after the bad guys show themselves to be very bad.

Thomas received funding from ScanoGen. ScanoGenis looking for something more than Thomas is. Dane and his group find themselves running into ScanoGen goons while researching Thomas’ clue regarding where he was heading. They find themselves one step behind ScanoGen all the way into the Amazon. However, they manage to get ahead of ScanoGen and make it to Thomas and the prize first. I’m not giving it away here. You must read the book.

This is a great adventure story that introduced me to Percy Fawcett (yes, I looked him up to see if he was real and who he was). It also introduces a theory about a lost Amazon tribe. An easy read with Dane and Bones being their wonderful selves, and their companions and crew rounding out a great cast of characters. You will find it very interesting. It’s a great story that young adults will enjoy too.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 19, 2017
I enjoyed this one just as much as the first two. I did not want to put it down. Fascinating story and well written. Thank you David Wood for sharing and keep writing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 18, 2016
Really enjoyed the larger-than-life adventure. Don't know when you'll run out of relics to write about but you keep writing and I'll keep reading.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 21, 2015
All David Wood Stories are good. Quick reads for me.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 3, 2011
If you are looking for a really easy read, this just may be your thing. I picked this book thinking that it would be packed full of history, adventure, and mystery. Well it does have its moments (the prologue and first chapter had me roped in), but I was a tad disappointed at the rest of the book. I feel like the plot was dragged down by too much fluff and cheesy dialog. I found myself skimming and skipping alot just to get past all the (what I considered to be) irrelevant conversation. I feel like it kind of took away from the characters believability rather than enhance it. The book was okay but definitely not Great.

Don't get me wrong I read everything from J.K. Rowling to Deaver. Yes, I am a Potter fan. I even love reading classics and historic novels. From Jane Eyre to Aztec... and even Lion of Ireland... A few of my fav's. But I am no scholar. I just thought Quest was too light and too easy for even me. Maybe this will give you an idea of how much you may enjoy this book... Happy Reading!!!
11 comment| 43 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 1, 2012
.... Don't know how anyone could give it more than one star. When the author used "beneath the canope" and "through the canope of green" both on the first page of the first chapter, I should have had the tip off. And then there's an ex Navy Seal who keeps calling everyone "dude" ad nauseum. Does this sound like a Seal to you? Must admit that plot development kept me in there for half the book, thinking it just HAD to get better, but it didn't. I finallly deleted the book. Don't waste your time. Sorry, the author seems to have some good ideas but just doesn't know how to write a good novel.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 12, 2017
It came with some dried crusty stuff on the bottom right of the cover and had a sticker that said .50 cents. A little disappointing I paid 10 bucks for it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 2, 2012
A non-stop globe-trotting adventure, ranging from the idyllic East Coast of the United States to the unexplored and untamed wilds of the Amazon Jungle, to discover a mysterious military secret of Carthage. David Wood channels the magic of an early Clive Cussler to bring a decidedly masculine, but obviously intelligent, protagonist in Dane Maddock with a light-hearted, comedic accomplice in Uriah "Bones" Bonebrake. Where Dane is the serious, introspective leader of the group, Bones encapsulates the immature 14-year old inside all of us with groan-inducing one-liners and a "love for the ladies".

This quest begins in 149 B.C. with a descendant of Hannibal escaping the fall of Carthage with an ancient secret and instructions to hide it where the enemy will never find it. The world shifts forward to the 1920's with a pulse quickening view of the legendary explorer, Percy Fawcett, and the question of the true results of his final adventure in the dark, unexplored wilds of the Amazon jungle.

Dane and Bones are thrust into the middle of a ill-fated rescue attempt by an old flame of Dane's in pursuit of her current boyfriend, Dr. Thomas Thornton, who is missing after a shadowy academic mission to the Amazon. Dr. Thornton leaves a mysterious image of Percy Fawcett as the only clue to his location and it takes all of Dane's, and his team, to figure out the clues that lead them to finally solve the mystery of Fawcett's last ground-breaking exploration. Dane's team encounters a murderous corporation in Scanogen, implacable native force who appear immune to pain in the "Dead Ones", ancient riddles and booby traps and finally beasts out of legend.

Tom's Two Cents

As you can expect, in the world of minds like Wood and Cussler, Dane overcomes insurmountable obstacles with a mixture of luck, strength, luck, intelligence, luck, fortitude, and lastly, luck. While some situations may leave you saying, "Really?!?", it helps make the book a page burner as you try to figure out how the hell he is going to get out of this one alive. Think of the classic romantic comedy movie, you know exactly how it will end, but you enjoy the details, twists, turns and character development. So "Quest" is like a literary romantic comedy, but instead of J. Lo finding out she is more than just a maid; you get guns, grenades, zombies, killer anteaters and more!
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 3, 2016
I love the fast pace of dips and weaves as Mr Wood takes you on the adventures of two retired Navy Seals. They work together seeking treasures and answers to some of the mysteries, questions and legends of history. It's a ride with no seatbelts and I have to read it straight to the end with just a few breaks in the action. Definitely going to read the rest of the books in the series. Love it and recommend them to anyone who wants a good escape.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 23, 2013
Once again David Wood gives us a non-stop globe-trotting adventure, ranging from the idyllic East Coast of the United States to the unexplored and untamed wilds of the Amazon Jungle, to discover a mysterious military secret of Carthage. David Wood channels the magic of an early Clive Cussler to bring a decidedly masculine, but obviously intelligent, protagonist in Dane Maddock with a light-hearted, comedic accomplice in Uriah "Bones" Bonebrake. Where Dane is the serious, introspective leader of the group, Bones encapsulates the immature 14-year old inside all of us with groan-inducing one-liners and a "love for the ladies".

This quest begins in 149 B.C. with a descendant of Hannibal escaping the fall of Carthage with an ancient secret and instructions to hide it where the enemy will never find it. The world shifts forward to the 1920's with a pulse quickening view of the legendary explorer, Percy Fawcett, and the question of the true results of his final adventure in the dark, unexplored wilds of the Amazon jungle.

Dane and Bones are thrust into the middle of a ill-fated rescue attempt by an old flame of Dane's in pursuit of her current boyfriend, Dr. Thomas Thornton, who is missing after a shadowy academic mission to the Amazon. Dr. Thornton leaves a mysterious image of Percy Fawcett as the only clue to his location and it takes all of Dane's, and his team, to figure out the clues that lead them to finally solve the mystery of Fawcett's last ground-breaking exploration. Dane's team encounters a murderous corporation in Scanogen, implacable native force who appear immune to pain in the "Dead Ones", ancient riddles and booby traps and finally beasts out of legend.

As you can expect, in the world of minds like Wood and Cussler, Dane overcomes insurmountable obstacles with a mixture of luck, strength, luck, intelligence, luck, fortitude, and lastly, luck. While some situations may leave you saying, "Really?!?", it helps make the book a page burner as you try to figure out how the hell he is going to get out of this one alive. Think of the classic romantic comedy movie, you know exactly how it will end, but you enjoy the details, twists, turns and character development.

Overall I give this book five stars. The only thing I would recommended is that the author should get another editor because this book like his first two has a lot of typos that should not be there. And for some reason this book did not come with a table of contents for the kindle edition. I'm sure that this problem should be solved before he releases his next book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse