Buying Options

Digital List Price: $9.99
Kindle Price: $5.08

Save $4.91 (49%)

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

You've subscribed to ! We will preorder your items within 24 hours of when they become available. When new books are released, we'll charge your default payment method for the lowest price available during the pre-order period.
Update your device or payment method, cancel individual pre-orders or your subscription at
Your Memberships & Subscriptions

Buy for others

Give as a gift or purchase for a team or group.
Learn more

Buying and sending eBooks to others

Select quantity
Buy and send eBooks
Recipients can read on any device

Additional gift options are available when buying one eBook at a time.  Learn more

These ebooks can only be redeemed by recipients in the US. Redemption links and eBooks cannot be resold.

Kindle app logo image

Download the free Kindle app and start reading Kindle books instantly on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required. Learn more

Read instantly on your browser with Kindle Cloud Reader.

Using your mobile phone camera - scan the code below and download the Kindle app.

QR code to download the Kindle App

Loading your book clubs
There was a problem loading your book clubs. Please try again.
Not in a club? Learn more
Amazon book clubs early access

Join or create book clubs

Choose books together

Track your books
Bring your club to Amazon Book Clubs, start a new book club and invite your friends to join, or find a club that’s right for you for free.
Qwyrk (Qwyrk Tales) by [Tim Rayborn]

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.

Qwyrk (Qwyrk Tales) Kindle Edition

5.0 out of 5 stars 3 ratings

Price
New from Used from
Kindle
$5.08

Only $5.95 a month for the first 4 months on Audible. Limited-time only.
Next 2 for you in this series See full series
Total Price: $9.86
By clicking on the above button, you agree to Amazon's Kindle Store Terms of Use

Books In This Series (2 Books)

Editorial Reviews

About the Author

Described as a literary raconteur and a virtuoso, Tim Rayborn denies everything, but it's true that he's a versatile writer and an acclaimed musician. He's written a few dozen books, appeared on more than forty recordings, plays scores of unusual instruments, and has visited five continents. QWYRK is his first novel. --This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.

Review

"I liked this book a great deal! Charming and funny, the characters are delightful, and it's scary exactly where it should be. I wouldn't have missed it for anything."

Peter S. Beagle, author of The Last Unicorn

"Qwyrk, by Tim Rayborn, is, for starters, delightfully... quirky. Rayborn's ear for culture is as good as his ear for music, and his fantasy romp through a small British town has some of the same wacky flavor we find in the mythic send-ups written by Tom Holt/K.J. Parker. Rayborn's elves may be updated, but human nature remains the same. As Qwyrk herself tells Jilly, her kind visit our world 'To give children a little nudge when they need it... and sometimes remind adults of what they've been missing.' In times when we all need distraction, here is a tale to take your mind off your troubles for a while."

Diana L. Paxson, author of Sword of Avalon

"It's a quest, it's a lark that romps through human and magical worlds alike, and it's a whimsical and delightful story set in Northern England. Qwyrk is engaging, endearing, and unpredictable in its human and magical relationships and conundrums. Fans of fantasy who enjoy magical realism injected into the everyday milieu of Britain will relish the nature of Qwyrk, first in a projected series of stories about misfits and the sometimes-hilarious mishaps that evolve from seemingly good intentions."

Donovan's Literary Services/Midwest Book Review

"Bringing the familiar modern world together with the fantastic and mythical in a smart and witty way, Qwyrk is a delightful foray into magical realism. Fans of Pratchett, Gaiman, Beagle, and de Lint will absolutely feel at home in this story! Rayborn takes figures from traditional folklore and gives them a wonderfully fresh and believable update. You'll be hooked right away on both the human and magical characters - they're engaging and familiar in such a way that you simply must know what happens next. Strong and capable female characters, the challenges of negotiating magic in a world that's largely forgotten it, effective world-building, and a good dose of sarcasm all make this book such a fun read. I can't wait to read more about the further adventures of Qwyrk!

Laura Tempest Zakroff, author of Sigil Witchery and Weave the Liminal

"You will never look at a rose bush the same way again! A fun romp through a modern English fairy encounter, written with a light heart, a clever mind, and a wicked sense of humour. Enjoy!"

Elizabeth Kerner Ewing, author of Song in the Silence, The Lesser Kindred, and Redeeming the Lost

--This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.

Product details

  • ASIN ‏ : ‎ B094KTXNM3
  • Publisher ‏ : ‎ Armin Lear Press (May 25, 2021)
  • Publication date ‏ : ‎ May 25, 2021
  • Language ‏ : ‎ English
  • File size ‏ : ‎ 2373 KB
  • Simultaneous device usage ‏ : ‎ Unlimited
  • Text-to-Speech ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • Screen Reader ‏ : ‎ Supported
  • Enhanced typesetting ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • X-Ray ‏ : ‎ Not Enabled
  • Word Wise ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • Sticky notes ‏ : ‎ On Kindle Scribe
  • Print length ‏ : ‎ 362 pages
  • Page numbers source ISBN ‏ : ‎ 173629881X
  • Customer Reviews:
    5.0 out of 5 stars 3 ratings

About the author

Follow authors to get new release updates, plus improved recommendations.
Brief content visible, double tap to read full content.
Full content visible, double tap to read brief content.

Tim Rayborn is a historian, medievalist, and musician, with an MA and PhD from the University of Leeds in England. He is a writer on a variety of topics in history and the arts, from the academic to the amusing to the appalling. A professional musician with a specialty in medieval repertoire, he plays dozens of musical instruments, has appeared on more than 40 recordings, and has performed in the US, Canada, Europe, and Australia. He lives in Northern California.

Customer reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
5 out of 5
3 global ratings
5 star
100%
4 star 0% (0%) 0%
3 star 0% (0%) 0%
2 star 0% (0%) 0%
1 star 0% (0%) 0%

Top reviews from the United States

Reviewed in the United States 🇺🇸 on July 11, 2021
Reviewed in the United States 🇺🇸 on July 11, 2021
Report an issue

Does this item contain inappropriate content?
Do you believe that this item violates a copyright?
Does this item contain quality or formatting issues?