Hill Climb Racing 2 Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month Shop new men's suiting nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Transparent Transparent Transparent  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held GNO Shop Now ToyHW17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 12 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 17 reviews
on April 10, 2015
In the midst of mourning the death of her fiance`, Caroline Wallace receives unexpected visitors. Her fiance`s brother Jack and twin nieces, Abby and Amelia appear at her schoolhouse doorsteps. Her heart is wounded, but she readily accepts the twins into her life. Jack's and Caroline's relationship is strained initially, but soon she begins to hope he doesn't move forward with his plans to resume the cattle drive to Montana in the spring. But Jack's stubborn pride and low self-esteem prevent him from admitting his true feelings to Caroline.

Aside from the tender romance, there were other features that made this a worthwhile read. The main characters were likable (especially the twins who kept the story flowing). The well-meaning Spinster's Club members were a delight! The plot was well formulated with engaging dialogue and some exciting action. There were also hostile antagonists that added another layer to the story. This is the second time I have read this story is as many years. I still enjoyed it and would highly recommend it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 23, 2017
I liked the way she writes and keeps your attention. I'm looking forward to the next one.
Dorothy Kenning
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 30, 2012
Caroline is a very sweet young woman who lives with her parents and younger brother because her fiance died in an influenza epidemic... She has decided to never wed because she had so much love for her fiance.

The surprise comes when her fiance's brother shows up with two girls thinking that his brother is still alive and newly married. As the other writes this story, she does an excellent job of describing the pain and loss a person feels when a loved one dies. Both from the fiance's point of view, as well as the blindsided brother.

Caroline decides to watch/take care of Jack's girls while he is supposed to take his herd of cattle to another state. Due to winter weather coming in, Jack decides to stay put, but Caroline cares for the girls and falls in love with their family, despite her vow to avoid love/marriage.

Very sweet story!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 12, 2014
Though Caroline Wallace can't have a family, she can still have a purpose. Becoming Simpson Creek's new schoolmarm helps heal the heartache of loosing Pete, her fiancé, to influenza. Then Pete's brother arrive, trailing a herd of cattle and twin six year old girls.

Jack Collier expected Pete and his bride to care for his daughters until he was settled in Montana. But bad weather and worse news strand Jack in Texas until Spring. It's little wonder Caroline grows fond of Abby and Amelia. But could such a refined, warmhearted woman fall for a gruff rancher before the time comes for him to leave again?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 26, 2012
How do you go on when the man you are about to marry dies from a flu epidemic? Well you do go on and end up meeting his brother who has lost his wife and comes to town with his two children without realizing that his brother has died until Caroline tells Jack! There is some sort of immediate attraction between them and Caroline really loves his two children and eventually they realize they are falling in love and end up together!
I loved this story and would have given it 5 stars except it seemed too predictable to me! Great story though!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 4, 2012
I'm a romance fan. This is a pleasant book, but not one that I'd necesarily read again or recommend. As a romance, it's necessary for the reader to get a sense of the development of the relationship between the main characters. Instead, there are more side plots going on that draw attention away from the main plot. They are interesting, but not necessarily integral. I just didn't see the development in the courtship, and thus, the union in the end was anticlimactic for me.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 19, 2013
I absolutely loved all of the characters in this adventure. It was set in a different time but the feelings these people go through can easlly be understood today. I love the innocense of this story and the strength of the characters. It was a "can't put this down" book!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 11, 2015
Awesome books and author! I'm on the next to last and hate to see the Simpson Creek stories come to an end!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 19, 2013
Once again Laurie Kingery has showed the spirit and love in this book. This series is wonderful and should be read by everyone that enjoys a good clean love story and the adventures of our past.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 23, 2015
enjoyed it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here