Lyft Industrial Deals Most Anticipated Fall Children's Books Shop new men's suiting nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch Alexa on Mobile PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Spider-Man: Homecoming available to buy Spider-Man: Homecoming available to buy Spider-Man: Homecoming available to buy  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Trade in. Get paid. Go shopping. Tailgating STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 214 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 398 reviews
on October 8, 2016
Fun new edition to the series. Key game features include:
Embark on a galactic adventure with gadget-building hero, Ratchet, and his brainy robotic sidekick, Clank
Try to find an ancient device that is the key to preventing the return of an ancient, evil race of interdimensional aliens
For some unknown reason the evil Cragmites hate Lombaxes of which Ratchet is the sole living survivor
Ratchet and Clank must not only save the galaxy from annihilation, but also unravel the mystery of Ratchet's origin
New characters, new weapons, and all-new worlds to explore
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 25, 2016
LOVE LOVE LOVE this game! I actually purchased a PS3 specifically because of the Ratchet and Clank games, and they have not disappointed me yet! The graphics are fantastic (this is coming from someone who was perfectly content with her PS2, but eventually had to upgrade to a used PS3 to get the newer titles); the controls are very similar to the old PS2 controls too, which is great - I've had a hard time getting used to controlling my characters in other games, but with Ratchet & Clank it came really naturally to me.

This one sits in a very elite pool of games that I have actually FINISHED - I have a tendency to get frustrated and then bored if they're too difficult, or too easy, but, like Goldilocks porridge - this was just right!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Of the Ratchet&Clank series we start off with the time arc trilogy which gave Clank a major point in the games as he was the major objective. This was the start of the trilogy followed by Quest For Booty and the finale A Crack in Time all which were interwoven nicely. As expected this game will be just as enjoyable as the previous ones and with the entertaining characters in the game from Ratchet and Clank to bumbling hero wannabe Captain Qwirk. I do advise though that if you get this game that you do get the other two as again this is a trilogy arc and the storyline is not finished until the third game R&C:A Crack in Time, but I'm sure you'll have no problem with that choice as all three games have great entertainment value...
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 6, 2015
Having decided to play through all the Ratchet and Clank games, I finally made it to this one. My first reaction was "wow, I'm glad I'm out of the PS2 era" because the graphics and gameplay in Tools of Destruction is so much better looking, way smoother, and a lot more action is shoved into this game. The story is grand and keeps you hooked, and the hilarious characters make you want a movie, which will soon exist!

Anyway there's a lot to do in this game, but it's not really worth doing a lot of side quests until you beat it and unlock Challenge mode (which is just a new game +). In Challenge Mode you get all your weapons and health and can get millions of bolts in just a few levels. The enemies are also harder.

Unfortunately this was released before Playstation 3 had trophies, and I was surprised how much I missed that stupid little dinging from when I beat a level. At least then I my friends could see what I accomplished without me having to obnoxiously brag about it. Oh well.

My one annoyance with most Ratchet and Clank games is the health and armor system. You start with 10 health, or Nanotech as the game calls it, and you get more by leveling up which happens very quickly. You can easily get 10-20 more Nanotech in just one world, and while that seems like a lot the game had me questioning "Why even have health at all?!" more than once. Enemies, especially near the end, do increasingly more damage to the point of 2 or 3 hitting you even with over 190 health and 55% damage reduction armor. and you can't even buy the best armor until you go through Challenge Mode which only reduces 65% of damage. I have no idea what the max Nanotech level is, but I doubt it matters since you'll still get 2-hit by the final boss. The enemies near the end also take a ridiculous amount of punishment to the point of being tedious, and while this game isn't difficult by any meaning of the word, the final world tired me more than I wished it would.

Still, this is a great game, and I can't wait to move onto the next. Part of me hopes they'll release the Future trilogy on PS4 as a remastered version with trophies and a reason for me to 100% the crap out of it, because it is just that fun.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 13, 2016
This game isn't quite as good as Up Your Arsenal, but it is still a really good entry in the Ratchet & Clank series. It starts off a good plot involving time travel. The graphics, sound, and humor is all here. If there is a negative, it would be that it doesn't add much to the Ratchet & Clank formula aside from better visuals and beginning a new story arc.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 28, 2015
Ratchet & Clank Future: Tools of Destruction. (known as Ratchet & Clank: Tools of Destruction in Europe and Australia and Ratchet & Clank Future in Japan) was developed by Insomniac Games, and was released on October 23, 2007 for the PlayStation 3. This was the first Ratchet and Clank game for the PlayStation 3, and the first in the Future trilogy. In this installment, the self-proclaimed crown prince of the Cragmites known as Emperor Tachyon is after Ratchet, claiming that he is the last Lombax in the universe. He and Clank escape to the Polaris Galaxy, befriending the Markazian Talwyn Apogee and two old war bots named Cronk and Zephyr, who help the two uncover the Lombax secret, Tachyon's ultimate goal. Throughout the game, Clank encounters a mysterious race called the Zoni, who assist him at various points in the game, only to abduct him during the ending cut scene.

Tools of Destruction's weapon upgrade system introduces the need for Raritanium, an aptly-named rare resource mentioned in previous games, in exchange for certain upgrades, as well as continuous use of said weapons to upgrade them automatically.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 1, 2011
Ratchet and Clank Future: Tools of Destruction (R&C:ToD from here on) is a game that still looks great even by today's standards for the Playstation 3. Launching just a month before Uncharted: Drake's Fortune, R&K: ToD had a lot to live up to and boy did it. This game is a total blast to play and keeps the gameplay fresh and rewarding. Despite being geared for ages 10+, the game can be easily enjoyed by gamers of all ages due to how well the content was handled. If you love a good platform game, but also love to blow stuff up! this is the perfect game for you!

GAMEPLAY
R&C: ToD doesn't stray much from the initial mold you are given early on. Gameplay comes across much like the Final Fantasy games of later, where you follow linear progression with little in the way of exploration. Upon completing the game or nearly being able to complete it, you can return to areas and explore for hidden items and areas. Same rule applies here for the most part; except you can return to previous areas at any time. Gameplay consists of navigating Ratchet and Clank throughout a level using platforming skills, and some pretty awesome weapons to reach the goal and progress the storyline. Puzzles and platform segments are very creative in their use of the PS3's hardware. Playing this in 2011 it doesn't seem too impressive these days, but for back in 2007 some of these segments clearly were designed to showcase what a Next Gen console could do; including using the six-axis for some segments (which I promptly disabled since it was extremely annoying to control)

The shooting element can be handled via an Auto-Lock on feature which keeps the camera in a wide angle third person view, simply firing randomly which also is third person, or by switching to a first person view and manually aiming. All three methods have usefulness and it was nice to have the option of changing things up depending on the enemies you are fighting (or the weapon you are using). Speaking of weapons, there are a massive amount! Tools of Destruction indeed. Either through storyline progression, or the collection of bolts, you will get more weapons. Each weapon is unique and as you kill enemies you will get experience for the weapon. Every weapon starts at level 1 and can go to level 5, where at level 5 it gains a new ability. BOLTS are used to buy ammo and weapons, shards of Ore that you find will be used to upgrade your weapons along an upgrade tree. To manage all of your weapons and devices the game has a quick menu (very similar to Resistance / Resistance 3 but no surprise as Insomniac also did those games) which you can use R1 and L1 to flip through.

The platforming segments are handled mostly by Ratchet, but occasionally you will get to use Clank. When this happens an entire new world of abilities opens up making the two sets of platforming elements feel very unique. The only real flaw in the gameplay is the game feels very linear. There is no real means for exploration unless you have the right weapon/device for it. Which means backtracking. This can be done at any time during the game so long as you remember which world needed what device or weapon to access the locked off area. OVERALL the gameplay is enjoyable and once you start playing you will want to keep going. It is very satisfying to destroy an enemy, or stack of crates only to see tons of bolts burst onto the screen and the game.

GRAPHICS
For 2007, this game was pushing some pretty nice graphics. Lots of background activity, bolts filling your screen, weapon effects are awesome! Even today I am very impressed with how this game looks. Many of the early generation PS3 games had trouble balancing Graphics and Gameplay mechanics but R&C: ToD did a fine job at this. While it isn't the prettiest 720p game out there, it definitely looks next gen (in 2007 terms) and being geared for ages 10+, the cut-scenes looked great and very kid-friendly on the eyes. The graphics engine was given a nice polishing job and it shows.

STORY/SOUND
The story starts off with Ratchet & Clank having to deal with an invasion force... soon finding out that this force is out to find the last Lombax(Ratchet). Knowing this Ratchet escapes, and attempts to find a way to put an end to the reign of this cragmite emperor who plans to conquer the galaxy. To make things even more crazy, the mysterious race called the Zoni show up with a strange affliction for helping Clank. Overall it is a simple storyline that directs you from A to B to make you explore the planets, but it is thoroughly entertaining. The subtle humor the game throws in will appeal to all ages, including a few cut-scenes that have some funny moments hidden in the background (such as pirates making snow angels). The sound quality is exceptional, with high quality voice acting and weaponry that sounds awesome! Every weapon feels and sounds unique.

REPLAY/LENGTH
The game ran me around 10 hours with only doing some basic side tracking. I could see this game being accomplished in 8 - 11 hours depending on how quick you move through the storyline. This of course is not including all the extra features available. Finding schematics, gold bolts, leviathan souls, upgrading all weapons and leveling them up. There is even an arena to compete for bolts and prizes. The game lacks any real difficulty setting and trophies, but it makes up for the trophy part by including "Skill points" which are given to you for accomplishing certain hidden feats in the game. Using skill points you can purchase cheats, artwork, videos etc. Gold Bolts can be used to change your character's skin. So on your first play-through there is plenty to go around that should keep you occupied for at least a good 15-17 hours.

OVERALL 91% (9.1 / A-)
For an early PS3 title that launched in 2007 this game is awesome! There is plenty to do here that will greatly entertain the young gamers, while still entertaining older gamers. The game changes up the mechanics in spots to avoid feeling dull including throwing in spaceship combat. The only real negatives I have are that A) some weapons are downright pointless B) Lack of any real difficulty setting and C) Subtitles were not working properly it seemed. They would work fine in game, but during certain cut-scenes the subtitles would not activate even on multiple reloads of that cut-scene. However, OVERALL this game no real serious flaws and transitions platforming, with shooting elements exceptionally well. There is plenty to do here and you won't be disappointed.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 17, 2012
Ratchet and Clank is perhaps the single greatest, point here and blow the !@#$ out of that enemy game I have ever played. The PS2 instalments were and are staples to the PS2 which keep the system alive. When Tools of Destruction hit the PS3, I bought the system when I graduated high school a couple of years after launch and I had to fill the hole in the floor my jaw made. There is no doubt that this is worth buying a PS3 for. Dont get me wrong. Everyone who is a die hard gamer who wants to know what else is there for PS3, get the Uncharted trilogy, God of War III, and The Resistance games. I will break down the game in 4 parts; Graphics, Environments, Gameplay, and Story.

Graphics: This is what made the aforementioned jaw drop four feet from my Paramount gaming chair. At the time I saw this, it was the most beautifully designed game ever made. I DO MEAN EVER. I spent two minutes of the first level looking at the environment, Ratchet, and even his weapons. They were so lush and vivid in color and detail that I could not believe that the PS3 had this much graphical quality. (Still not worth the $600 launch price tag though) As I played through the game, I was in constant AWE of what I was looking at. This game single handley blew out all of the other R&C games on the PS2. If any soul loves looking at art or admiring landscape, this game is for you (Granted you have to blow the crap out most enemies by the time you get to a new place but still...) (5/5)

Environments: Lets face it. This is just a continuation of the graphics section, except here I talk about the worlds themselves. The worlds are vast differences from each other in so many ways that it is just amazing that someone thought these up. The many buildings of Metropolis, the rain soaked 'amusement' park with the coliseum, and the ice comet you chase pirates to are just beyond phenomenal. I really cannot describe how beautiful these places are. Disbelieving? Go see for yourself and you will know what I mean. (5/5)

Gameplay: If graphics were not number one, its game play. There is so much you can do in this game its not even close to funny. The weapons alone had me jumping for joy. My favorite is the RYNO. Come on, how awesome are the RYNO weapons? Makes the last fight in the game look like a pillow fight in a marshmallow factory. However the one thing that irked me was the tornado weapon. It required you to use the Sixaxis ability to control its movement, and it was just not comfortable (Personally) so I turned it off. The platforming is also a great staple that is improved upon here. Where to find Zoni, Raritanium, and how to get through the levels offers a great way to experience what its like to be head butt kicker. The ingenuity is perhaps second to none and is what keeps me coming back time after time (5/5)

Story: Here is probably the smallest of tiny cracks in the armor this game has. As Ratchet and Clank, you go from world to world to thwart the plans of the evil Emperor Percival Tachyon of the Cragmites. While its compelling in some areas, its a typical R&C adventure: Go Here, Get This, and blow !@#$ up along the way. All I'm saying is that, with just a shade more depth, this could possibly be in the top three PS3 games out there (4/5)

Pros:
+ Beautiful. Everything is just Gorgeous
+ Weapons are AWESOME!
+ Pretty funny throughout

Con:
- Story could use a boost every so often

In summary: If your a fan of R&C and you dont have it, what in god's great name are you waiting for? If your looking for something that is actually a good family experience, buy it. If you just wanna blow the &%@# out of any thing that moves, BUY IT IMMEDIATELY!!!!! (9/10)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 10, 2015
The Ratchet and Clank franchise has always been fun, and this game continues with that tradition. This is the first game that's a big step forward from the previous games in terms of graphics, content, and overall gameplay. I've been playing it for a couple weeks now and I enjoy it as much as the other games in the franchise I've played. Anyone who is a fan of the franchise should give this game a try if they haven't already. It is the first Ratchet and Clank game for the PS3, and the first game in he "Future" series in the franchise. The gameplay is similar to those of the older games, so it won't be hard for those who have played the earlier games. Overall, this game is a classic for PS3 and I am satisfied with it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 28, 2017
I was so glad when Insomniac Games came back to make more Ratchet and Clank Game and they really delivered. The action, the suspense the new game mechanics and all new villains made this game worth while.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.
See all 5 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here