Lyft Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch New Album by Prophets of Rage PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon BradsStatus BradsStatus BradsStatus  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Shop Now FFII_gno

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
208
Format: Video Game|Change
Price:$32.72+ Free shipping


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 154 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 208 reviews
Hey Rayfans, It's been way over 15 years since the first launch of Rayman & with this iteration of Rayman, Rayman Origins, Michel Ancel, the creator of Rayman, went all out on this one! In this Rayman the game includes over 100 characters, 12 unique worlds and over 60 levels of gameplay. Thats HUGE!!! The characters that you will play such as Rayman, Globox and the Teensies will gain unique abilities as they progress through the adventure, including swimming, diving, slapping, and the "HairlyCopter." The game also features tons of unforgettable action, adventure, beat-'em-up gameplay and alot of slapstick comedy to boot. Some scenes are just halarious.

The graphics are outstanding and whimsiclal, and just generally quite the treat for your eyes. This game will be enjoyed by everyone in the family and is great for all ages. There are some bosses that are kind of hard to beat so it is not just a simplistic type of childs game but also enjoyed by the older crowd too. We really need more games like this instead of the overabundance of first person shooters kill em style games.. This is a quite a long game that will not be finshed in just one or two evenings. Expect it to take quite a few evenings of gameplay to beat this one. Frame rate is great and there is no jerky motion, no dropouts on video quality and I ran in to zero bugs!!

If you are at all interested in this game, BUY IT! You will not regret it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 12, 2012
I'm nearly 40 years old and find the simplicity, or difficulty in this case, of platformers like Rayman Origins to be a breath of fresh air and a welcome break from shooters and other action titles. It starts out simple and gets harder as you go, but it's rarely frustrating given the cartoony atmosphere that makes the game a standout. I bought this to play cooperatively with my 5 year old son who gave up after maybe 5 hours of gameplay. I, however, kept on playing and have enjoyed it to no end. If you have young ones you're considering buying it for, I'd say it's best suited for ages 8 and up. My son hasn't advance much above the Lego Batman/Star Wars difficulty which he plays very well. So it's understandable that he eventually found the increasing difficulty too tough for him. While he could play it, he loved it. In a year or two, we'll have another go at it. On the other hand, the game's content is suitable for all ages so don't hesitate getting this one for even the youngest of gamers who can hold their own with a PS3 or 360 game controller.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 27, 2013
Every year there are always good games that come out and that get swept under the rug for one reason or another. They go by being missed by gamers who will only hear about them later on down the line. Rayman Origins is one of those games. It is a game that executes everything well. It's a tightly put together package that's fun and rewarding based entirely on the merits of gameplay. For those who enjoyed the platforming games such as Sonic the Hedgehog and Super Mario Brothers... Rayman Origins is a must play game. It is by far one of the most encompassing 2D side scrollers you'll ever play.

As you can imagine there's pretty much no plot to Rayman Origins. And beyond that, Origins isn't really about any origin whatsoever. Rather the "origin" refers to how Rayman used to be. A 2D Side Scrolling Platformer. In other words, Rayman gets back to its roots. There are no raving rabbids here. Just pure amazing level design. The game is incredibly simple in its mechanics and that's part of what really makes it work. Just about anyone can pick up the game and learn the basics of the mechanics. Mastering the game, however, is another story entirely.

The game begins simple. The first level is inviting. And when you first begin you'll soon earn the ability to punch before later on getting other abilities such as the ability to fly or shrink later on. The game paces itself well by holding back on most of your abilities. Only giving them to you when you rescue certain characters. And mostly making sure you utilize them well in the environment they introduce them in. The learning curve in Rayman is almost non-existent. You'll slip right into the game real easy and the game gives you ample time to practice your new abilities. There are four different characters to choose from, but choosing one over another doesn't really make much of a difference. Rather, there seem to be four mainly to bring out the multiplayer. You and three of your friends can hop on at the same time and it can be quite fun to do so... or frustrating depending on how you play. Like LittleBigPlanet and New Super Mario Bros., less is more when it comes to conquering the campaign. Your friends can easily mess you up or something, but it's actually not too menacing, given that it does allow for more risks when there are four instead of one. A character can make a sacrifice for rare items. Or you can tag in other characters when you need to.

It's a good thing that Rayman Origins doesn't punish the player when things are grim, however. The game is challenging. It begins quite simple enough, but before you know it the game ramps up in difficulty rather fast. You won't even be halfway through before you realize just what's being thrown at you in each level. And some are going to require some good pattern recognition or some trial and error to get down just right. Regardless of this, however, you rarely feel like the game is being unfair. Most enemies are easy to take out. It's not the enemies that'll be a problem, however, it'll mostly boil down to the environmental hazards mixed in with the well tuned level designs. Each failure doesn't really feel like failure either, because the game isn't out to punish you. There are a decent amount of checkpoints scattered throughout, and there isn't a limit to how many times you can fail.

This is also good because Rayman Origins has A LOT of levels to traverse. It's about as robust as a 2D platformer can get. Each level ends when you rescue a bunch critters (called Electoons) but the game demands replay because you'll be tallied up at the end of the level. Rescuing Electoons isn't just how you complete stages, it's how you unlock more. And if you manage to go through a level collecting all the "Lums" (basically coins) then you'll rescue more Electoons. There are also cages of captured Electoons hidden in every level. If you want to master Rayman Origins and explore everything it has to offer, you'll need to find them all. And this is going to require replaying some levels over and over again. Sometimes with a friend.

Perhaps the most rewarding thing about Rayman Origins is by far it's presentation. The game has an incredible sense of humor and some great tunes. The introduction is funny, and so are some of the levels (who would've thought using weenies as platforms wouldn't be such a bad idea?). But perhaps where the presentation shines most is in the graphical and aesthetic capacity. This is where Rayman truly comes alive. The graphics opt for style more so than anything. Certainly Rayman Origins fails to live up to the photorealistic quality of other games such as Uncharted 3 or Gears of War. But what makes this game so important is that it showcases that style is just as important as the actual graphical output. Rayman Origins doesn't have a lot of POWER behind it, but it has a visual flair that you just don't see too much in games these days. The aesthetics are what make Rayman Origins so easy on the eyes. The environments are just amazing looking. And this is because Rayman Origins has character. And art design that helps separate the game from everything else out there. A lot of games look pretty based on the actual power behind them, but it's nice to see a game that treats its visuals as though they were on a canvas for an artist to paint. It goes beyond being something shiny and something that actually exemplifies what gaming can do when developers try a stylistic approach rather than just an all out powerful one. Every frame of Rayman Origins is brimming with visual flair and style. It is easily one of the prettiest games I've ever seen. The fact that it plays well makes it that much more rewarding. At some point when playing through the levels the design just clicks and everything flows well.

This, of course, brings about the issue some gamers have with the game. Rayman Origins is a totally 2D side scroller. All the way down to the last pixel. The graphical power that the game DOESN'T have has caused some gamers to wonder if sixty dollars is really worth it. This is actually much more dependent on how much gameplay you want. Rayman Origins offers a surprisingly large amount of gameplay and depth. It'll take you a while to do everything the game asks of you. Primarily because in order to do it, you'll need to play through it a second time.

If anything, the quality of the game speaks volumes. The levels are incredible, it's a great looking game and it can be enjoyed with friends. It's a game that doesn't throw in too much and manages to hit a sweet spot because of how it is stylistically constructed. It's easy to think that EVERY game has to innovate in some ways, but gaming has come to a point where we no longer needs to try so hard to be good. Sometimes mastering the techniques we've learned through the years is better than coming up with a new thing that fails. It's the execution that makes the game work so well, not the standalone mechanics themselves. Rayman Origins will surely be an underplayed game... but it most certainly won't be under appreciated.
11 comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 27, 2014
This game has had a lot of hype behind it; it has been refered to as one of the best platformers ever made by so many critics and reviewers, and it even won a BAFTA (Or BAGA) for it's art direction. As you can tell by the date of my writing this, someone has obviously built a hype-launching-catapult, because all of it has gone straight over my head. I mean, it's 3 years after the games release! And not only am I just now playing it, but I'm just now talking about it! Well, there's certainly not going to be a lot to say that hasn't already been said, I'm mainly just writing this to better hone my writing skills, since I need some kind of hobby to occupy my time with while I'm supposed to be working.

I suppose the best place to start would be the graphics, since this is the "Artistic Achiever" of 2011. The first thing you may notice is that this game is a straight 2D platformer. There are no 3D elements being presented in the background, or even character models which are rendered in 3D (As far as I know). The backdrops, characters, environments, and everything else are being presented as 2D, hand-drawn, animation; and it is gorgeous! The colors they use are very bright and vivid, and the HD presentation allows you to see every little artistic detail that makes this game a beautiful work of art. It's interesting that the developers didn't go this route for "Rayman Legends", as that game just kind of goes for the standard 2.5D fare, as if it's a HD update of an older game. It's not bad by any stretch of the imagination (In fact, Legends is still fairly beautiful), but it lacks that feel of watching a cartoon that Origins has.

The music is also something to behold, as it is unique within it's own right. It's very cutesy and upbeat, like something you would hear in a children's cartoon. It containsa full orchestra of eukeleles, kazoos, banjos, harmonizing chipmunks, and...a random baritone in the third world, which was my favorite part. One thing about the music is that it's something totally different from world to world. The only thing that really repeats is the choir of chipmunks and even they change to fit the theme and mood of the world you're playing in. All-in-all the soundtrack only adds even more charm to this potion of fun!

Now for the meat and potatoes of this very festive and flavorful stew: The gameplay! How does this game actually play? Is it fun? Is it Playable? Are there glitches? Well, luckily I've only stumbled across one glitch so far (Which I would have deducted a star for had I not found a way around it.) and it's the one you come across at the end of the Sea of Serendipity treasure chase. If you've come across it, then you would know it, becasue it makes the last world impossible to unlock unless you can find a work-around. However, with that one bug aside, to answer the second and third question; yes and yes! As for the first question: the game plays like any 2D side-scroller made in this day and age. Like Super Meat Boy, the Bit.Trip series, and Cave Story the controls are limited to forward, backward, up, and down with the objective being (In most levels) go to the right until you win. The only thing is that there are obstacles and monsters which obstruct your path, and impede your progress. Along the way you can find secrets and unlock hidden levels and characters. Although unlike the games mentioned earlier, this game is much more forgiving. This isn't to say it's not challenging! But, you aren't penalized too hard for messing up, with checkpoints littered throughout each area you'll find it easy to die, but you'll also find it easy to get back to where you were so as not to have to repeat the ENTIRE level. Rayman Origins isn't the hard-nosed piano teacher who makes you play the whole piece when you mess up; it is instead the laid-back buddy who's teaching you to play guitar. He'll just have you go back and repeat that section until you get it right, and then the two of you will sit around, drink some beers, and play some Rayman Origins!

The level and character design are both tremendously creative. Sure, you have your standard fare: Ice World, Grass World, Desert World, Water World, rinse, repeat; but the thing about it is that there's also a theme attached to each world, like the Desert World is the Desert of Dijeridoos, and the Ice World is a food themed world called Gourmand Land (And also doubles as a Fire World in the latter half). There are a wide range of colorful and unique enemies and NPCs in this game. This game seems like Ubisoft's attempt to one-up the SMB Wii game that was also a big platformer at the time. What's that?" Asks Ubisoft. "You guys have 4-player co-op featuring the Mario Brothers as Players 1 and 2 with near identical toads as 3 and 4? Well, our game has that, accept we offer a wide selection of characters for 3 and 4, as well as reskinned versions of 1 and 2." The enemies also offer a lot of variety! I'll give an example from Gourmand Land's second half: In this bit you'll see fire spewing lizards in aprons and chef's hats, a chili pepper bathing in a pot of boiling water, and kernals of corn which turn into fluffy popcorn platforms when dropped in fire. These are just a few of the creatively designed enemies you'll come across along your adventures, it seems like there's always something new to look at.

So let's talk story now...there isn't one! Ha! Only joking. In all seriousness though, there isn't a whole lot of plot with this game. Not that there needs to be, like most old-school platformers, it's more about the gameplay than it is the story. Though this is what I gather from the intro cutscene: Rayman & Co. are in the Glade of Dreams atop a branch of The Snoring Tree, and are snoring...very loudly. They're snoring so loudly in fact that they are irritating their downstairs neighbors in The Land of the Livid Dead, so much so that the creatures from down below make their way up to the Glade of Dreams to capture all of the Electoons and Lums, along with Rayman and his friends. Breaking free, Rayman & Co. make their way across the Glade, kicking the butt of all antitoons that cross their path! There's also a twist ending that I won't spoil, in case you're so immersed in the story that spoiling the twist ending would cause you to go into a deep depression.

In summation, this is an extremely enjoyable experience. The gameplay is solid, and fast-paced while remaining somewhat forgiving; the game looks beautiful, and the music is the equivalent of ear-candy; and the 4 player co-op, along with the cartoon-esque humor, creates an experience the whole family can enjoy! If you haven't played this game yet, get it! It's totally worth your time, and will effectively charm you to your core.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 28, 2016
Fun game! The graphics are awesome! There are lots of extra challenges (collect everything, finish a level in a certain time, etc.). Lots of replayability.

This game is wacky and creative so it's always fun to see what types of environments you'll interact with in the next level. They also try to vary the gameplay a la the original MarioLand for Game Boy, e.g. some levels you'll ride around on a giant mosquito.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 10, 2013
This is the best multiplayer game I own. It is fun and challenging for all ages. Great graphics and a great soundtrack. It's 2D and the players are all in the same screen together. This game delivers many hours of entertainment with dozens of levels and is worth every penny. I have checked other reviews on he internet and they have all been extremely positive. I'm looking forward to playing Rayman Legends next. If you like the Lego game series or Little Big Planet then you will LOVE this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 28, 2016
Charming art style and amusing characters make this a very pleasant game, even as it gets brutally hard in later levels. One of the finest platformers on PS3/360, buy it if you're into them. My only complaint is that some of the bonus levels are almost too hard to access-it's possible to beat the game and be nowhere near the completion percentage needed to play some of them. They're less of a challenge than they are extra content for 100% completionist players.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 11, 2012
Listen. All of the 5 Star reviews here are true. I was contemplating putting Skyrim on my Christmas list for our new PS3, and was actually being peer-pressured by friends at work to get Skyrim. But all of the janky reviews on Skyrim made me suspicious, and I would rather just wait until Sony had worked the kinks out of that game before investing money into it, or asking for it for a gift. I had gotten my sister-in-law Donkey Kong Country Returns for her Wii - and was a little envious of the side-scrolling fun that she would be having. Looking into PS3 side-scrollers, no - there aren't very many options. But Rayman Origins looked really fun, and had great Youtube footage - and, of course, the Amazon reviews are amazing. So I got it for Christmas - and you know what? It IS all that. I am having so much fun with the game, I cannot recommend it enough. If this looks like a super-fun time to you, and you're maybe wanting more of a variety for your collection, or something that isn't as dark as most of the games by Sony - GET IT. Do not question yourself - just snag this sucker up. I have some good dark adult ones - but honestly, this one is just a plain simple blast. Great graphics, great music and F-U-N, fun. Do not hesitate. I love this game. Sony needs to put out more like this immediately. It is fabulous, and the re-play on it is terrific. You learn the course, and keep re-doing it to find more goodies and get better points - and the courses don't get old at all. If anything, the more times you replay a course, the more detail you notice. It is a great time. 5 Stars, without question.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 8, 2012
Rayman Origins piqued my interest because I was looking for a platformer that reminded me of the original Super Mario Bros. for NES. Although I often peruse Amazon, I guess you could say that Rayman was hiding in plain sight because I had no idea it even existed, regardless of the fact that it was right there on Amazon the whole time.

I'm not sure that fighting/defeating enemies in Rayman Origins could have been anymore simplistic. But keep in mind, less is more. Weaponry? Nope, who needs it, weapons are overrated anyway. In Rayman, you can defeat your enemies by either jumping on top of them (think Mario Bros) or punching/kicking them. This was really a breath of fresh air because sometimes I get tired of worrying about trying to upgrade 100,000 different weapon types when you only need 1 weapon to get through most of today's games. Simply bouncing on enemies may seem easy enough, but as you progress through the game, those enemies are strategically placed so that you'll die if you make one false move. Although you don't have weapons, you will gain pretty cool powers/abilities throughout the game. The first power is the power to punch/kick. Without it, you'll have to stomp on everyone which will get harder to do as you move along. Another power you'll pick up is the ability to float or glide through the air. This is helpful for those difficult long jumps you'll have to do. You'll also gain the ability to run, which will come in handy when you have to speed through a world just to survive. My favorite abilities that you'll acquire are the wall run and the ability to swim. The wall run enables you to run up walls at full speed, while the swimming ability will let you deep sea dive wherever water is available. One of the last 'powers' you'll get allows you to shrink and get through some of those tight spaces. (think Alice in wonderland, kinda).

One thing about Rayman that really surprised me was the variety of enemies. With each new world, you'll see new enemy types. This will not be a game that recycles the same two or three enemy types throughout the entire game *COUGHS Ultimate Alliance 2 COUGH*, sorry about that, I had something caught in my throat...But the enemies you face, are pretty basic for the most part and nothing too over the top. But don't forget, less is more. I thoroughly enjoyed every single boss battle!!! Each boss has a unique way to beat her/him, and once you figure it out, you're good to go. I love this because it was a nice balance of challenging you, but not making you feel angry enough to use your beautiful Rayman Origins disk as target practice for your brand new gun.

Please don't fall into the trap that I almost fell into. I almost over looked this game because I thought it was just some baby game, well, it's not. If played correctly, this game will take north of 20 hours to beat. You can unlock a ton of playable characters as you progress through the game. Sure, it starts off easy, but it gets hard pretty quickly! It took me about 2 hours to get through the final world. But as many reviewers have already stated, this game has a certain charm to it that doesn't allow you to get mad, no matter how many times you die. Some might not be a fan of the cartoon like graphics, but like I keep telling you, less is more. If I were forced to pick out one negative thing about this game, I guess it would be the playable characters. Although you can unlock many characters throughout the game, they all look similar, except for maybe a different color. For example, I unlocked another version of Rayman, same guy, just a different color. Not a big enough deal for me to deduct a star though.

If you're reading this review, you're probably interested in this game. If you HATE all things platformer, skip this, it's not for you. But, if you grew up on games like Mario Bros and Donkey Kong, please do your due diligence and at least rent this game. Give games like Madden and COD a break, they'll still be there once you're done playing Rayman Origins ;) If you're still in doubt, just like Amazon reviewer extraordinaire D.G.M. once told me, "Everybody loves Rayman"!
44 comments| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 12, 2015
We received Rayman during the whole fiasco with the PSN a little while back, and I fell in love with the cooperative gameplay. It was something my husband and I could do to just let our minds unwind at the end of the day. Since the Rayman we had downloaded seemed a bit limited and we had pretty much went as far as we could in the game, my husband decided to purchase this for me (really for us, haha) for Christmas. So far I haven't been disappointed. The gameplay is leagues better than the other game and we've already logged a few hours playing it. It's also quite a bit more challenging than the original as well. Definitely a fun and relaxing bonding experience for the both of us. I really don't have anything negative or constructive to add, although that may change as we get further into the gameplay.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.
See 1 answered question


Need customer service? Click here