Hill Climb Racing 2 Industrial Deals Beauty Most Anticipated Fall Children's Books Shop new men's suiting nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited GNO for iPhone 8 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Transparent Transparent Transparent  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Tailgating ToyHW17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-7 of 7 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 23 reviews
on May 6, 2013
I had no idea of the history of the White House, nor of the trials and tribulations of those who lived there over the years, let alone the necessity of building and rebuilding and decorating and redecorating. What an eye-opener! I also enjoyed reading about the personalities of the presidents and their families and how they conducted themselves while in office. There were tidbits galore about each of them--like a private peek into the lives of the leaders of our country--and not always flattering.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 1, 2016
one of my favorite books!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 15, 2001
Father-daughter team John and Claire Whitcomb have woven a tapestry of American history from the perspective of the White House and the nation's first families. Their command of detail is impressive: not only the familiar trivia about decorations and furniture that you can find in other White House histories, but how each first family related to the staff, how each president financed the home's operation (paying until modern times out of his own pocket for the staff, public entertainment, and refurbishing), and how the White House has both changed and changed with the nation's concept of the connection between the people, their leaders, and their house.
I have been reading about American history and presidential trivia for three decades and, instead of running into the same familiar overused anecdotes on which so many books draw, this book contained educational and entertaining surprises on every page. The book portrays our presidents as human beings, and tells a story not only about their habits and routines, but about their emotions and their lives in and out of the public eye. The image that struck me the most was President Pierce--mourning his son's recent death--spending his first night as president nearly alone in the White House, sleeping "on a mattress on the floor, wrapped in his coat to keep warm," because his belongings were still packed, his grieving wife had not yet arrived in Washington, the Fillmores had not quite moved out, and the furniture was in disarray from the inaugural celebration. The book is full of such human anecdotes. I could hardly put it down.
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 1, 2015
I would love to read this book via Kindle...I wonder what happened? Interesting information. Trivia and history helps know the personalities of the Presidents better.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 1, 2014
Everytime I order anything from your fine establishment I am pleased. What a wonderful opportunity to receive books and items that are top quality. Many thanks.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 15, 2015
very good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 8, 2001
Excellent book about the First Families, history of the building itself and just good old fashioned American History. As a history buff, I found this excellent reading and extremely informative. Interestingly enough, Mr. Clinton was not the only soundrel who lived there and the election of Dec 2000 was not the first. The similarity of that and the past is downright spooky.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse