Amazon Vehicles Beauty Return your textbook rentals STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Gifts for Dad Shop Popular Services twinpeaksv2 twinpeaksv2 twinpeaksv2  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire 7 Kids Edition, starting at $99.99 Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Spring Savings Event on Amazon.com Ellen

Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:$6.97+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 3,046 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 3,256 reviews
I have seen both Red #1 and #2 at the movies and liked both of them so much that I have purchased them when they came out on DVD. I liked Reds 2 even more than Reds 1. This movie can be considered both a comedy and an action film combination and also has a fantastic cast. They include: Bruce Willis, John Malkovich, Mary-Louis Parker, Catherine Zeta-Jones, Byung Lee, Anthony Hopkins and Helen Mirren. There is nothing like a combination kind of movie which has both humor and action.

RED means “Retired-Extremely-Dangerous.” In this DVD Frank Moses (Bruce Willis) gets his old CIA black-ops group together again to search for a portable nuclear device. In their quest they run up against a whole group of bad people such as terrorists, assassins and of course the corrupt and power hungry government officials.

If you like an entertaining comedy and action movie with lots of great stars you should check out this Red #2 DVD. A fun to watch movie.

Rating: 5 Stars. Joseph J. Truncale (Author: Season of the Warrior: A poetic tribute to warriors).
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon August 16, 2016
We had seen RED and really enjoyed it. So when I saw that RED 2 was available, I had to see it. This is one of those movies that you have to pay attention to. It moves fast and has an air of humor throughout. The humor is entertaining and the constant action keeps you engaged. I don't often watch an entire movie without working on my computer, but this one kept my attention. The different personalities of the characters really adds to the entertainment.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 10, 2015
As good a the first
review image
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 23, 2015
I loved this hysterical, improbable, ridiculous follow up to Red. It appeals to the same demographic as the ones who already saw Best Exotic Marigold Hotel and are waiting for the sequel. If you weren't already inclined to like it, you might be more critical than I, but I was in the mood for a romp, and that's what I got.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 6, 2017
Not as good as the original RED, but sequels rarely are. The cast is amazing and so entertaining to watch - they are clearly having fun throughout. The movie is almost a spoof on the spy/action genre - it doesn't take itself seriously and neither do the actors, which means authentic fun for both cast and viewers. Highly recommend
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 12, 2017
I loved this movie. There is a lot of action against n it and it's funny as all get out.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 19, 2014
Or else what? Or else I'll be disappointed I guess, but it sounds a little like the kind of thing someone would say in this movie.
There is a lot to like in this film, although really it should be a guilty pleasure. It's one of those action-comedy movies
(with a little romance thrown in) that features killings, torture, explosions, lies and double-crosses, but is so funny most
of the time that you can't take all the violence very seriously. It's not just Malkovich's character that has the funny one-liners
(although I'm sure he had more than anyone else). Pretty much everyone gets in at least a few good zingers.

It's been so long since the first film I had forgotten what RED even STOOD FOR (retired, extremely dangerous). I also
learned that ICE can mean something besides Immigration and Customs Enforcement (here, it means Incarcerate,
cannot execute) It also features as central to the story the exposure of a decades-old plot involving a fearsome
nuclear weapon made with RED MERCURY! [This had me scurrying to Wikipedia; it is truly amazing the weird stuff
you can learn from watching movies. Red mercury actually has featured in a number of sting operations of would-be
buyers of nuclear weapons material. Most "experts" agree that it does not exist while a few believe it really DOES
exist but those who know about it aren't allowed to acknowledge its existence. Even the name is subject to dispute,
as to whether the "red" refers to it first being developed by the Soviets, and others believing it refers to the material's
color. In any case there it is: a real-life rumor used as part of the plot.

Great cast + fast pace + lots of wry humor + plenty of money for blowing things up and special effects = large entertainment
value. I'll add that I hadn't watched Byung-Hun Lee before; he is a South Korean actor who has had great reviews in non-Hollywood films, and Red 2 is probably his biggest film role (in terms of commercial success). Although he's over 40, his physique and seemingly boundless energy would have me believing he's far younger, and he was fantastic in his role as a contract killer who (seemingly like everyone in the world of espionage) has a past history with Bruce Willis's character....

Not enough good comedy films these days; if you ever like an action/comedy film, you should enjoy this one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 5, 2013
RED 2 picks up where RED left off, minus, of course, Morgan Freeman - bummer, I liked him. But along with Bruce Willis, John Malkovich, Mary-Louise Parker and Helen Mirren (from RED), we get Byung-hun Lee, Anthony Hopkins and Catherine Zeta-Jones added to the mix and fray. And, what a mix and fray it becomes!

Zeta-Jones is great as a Russian secret agent (who had a relationship with Willis earlier in his CIA black-ops career). She and Parker have some great back-and-forth scenes. Lee is hired to kill Willis and, well, I don't want to spoil anything, but he does a fantastic job in his killer/assassin role. And, Hopkins, he is just amazing. What a versatile actor. You can really believe, the way he acts, that he has been held captive and probably experimented on, aside from other activities that may have occurred to him, for three decades.

Once again the Retired Extremely Dangerous crew must stop the worst of all possible scenarios from happening while avoiding being captured or killed by both enemies and friendlies. And they are forced into it after an online document attaches Willis and Malkovich to a very dirty secret that happened 30 years earlier, though they were not part of it, that very much threatens life today. As for Parker ... well, she is itching to get back into some action. Seems our lil Kansas gal doesn't want to stay in Kansas. Mirren does not have as prominent of a role, but she is very in-character as she is reactivated by her British spy masters. Malkovich is classic and just as paranoid, if not more so, as he was in the first installment.

This is a rocking shoot-em-up, explosion-filled, car-chase-full, action-packed flick with ample one liners for comedy relief that is a very worthy sequel to the first. Not sure if I like one over the other. They are both worth the price of admission (or DVD or Blu Ray) and a great back-to-back evening and, for me, earn 5 stars for pure entertainment value.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 27, 2013
This movie was a lot of fun.

Most sequels never live up to the original. In my opinion, Red 2 is much better than the first movie. What I liked most was the mix of comedy and action. It was consistent throughout the movie and everything blended smoothly.

Synopsis: Frank Moses/Willis has a new life with his girlfriend Sarah/ML Parker but is sidetracked when the government puts out a hit on him and Marvin/Malkovich and declares them terrorist. Apparently Frank and Marvin had some involvement regarding a project during WWII called "Nightshade." Moses and crew are thrust into a wild ride across the planet to fix everything.

Action: Fight scenes are great and well done. An excellent car chase. Several gun battles. All the main actors in this movie get their chance to shine.I really enjoyed watching VIctoria/Mirren. She totally kicks butt and can handle her guns. Han/Byung-hun Lee adds a little KungFu action.

Acting/Writing: Most of the time I separate acting and writing. Not this time. Usually, when a lot of top notch actors get together, the movie suffers in many other areas, especially writing. Not in this movie. Everyone worked well together. Everyone got their funny moments and there were plenty. Unlike a lot of movies I have watched recently, this movie did not have to rely upon vulgarity nor profanity.

Family friendly: Very little cursing. Lots of killing/shooting/fighting. No nekkid people nor sexual stuff. So, basically the violence is the worst.

If I had to pick one negative about this movie it would be Sarah/Parker. I found her to be a wee bit annoying. She seemed out of place.

This movie is well worth the rental. One of the better movies I have seen this year. I rarely give 5 stars to a movie, However, since this movie shines above the competition with great acting/writing/action, it is getting the full 5.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 30, 2017
I loved Red (the first one). This one is a little more of an action movie and less of a comedy, however, it is still a great movie! I liked the first Red better but still liked this one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse