Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Red Dead Redemption: Undead Nightmare
Amazon Vehicles Up to 80 Percent Off Textbooks Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Songs of Summer Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Coffee Totes Amazon Cash Back Offer ElvisandNixon ElvisandNixon ElvisandNixon  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop Now

Format: Video Game|Change
Price:$9.23+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on February 2, 2011
After finishing Red Dead Redemption main game I wanted more, so I decided to pick a copy of this game at another retailer. This is another full story, related with the original story, but completely different, like in a parallel universe to call it that way. Uncle has become infected with this zombie plague and infected John Marston's wife and kid, so John decides to tie them (wife and kid and not kill them), and leave them locked at home until he finds a cure.

John needs to travel the same RDR world but infested with zombies and help survivors on each town and clear them out, while learning what is causing this plague and how to erradicate it. There is a main story, side quests and more stranger missions. This expansion is tougher than the original RDR because:

1. You cannot fast travel unless you have cleared a town and as long as it remains on a "SAFE" status.
2. Zombies can only be killed with headshots or by burning them with fire. You have very limited ammo, and there are no stores. Dead Eye is very very important on this expansion to survive, to make accurate shots.
3. Unlike RDR where enemies try to shoot you but they protect themselves to not be killed, zombies do not care about getting killed, so all will jump at you. Need to have a horse to move faster than then
4. Survivors really help you to kill them, if you help them. If you shoot at any of the survivors, they will also try to kill you.
5. Great new weapons like the torch and tomahawk
6. Great new horses (4 apocalypse ones), War horse (surrounded by fire) is awesome, because you can burn whatever you touch with it
7. Single player is a whole brand new story (8 to 10 hours to beat). That is the lenght of many other top games available and this is just an expansion.
8. Include all multiplayer maps
9. You can play without the need of having the original RDR disc.
10. Extremely fun and scary at the same time.
0Comment| 31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 29, 2012
I know this review is late in comparison to when this game came out, but whatever. :) I will try not to give any spoilers for those who haven't played either game yet.

Undead Nightmare was released as an expansion of Red Dead Redemption, but owning the original is not necessary. While it isn't necessary, I recommend playing RDR first to get a feel for the story, game mechanics, etc. In Undead Nightmare, there's zombies (duh), and they can only be killed with fire or headshots, which effectively turns this game into a survival game, instead of the Old West shooter that RDR was.

Hopefully this helps out a bit. :)
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 15, 2016
No long review is needed here,lol What whatmore can I say about this game that has not already been said,, it has won every award out there! And for good reason this isn't just a good video game in my opinion it's a piece of art!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
"Red Dead Redemption: Undead Nightmare" is a very good zombie game set in the Old West environment of the original Red Dead Redemption game. This does not require the original game to load and is completely standalone. The game controls are easy to learn and graphics are very good, greatly adding to the enjoyability of the game.

No plot spoilers from me; you play as John Marston (the returning main character from "Red Dead Redemption") who finds himself in the middle of a zombie outbreak. For very personal reasons, John must find a way to stop the zombies and find a cure to the condition. There is a truly creepy feel to the game that zombie horror movie lovers will enjoy and the interplay between the living and dead adds real depth to the game play. Your decisions on where you spend your time (and ammo) makes a real difference in the outcome. Your ability to travel fast is very important to surviving and that has been taken into consideration the addition of new mounts, greatly adding to the enjoyment of playing this.

This is a very fun game that is on par with the best zombie games for the Xbox 360. Note the "M" rating.

Highly Recommended!

CFH
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 25, 2015
I was really excited to get this game because I read you could play RDR online without actually having the original RDR. And you can! But be prepared for glitches in single player mode. The zombies' and other AI heads will disappear - something to do with the new patch update that came out. It doesn't look like Rockstar will be fixing it anytime soon. Nevertheless, the game is fun for hours of play if you can get past the glitches, which WILL happen, but aren't too much of a problem if you know how to work around them. Online play is fun, but it's hit or miss when it comes to the number of players online. If you don't plan on playing online then you don't have to update the patch and it should play just fine... IMO for ~$12 it's worth buying. I plan on system linking with some friends at some point to see how that goes.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 23, 2014
Really fun game. I do prefer the original game though- I think it's a lot more fun and more things to do. But, this one has its moments but it does become very stressful at times when there's a lot of zombies coming at you... and I don't know if it's just my copy or the game itself but there's so many glitches... I've never owned a game that had so many before. A lot of the times the zombies will glitch into regular people, walking around minding their business. Or the zombies will lose their heads and look like a lot of decapitated bodies coming at you. The glitches are bothersome when I can't finish a quest to get to a saving spot, because the glitches can sometimes make quests uncompleted until you restart the game. BUT other than all of that, I've been enjoying it.. just not as much as the first game.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 30, 2013
THIS GAME IS AWESOME!!! I LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE IT. this game would be good for anyone who likes a western type version of grand theft auto, and the zombies is just awesome. i also love the horses of the apocolypse.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 18, 2011
This game is fun enough, but if you own and like the regular game, you should NOT buy this game as a separate disk here. It is the same DLC (down-loadable content) you can get with the regular game. The reason you should buy it as DLC through the regular Read Dead Redemption game instead, is that when your playing multiplayer both RDR and Undead free roam maps are the same. In fact, you can probably see players from both games in the free roam and other modes. But there are mini games within the free roam multiplayer mode where it says you have to have the undead pack to play. So this is stupid, changing disks every time you want to play different mini games on the same map. If you get all this good gaming content as DLC, you will have access to all of the map on free roam, and play undead stuff mixed with regular stuff. So I suggest this game only for people that want to play this game only and not the regular game too. So yes this is a good game, but buy it as DLC instead. Red Dead Redemption
11 comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 26, 2015
Graphics were ok, but then the game became boring and repetitive. I mean how many times do I have to run into the same infected woman asking for help?...I played the main game but not very scary..nice graphics though
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 27, 2012
Some people like this game, and maybe it is because they took a bit longer to go from Red Dead Redemption to the Undead Nightmare than I did, but for me it was repetitive nonsense. It is based off the exact same world as it's predecessor, only there are now zombies. There are a few interesting pieces to it, but it seems more like extra content for the initial game for those that want to play in the world a little longer, than a game in its own right.

If you loved Red Dead and you miss the world, then this may be a fun way to revisit it, but if you were done with the world by the time you finished Red Dead and you are hoping for something new by the same production group this will disappoint.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 11 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here