Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Red Harvest
Amazon Vehicles Buy 2 kids' books and save Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Coffee Totes Summer-Event-Garden Amazon Cash Back Offer TheKicks TheKicks TheKicks  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop Now STEM

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
19
Format: Audio CD|Change
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on November 6, 2007
In 2005, Tim Williams and Mike Kennedy rose from the ashes of Vision Of Disorder to unleash the multi-faceted, maximum-impact Bloodsimple. Whereas Vision Of Disorder started to fall apart at the seams towards the end, this new band's debut, "A Cruel World," showed a band who knew what they wanted and how to do it. The songs rocked in all the right places, and when they took a few stops to do some lighter fare, it was pulled off effortlessly and effectively. Truly, one of the few new bands in today's metal scene who is up for more than one task. Having said that, I am happy to report that their second album "Red Harvest" is anything but a disappointment.

First off, fans of the debut, especially the heavier side, will find a goldmine of razor-sharp vocals, groove-heavy riffs and pummeling drum-work -- courtesy of studio drummer Will Hunt of Dark New Day fame. In fact, "Red Harvest" turns out to be a much more intense and consistent album than "A Cruel World." Frontman Tim Williams seems to have developed a predilection for serial killers, if the lyrics sprinkled throughout the album are any indication. Not only does this angle give the album sort of a concept feel, but it also makes it feel like a more cohesive piece and actually gives it a bit of fun and camp that most bands in this genre don't dare put into their music. Just take the title track, one of the juiciest cuts of the album, as it plays like a live performance. A lot of what was established on the debut is carried over here, but the band isn't afraid to take new direction with the likes of "Dead Man Walking" and "Whiskey Bent And Hellbound." The musicianship is spot on, and even if the production is a little too polished, the album still sounds gorgeous. Purists might find that it smells of nu-metal a bit in parts, leading to the album's only downfall --they're starting to sound a bit in the same "vayne" as their boss' band.

To be honest, it's a rather fluid and seamless album. Bloodsimple have stepped up to the plate and delivered something as intense as their debut, while keeping it fresh and interesting. It might take a few good listens to settle in, but all in all, "Red Harvest" is a sign of a band that is only getting much tighter and quite frankly, better. If you want something loud, fun and heavy, "Red Harvest" is it.
44 comments| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 30, 2007
'Red Harvest', the sophmore album from NYC Metal band bloodsimple is a phenomenal follow-up to their breakthrough 'A Cruel World'.

This album contains more structured rock songs, better and more intelligent lyrics, the bass is stronger, and the guitar work is [again] very solid and flowing.

I bought this album b/c I am a fan of VOD and also of producer Machine - I loved what he did w/ 18V and Lamb of God records.

5/5 Buy This Motherf*cker!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 23, 2007
Another great job in the studio from the guys in Bloodsimple. This disc is a great follow-up to their debut. Songs like "Dead Man Walkin", "Suck it up", "Killin Time", and "Truth" make this CD worth 5 stars easily.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 31, 2007
Yeaaaa!!! Another album from one of my favorite bands is here and i love it. Now I will admit that the first cd is still an all time classic and you won't ride in my car without hearing it at least once, but this new one is just as good. I mean some of the songs like Death From Above, Dark Helmet and Out To Get You are so good I can't help but scream the lyrics and start headbanging with the music, just cuz this music has that effect on me and always has. I've always been a fan of v.o.d. and always loved the way Tim Williams can scream and sing better that half the metal singers out there today, so when i heard he had a new band, of course I followed and I AM SO GLAD I DID. So if you like these guys and have never heard of VISION OF DISORDER, I'd say take look back and see what Tim did before this, and you might get hooked on that as well. (my favorite album is IMPRINT, but there all good)
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 28, 2014
Red Harvest is the second, and unfortunately final, album from Bloodsimple. This album is absolutely AWESOME, and has a special place in my heart. This album is relentless, and is a no BS album throughout. Aggression drives this album full on, with the exception of an excellent ballad (Truth Thicker Than Water). Every track on this album is remarkable, and brings something fresh to the metal genre. My personal favorites would be the title track (Red Harvest), Dead Man Walking, Out To Get You, and Dark Helmet. It's such a shame to see a band with so much potential die off so quick, but the short run that they had was outstanding.

Overall, i absolutely recommend this album to any fan of the Hard Rock/Metal genre. An excellent album all around.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 23, 2008
Very fast paced aggressive heavy metal. And between Red Harvest and A Cruel World, I think this album has a couple more songs to get the blood flowing.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 20, 2008
I really liked this it was a fun listen.From start to finish it just played and i went for the ride.I thaught it was a good idea naming the songs off felt like being there with him. Good music great sound rocking cd.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 28, 2011
Awesome record from Bloodsimple. There is not one "fluff" track here. If you have a problem with a band showing range, then you'll whine about "Ride with Me?" maybe, but thats about it. The whole thing rocks, and i can't wait for the next one....
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 30, 2009
Im a fan of vision of disorder so I always like a band that sound different
bloodsimple is the follow up of vision of disorder in a new way.
this album is as good as cruel world
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 30, 2014
BLOODSIMPLE!!! WOW I LIKED THIS ALBUM A LITTLE TOO MUCH I THINK IF YOU LIKED A CRUEL WORLD GET RED HARVEST ITS A BIT HEAVIER
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here