Shop Auto Winter Products Salon Beauty Get $5 off book purchases over $20* Use promo code GIFTBOOK17 Black Friday Deals Week nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc For a limited time. 3 months for $0.99. Amazon Music Unlimited. New subscribers only. Terms and conditions apply. STEM $24.99 for a limited time only Try it first with samples Handmade Gift Shop Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Early Black Friday deals: save 40% or more on Amazon Video Early Black Friday deals: save 40% or more on Amazon Video Early Black Friday deals: save 40% or more on Amazon Video  Echo  Black Friday Deals Week: Fire tablets starting at $29.99. Limited-time offer. $30 off Kindle Paperwhite Just Dance 2018 Shop now HTL17_gno



Showing 1-10 of 36 reviews(3 star). See all 453 reviews
on March 16, 2017
The Case came cracked. Very Disappointing...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 12, 2015
The only problem I had is that the case was cracked when I got it, but overall good album.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 16, 2015
Came with a crack in the case
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 4, 2015
Classic.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 9, 2010
CD arrived quickly, but it skips. I guess you get what you pay for.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 9, 2012
This CD is what started my love for the Red Hot Chili Peppers. But, as I listened and learned more about them, I found out this left out a LOT of good material. The fact that they included "Universally Speaking" instead of "Can't Stop", one of their number one hits, is a little insulting. And it only contains material from five of their eight albums they made before releasing Greatest Hits. All of it, except for "My Friends" was done with John Frusciante as guitarist. They easily could have taken out "Universally Speaking", "Breaking The Girl" and "Parallel Universe" with "Knock Me Down", "The Zephyr Song", "Aeroplane", "Fight Like A Brave" and maybe even "Around The World". Honestly, above all, the absence of "Can't Stop" is the biggest disappointment. Anyway, for all the people wanting to know about the tracks on the album, here's my thoughts.

1. Under The Bridge - An essential. This is my all time favorite song and features outstanding writing by Anthony Kiedis. And ironically enough, its 'bridge' is possibly the greatest bridge ever. Originally from Blood Sugar Sex Magik.

2. Give It Away - Another essential. This is what catapulted the Red Hot Chili Peppers into mainstream funk rock icons. This won them a Grammy, a lot of fame and their first Modern Rock chart number one. Originally from Blood Sugar Sex Magik.

3. Californication - VERY overrated song. It's great, but people call it the best Red Hot Chili Peppers song ever. And, sadly, it is their most well-known. Unsurprisingly it went number one. Again, it's good, the way Kiedis rhymes every word with something very similar to "Dani California" (which was made years after the Greatest Hits CD was released). Originally on Californication.

4. Scar Tissue - A beautiful song, a close second for my favorite song. Kiedis' painful lyrics combined with Frusciante's emotional guitar is so perfect. This also won them a Grammy. Originally on Californication.

5. Soul To Squeeze - A great ballad which was originally a B-Side from Blood Sugar Sex Magik. It was never put on a studio album, but was added to the Coneheads soundtrack. It was a hit, and earned them their second number one hit in 1992.

6. Otherside - A famous hit from Californication. This definitely belongs on the Greatest Hits CD, being another number one hit.

7. Suck My Kiss - A staple for RHCP fans. This one is humorous (in some ways) and is one of their heaviest songs.

8. By The Way - The lead single from By The Way, made a year before Greatest Hits came out. A great half ballad, half headbanger about the fictional Dani California, who was also subject in Scar Tissue, Californication and the song named after her.

9. Parallel Universe - Does not belong. It's okay, but considering all the songs that were left out, it shouldn't be here. It isn't very popular and it didn't chart well. Originally on Californication.

10. Breaking The Girl - Another song they could've left out. I'll admit it has a good beat that gradually gets more and more intense... but still. A song that barely charted from Blood Sugar Sex Magik.

11. My Friends - The very popular single from One Hot Minute, and the only track done with Dave Navarro (Jane's Addiction) playing guitar instead of John Frusciante. It became another number one. Personally, I don't think it's that great. But it was a hit that kept the Red Hot Chili Peppers famous in the mid-90s.

12. Higher Ground - The only 80s RHCP song here. This is the earliest single on Greatest Hits, and its all the way in their fourth 1989 album Mother's Milk. It was a famous cover of Stevie Wonder's hit. This became one of RHCP's most well known songs as well. It may be more popular than Stevie Wonder's original.

13. Universally Speaking - Another song that doesn't belong. A single that didn't chart good from By The Way.

14. Road Trippin' - This isn't popular and it didn't chart well, but I like it. Althought it doesn't belong, I'm glad they decided to keep it. Originally on Californication.

15. Fortune Faded - The lead single from Greatest Hits. A very cool electric guitar sound. Good lyrics, too. I hope this goes on RHCP's next greatest hits CD This, along with "Save The Population" and the Blood Sugar Sex Magik songs were all recorded in "the Mansion" which Harry Houdini had lived in.

16. Save The Population - A new track that didn't become a single. Decent sound.

So, overall, I don't think this is a good place to start for newcomers. The only reason to get this album is the liner notes, which each member wrote about what its like to be a Red Hot Chili Pepper, and the new tracks. A much better place to start would be Blood Sugar Sex Magik, Californication, By The Way or Stadium Arcadium.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 12, 2003
I have always been an enthusiastic fan of the Chili Peppers unique, funky music stylings. I was skeptical about getting this cd until I saw the package that came with the DVD, and couldnt resist all the videos on one disc. The cd itself left more to be desired for the second offering of greatest hits on one cd. Like most compilations, it has its ups and downs.
Tracks like "Higher Ground" and "Knock Me Down" are among the best of their earlier years, but have already found their way onto the last greatest hits compilation. This is ten years later, and Chili Peppers fans need the newer generations tunes of "Around the World," "Can't Stop," "The Zephyr Song," and "Aeroplane" to name a few. If I were producing this album, I would have gladly sacrificed not so popular singles such as "Universally Speaking" or "Road Trippin'" to see these loveable tracks make the cut.
Don't get me wrong, the cd has plenty of positive notions as well, which made me want to buy it in the first place. The new tracks "Fortune Faded" and "Save the Population" make nice additions to the RHCP library, and fit in seemlessly as if they were hits of their own. The forever enjoyable "Soul to Squeeze" finally gets onto CD form other then the Coneheads Soundtrack.
When all is said and done, every track on this cd is amazing and anyone starting to get into the Chili Peppers might want to pick this up. Otherwise hardcore fans would want to pick this up as well for the amazing DVD set. Otherwise, purchase all the albums and pick your own favorites.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 11, 2003
What makes me happy is there are quite a few songs that I love on this CD. What makes me unhappy are the songs left off. "Zephyr Song", "Dosed", and "Can't Stop", to name just three. Sure, the first and third of those made the DVD, but I would've loved to have them included in the CD, even if it had to have 20+ tracks just to include them. I'm going to have to make another trip just to pick up By The Way, and I don't like doing that. The true plus of this CD is "Fortune Faded", which is a catchy and cool song.
The only way I can figure that "Universally Speaking" could've made the CD would be the "God Put a Smile on Your Face" method: the song would've had to be released just after "Dosed", but be overshadowed by "Fortune Faded", and thus not played. ("God Put a Smile on Your Face" is an excellent Coldplay song, released as a single just after "The Scientist", but overshadowed by "Moses", which was released at the same time, thus resulting in "Moses" being favored and played more...unfortunately, only one band in recent memory has perfected the art of multiple yet distinct singles, and that's Good Charlotte, as much as I hate to say it)
Anyways, as another review somewhere on here said, if you're picky about your singles and already have the CDs that really matter (BSSM, Californication, By The Way), steer clear. Even though RHCP do have too many good singles to properly include on a greatest hits CD, I think that more thought could've gone into the track listing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 10, 2005
This isn't a bad collection if you like the Red Hot Chili Peppers in their more laid-back fasion. This album features 3 (count em) funked out freak tunes. The rest are the Chili Peppers mellowed out. They ignored the funky tunes from Californication (Around the World, Get on Top) and threw in the mellow tunes, probably because they were bigger hits. But thats not really what the Peppers were about. I wasn't totally thrilled when i found out that "Fight Like a Brave" wasnt included. But then again, a Chili Peppers collection wouldn't be complete without those mellow tunes. "What Hits?!" had it's flaws as well even though i enjoyed it more. Basically, the Peppers should have released a two disc set- disc one should have material from their first 4 funked out albums, disc two should have material from their later 4 which were more intelectual, but each album contained some truly funked out tunes. Well it would be worth buying for Suck My Kiss and Californication, but I found it better just to buy their albums.

Essential Chili Pepper buys:

Mother's Milk

Blood Sugar Sex Magik

Californication

The Uplift Mofo Party Plan

Freaky Styley

or you could buy this + "What Hits?!" That would be a nice collection of material.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 7, 2004
I'm not a huge Red Hot Chili Peppers fan, but I have enjoyed their music over the years. With all of the band's releases and familiar hits, I knew it would be a matter of time, if not years, before they would finally come out with a greatest hits album. And they have, with this release.
I first learned about this Cd through a t.v. advertisement. As the person narrating finished running through the tracks, I realized that "Can't Stop," "Around The World," and "The Zephyr Song," weren't mentioned. Thinking it must be some kind of mistake on my part, and hoping that it was, I went online and scrolled through the tracks, and to much disbelief and dismay, there was no mistake.
The Red Hot Chili Peppers had finally managed to come out with a classic, greatest hits album, and like so many other bands when it comes to greatest hits Cd's, had managed to leave out at least three of their greatest songs. Not only did the Chili Peppers leave out these classics, but they introduce to the public two new songs, "Fortune Faded," and "Save The Population," one of which actually belongs on this Cd (Fortune Faded). The band completely dumped three classics that helped keep them at the top of their game, to introduce new material on the album. Why they did this and why other bands do the same thing, I'll never, ever understand.
As you can tell, I'm dissapointed and confused about this Cd, the chosen tracks, the absence of "certain" songs. Why do bands leave out 1 or 2 great hits on greatest hits albums? Do they forget about them? Maybe the members of these bands aren't as fond about them as the rest of the country.
Anyway, If you're a Peppers fan, you can get most of their great hits on this Cd. But for myself, I can't get this cd and live with the fact that those tracks are missing from the album. I give this release a three out of a possible five stars for the amount of great hits this Cd contains. However, this album misses out on what would have been two more stars for the fact that those tracks I mentioned were missing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

By the Way [Vinyl]
$17.45
The Getaway
$9.45

Need customer service? Click here