Get Fast, Free Shipping with Amazon Prime & FREE Returns
Return this item for free
  • Free returns are available for the shipping address you chose. You can return the item for any reason in new and unused condition: no shipping charges
  • Learn more about free returns.
How to return the item?
FREE delivery:
Get free shipping
Free shipping within the U.S. when you order $25.00 of eligible items shipped by Amazon.
Or get faster shipping on this item starting at $5.99 . (Prices may vary for AK and HI.)
Learn more about free shipping
Monday, Aug 9 on orders over $25.00 shipped by Amazon. Details
Fastest delivery: Wednesday, Aug 4
Order within 5 hrs and 44 mins
Details
In Stock.
As an alternative, the Kindle eBook is available now and can be read on any device with the free Kindle app.
$$9.99 () Includes selected options. Includes initial monthly payment and selected options. Details
Price
Subtotal
$$9.99
Subtotal
Initial payment breakdown
Shipping cost, delivery date, and order total (including tax) shown at checkout.
Your transaction is secure
We work hard to protect your security and privacy. Our payment security system encrypts your information during transmission. We don’t share your credit card details with third-party sellers, and we don’t sell your information to others. Learn more
Ships from Amazon.com
Sold by Amazon.com
Ships from
Amazon.com
Sold by
Amazon.com
Return policy: This item is returnable
In most cases, items shipped from Amazon.com may be returned for a full refund.
The Red House Mystery has been added to your Cart
FREE delivery: Aug 9 - 16
Fastest delivery: Aug 5 - 10
Used: Good | Details
Sold by more-than-words
Condition: Used: Good
Comment: All orders guaranteed and ship within 24 hours. Your purchase supports More Than Words, a nonprofit job training program for youth, empowering youth to take charge of their lives by taking charge of a business.
<Embed>
Other Sellers on Amazon
$7.50
+ $3.99 shipping
Sold by: AnaCo
Sold by: AnaCo
(2673 ratings)
97% positive over last 12 months
Only 1 left in stock - order soon.
Shipping rates and Return policy
Loading your book clubs
There was a problem loading your book clubs. Please try again.
Not in a club? Learn more
Amazon book clubs early access

Join or create book clubs

Choose books together

Track your books
Bring your club to Amazon Book Clubs, start a new book club and invite your friends to join, or find a club that’s right for you for free.
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.


The Red House Mystery Paperback – December 17, 2011

4.1 out of 5 stars 339 ratings

Price
New from Used from
Kindle
Paperback, December 17, 2011
$9.99
$7.50 $5.99

The Amazon Book Review
The Amazon Book Review
Book recommendations, author interviews, editors' picks, and more. Read it now.

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
    Apple
  • Android
    Android
  • Windows Phone
    Windows Phone
  • Click here to download from Amazon appstore
    Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

kcpAppSendButton

Frequently bought together

  • The Red House Mystery
  • +
  • Double Indemnity
  • +
  • Malice Aforethought
Total price:
To see our price, add these items to your cart.
Choose items to buy together.

Editorial Reviews

Review

''This droll whodunit from the creator of Winnie the Pooh sparkles with witty dialogue, deft plotting, and an amusing cast. In between taking tea and playing billiards, an amateur detective and his chum investigate their genial host's disappearance. A series of lighthearted capers ensues, replete with secret passageways, underwater evidence, and other atmospheric devices.'' --Goodreads.com

''Though Milne is immediately associated with Winnie-the-Pooh and pals, he nonetheless wrote a number of adult titles, including this 1922 novel in which guests at a country estate become amateur sleuths when a shooting occurs and all evidence points toward their host.'' --Library Journal

About the Author

Alan Alexander Milne was born in Hampstead in 1882 and attended an independent school run by his father before studying mathematics at Cambridge. After university he worked as an Assistant Editor at the magazine Punch and established himself as a successful author of both plays and novels, including The Red House Mystery until, with the publication of When We Were Very Young in 1924 and Winnie-the-Pooh in 1926 his career took a very different turn. Milne continued to produce works for adults but occasionally resented the success of his children's stories, which overshadowed much of his other work. In 1952 A. A. Milne suffered a stroke after brain surgery and retired to his country home in Sussex as an invalid. He died there four years later.

Back to School gift cards

Product details

  • Publisher ‏ : ‎ Empire Books; Reprint edition (December 17, 2011)
  • Language ‏ : ‎ English
  • Paperback ‏ : ‎ 228 pages
  • ISBN-10 ‏ : ‎ 1619491354
  • ISBN-13 ‏ : ‎ 978-1619491359
  • Lexile measure ‏ : ‎ 710L
  • Item Weight ‏ : ‎ 10.9 ounces
  • Dimensions ‏ : ‎ 6 x 0.52 x 9 inches
  • Customer Reviews:
    4.1 out of 5 stars 339 ratings

Customer reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
4.1 out of 5
339 global ratings
How are ratings calculated?

Top reviews from the United States

Reviewed in the United States on February 1, 2017
Verified Purchase
13 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on October 22, 2019
Verified Purchase
3 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on October 10, 2020
Verified Purchase
2 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on April 3, 2021
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in the United States on October 16, 2019
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in the United States on December 28, 2018
Verified Purchase
5 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on January 19, 2020
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in the United States on May 26, 2020
Verified Purchase

Top reviews from other countries

Caroline
3.0 out of 5 stars Classic Crime fiction perfect for fans of Agatha Christie
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on March 5, 2021
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
S Riaz
4.0 out of 5 stars The Red House Mystery
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on July 8, 2016
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
M. Dowden
4.0 out of 5 stars Milne's Only Crime Novel
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on August 1, 2015
Verified Purchase
3 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Mrs L J
4.0 out of 5 stars Set in a bygone era
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on April 24, 2017
Verified Purchase
Sara Dahl
3.0 out of 5 stars Appalling lack of editing
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on June 13, 2021
Verified Purchase