Kindle Price: $0.99

Save $13.96 (93%)

kindle unlimited logo
Unlimited reading. Over 1 million titles. Learn more
Read for Free
OR

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Red Queen: The Substrate Wars 1 by [Kinnison, Jeb]
Audible Narration
Playing...
Loading...
Paused
Kindle App Ad

Red Queen: The Substrate Wars 1 Kindle Edition

4.1 out of 5 stars 27 customer reviews
Book 1 of 3 in The Substrate Wars (3 Book Series)

See all 4 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Price
New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
$0.99

Length: 332 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled Audible Narration:
Audible Narration
Switch back and forth between reading the Kindle book and listening to the Audible narration with Whispersync for Voice. Add narration for a reduced price of $7.49 when you buy the Kindle book.
Ready
Matchbook Price: $0.00 What's this?
For thousands of qualifying books, your past, present, and future print-edition purchases now lets you buy the Kindle edition for $2.99 or less. (Textbooks available for $9.99 or less.)
  • Thousands of books are eligible, including current and former best sellers.
  • Look for the Kindle MatchBook icon on print and Kindle book detail pages of qualifying books. You can also see more Kindle MatchBook titles here or look up all of your Kindle MatchBook titles here.
  • Read the Kindle edition on any Kindle device or with a free Kindle Reading App.
  • Print edition must be purchased new and sold by Amazon.com.
  • Gifting of the Kindle edition at the Kindle MatchBook price is not available.
Learn more about Kindle MatchBook.

click to open popover

Complete Series

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.


Editorial Reviews

Review

4.5 Stars: RED QUEEN is a tempered look at politics and science in the near future.... As a new school year ramps up on campus, Justin Smith began another day at the Artificial Life lab running ALife simulations on human evolution. The lab was a sanctuary from the political divisiveness on campus and, for that matter, across the nation. A nuclear terrorist attack in New York City some years ago resulted in a government crackdown on dissent as well as a depressed economy where educational grants were drying up except for those labs who "cooperated" with the government. However, Justin's lab was soon to transform itself from a sanctuary to the center of resistance to the government... [with the] discovery of a computer program so powerful that it could be weaponized, tilting the balance of power even further into the hands of an already repressive government. The race to keep this mega weapon out of government hands leads Justin, Steve and a small cadre of students to secure the weapon and fight for their freedom from a tyrannical Dept. of Homeland Security.
~IndieReader. 

NEMO'S WORLD: THE SUBSTRATE WARS 2 
"5 STARS. Good science fiction is usually about humanity rather than deep space or death rays. NEMO'S WORLD is well-written science fiction that harkens back to the golden age of Heinlein and Asimov." ~IndieReader. 

SHRIVERS: THE SUBSTRATE WARS 3
A third adventure in a sci-fi series follows idealistic rebels who can manipulate reality using quantum portals... Kinnison (Nemo's World, 2015, etc.) bursts wide the scope of his continuously rewarding series in this latest entry. As in the previous novels, he challenges his characters to evolve morally as well as technologically; when Justin and Steve appear secretive about the discoveries on an alien ship, NASA astronaut Maddy Rahama reminds them why they fought the United States when she says, "I thought you guys were going to be the most transparent government ever." Keen sociological insights are crucial to the plot, as when Justin says, "Just because no one goes hungry, doesn't mean people stop envying and hating." The narrative, despite approaching war, proves riveting in the classic mold of Isaac Asimov and Robert A. Heinlein's works, in which action never eclipses heart and intellect. A novel about a galactic threat that offers an addictive barrage of lofty ideas infused with soul. Kirkus Reviews

From the Author

The world of Red Queen is just a decade or two away, and looks very much like the world we live in, just a few steps worse. In the tradition of Heinlein's If This Goes On--, I have extrapolated from current trends and imagined the politics that result. The authoritarian tendencies we see in modern western states will probably be reversed at some point--but what if they just keep getting worse? A more serious terrorist incident might lead to even more restrictions on freedom and privacy. And that's where Red Queen begins.

Product details

  • File Size: 2794 KB
  • Print Length: 332 pages
  • Publisher: Jeb Kinnison Publishing (December 8, 2014)
  • Publication Date: December 8, 2014
  • Sold by: Amazon Digital Services LLC
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B00QSP3JTU
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Lending: Enabled
  • Screen Reader: Supported
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #515,021 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?


Customer reviews

Top customer reviews

on February 4, 2015
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 14, 2014
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 22, 2015
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 8, 2015
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Most recent customer reviews

Set up an Amazon Giveaway

Red Queen: The Substrate Wars 1
Amazon Giveaway allows you to run promotional giveaways in order to create buzz, reward your audience, and attract new followers and customers. Learn more about Amazon Giveaway
This item: Red Queen: The Substrate Wars 1