Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Year So Far STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book House Cleaning TheTick TheTick TheTick  Introducing Echo Show Limited-time offer: All-New Fire HD 8 Kids Edition, starting at $99.99 Kindle Oasis Trade it in. Fund the next. Tailgating STEMClubToys17_gno

Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:$6.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 66 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 124 reviews
on December 15, 2010
The latest CD from the band Heart is an absolute gold mine of classic hard hitting rock mixed in with epic ballads and just about everything you can imagine inbetween.

This album takes the listener on an incredible audio journey, transporting them back to the days of old when Barracuda was blasting over the airwaves. There are many songs reminiscent of these earlier works but the music also continues the listener on the roller - coaster, topsy turvey, ride, through the band change lineups - towards the present day.

By the end of the CD the listener is left wanting more.

It's quite difficult to either pick fault with this CD and /or choose a "Favourite" off the album. All the songs are played with 100% effort and input from the band and so the listener reaps the audio rewards.

The style of music Heart first shared with the world is alive and shines through on this album. To say it's worth a listen is perhaps an insult - It's worth many, many listens.

Red Velvet Car is as smooth as silk, as hard as nails, as epic as Mount Everest and as grandiose as the Taj Mahal. It is quintecentially - HEART at their best.

Red Velvet Car - Track Listings

1) There You Go
2) WTF
3) Red Velvet Car
4) Queen City
5) Hey You
6) Wheels
7) Safronia's Mark
8) Death Valley
9) Sunflower
10)Sand
--Bonus Tracks--
Closer To The Sun
In The Cool
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 19, 2010
If you are a big Heart fan, this is more than worth the $8 street price it is selling for. Ann, Nancy and this version of the band (yet another one) do sound great.

This album is OK but not as good as Jupiter's Darling. It rocks but lacks songs that measure up to Heart mega-hits. Also there are no fantastic covers like the ones on recent Heart releases.

And once again Heart music production and output seems confused: producer and band dujour.

Remember Jupiter's Darling? It was released in June 2004 about 2 years after they were touring and playing 4 GREAT new songs that they were saying would be on the upcoming new album. Ann ended one concert saying "let's go make a record". Two years later when Jupiter finally came out, the 4 new songs were gone as was the GREAT version of the band that had been playing them. To add to the confusion, Heart released a 2 year old Alive In Seattle DVD at the same time as Jupiter. That DVD is the only place you can see and hear the former version of the band and the 4 new songs that had disappeared.

Red Velvet Car's release does seem far less bizarre than Jupiter's, but still...... Red Velvet Car was released 8/31/10 with 10 tracks. Then up pops Red Velvet Car Deluxe Edition. It seems to be exactly the same as the first CD but with 2 more tracks and a street price of about twice as much. Say what!! Why not just one good 12 track CD?

Wouldn't the world of music be a far, far more exciting place if Heart's music plans and production even came a little close to matching their enormous talent. I know I'd get chills from what they should be capable of producing, with less seemingly constant change.
33 comments| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 1, 2012
Originally formed in 1963 as an all-male band, Heart rose to fame after sisters Ann and Nancy Wilson joined in the early `70s and the band released its debut, Dreamboat Annie, to great acclaim in 1975. Hits "Crazy on You" and "Magic Man" established Heart's beat up the charts. The band has since undergone multiple re-orgs and a major side project (The Lovemongers), but many hits later, the Wilson sisters remain true to their sound and fury. Red Velvet Car may lack a "What about Love" or a "Barracuda" (although "WTF" comes close), but the Wilsons' cohesion is still undeniable. Several songs lean toward the acoustic fare that started the duo off 35 years ago. Several dip into bluesy riffs that provide a great foil for Ann's still-siren of a voice. "Wheels" is a new ride for Heart, driven over pothole drums and chased by a nipping cymbal gambol. Clearly, the Heart of rock `n' roll is still beating. ***1/2
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 10, 2013
I love Red Velvet Car. It reminds me of the great first five albums Heart put out. But I have to ask-Why did they stick a live version of "Never" in the middle of the disc? For me, it just seems so out of place. I haven't really kept my dislike of their 80's stuff a secret, so to me, this song just takes away from the whole continuity of the album. Now, "Magic Man" live at the end is another story. You just can't beat that song live. It rocks, and every time I hear it live, I say "that was a song meant to be played live". It sounds better than the studio version in my opinion. Anyway, on my playlist I just take out "Never", and the album is just the way it should be.
I love Heart! They never needed anyone else to write their stuff. They are great with their own stuff. I guess they had to do it during the arena rock, big hair days, but for me, I just didn't get it. Welcome back to the good ol days ladies, and congrats to you for getting into the RRHOF! woohoo!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 27, 2017
Product: Heart one of my favorites groups. Shipment arrival: Extremely late.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 23, 2017
If you are a true fan of Heart, you will love this CD.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 16, 2016
I was a little worried after Jupiter's Darling. I'm a lifelong Heart fan but, especially the title song, gave me hope. I really missed these ladies.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 9, 2010
I was FORTUNATE to see Heart on tour this summer. SIZZLING! Ann still has the voice and Nancy can play! They played a lot of "Red Velvet Car" including the title track.
Normally, I DREAD the "new stuff" when I see the older bands perform....UGH!
It just is missing SOMETHING. Not so for Heart. While this release is certainly not
as GOOD as their debut....its a FINE LISTEN. It's clear that Ann can still sing VERY WELL, and is the "intriguing" creative songwriter, we LOVE. There isn't a track
like "Barracuda" here, but the CD has some GOOD cuts like "Queen City" and "WTF".
( I have to disagree with some other reviewer's trashing of the lyrics....nothing WORSE, in my opinion, then the every other worded profanities that pass for lyrics
in "today's music". Ann Wilson is an accomplished lyricist and a "poet".)
With Heart....you'll never get the "headscratching" lyrics of the classic rockers,
but you "DO GET" a FINE LISTEN from a band that even with some new members
can still ROCK OUT. REFRESHING....considering what is out there these days...
Heart is a FINE inspiration to all of us 70's rock fans who played Heart's albums
till the grooves wore, and partied until dawn.
Yes, Heart "Rolls On", maybe now with all the original members, but Ann and Nancy STILL ROCK! If you are FORTUNATE to see them LIVE do it! Then kick back and listen to this very "smooth sounding" audio journey....LOVE 'EM! FOREVER!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 21, 2016
Ann and Nancy still rocking after all these years
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 24, 2015
I love this album... Heart is a great group that never stopped touring and recording albums.... They have been inducted to the Rock &I Roll Hall of Fame
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here