& FREE Shipping. Details
Only 1 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com. Gift-wrap available.
Reflections has been added to your Cart
+ $3.99 shipping
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by Decluttr Store
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: Shipped next day from GA, United States. All products are inspected and playing quality guaranteed (excluding any digital content). Our friendly multilingual customer service team will be happy to resolve your queries.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon


4.5 out of 5 stars 2 customer reviews

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
New from Used from
Audio CD, July 15, 2014
$10.03 $4.53

Unlimited access to 50 million songs
Try it now

Editorial Reviews


"Vitkauskaite's performance of each of the score's five movements [of Ravel's Miroirs] comes alive with scintillating pianism and a kaleidoscope of colors. Listen, for example to the peaks of foam that aerate the surface of her Une barque sur l océan, or to the tintinnabulations of her La vallée des cloches, in which she so effectively differentiates her touch and pedaling to simulate the varying tolling, chiming, and tinkling bell sounds a remarkable display of technique and sensitivity to Ravel's brilliant tone painting... Vitkauskaite's reading of the piece [Beethoven Op. 101]...leaves no doubt that she is a Beethoven interpreter of penetrating insight. Her phrasing breathes in a way that makes Beethoven's rising and falling gestures sound truly conversational... Rasa Vitkauskaite captures the grotesqueries of Liebermann's gothic wardens of evil with both chilling and mischievously wicked effect... The Sonata in G Minor by Argentinean composer Carlos Vicente Guastavino (1912-2000) is a work I'd not previously heard. Despite its having been written in 1945, its first two movements are ear-caressing, somewhat nostalgic-sounding music of extraordinary beauty in an autumnal Romantic style that bears more than a passing resemblance to the late piano pieces by Brahms. In contrast, the third movement is in a much more modernistic and virtuosic style that momentarily channels Rachmaninoff and sounds like it comes from or belongs to a different work. The entire sonata, by the way, lasts fewer than 10 minutes. Nonetheless, enough of its Romantic impulses and gorgeous piano writing come across in this deeply felt performance by Rasa Vitkauskaite to motivate me to explore more of this fascinating composer's music. All around, this is a most intelligently programmed and beautifully realized recorded debut recital, complete with copiously footnoted booklet analyses of each work authored by Vitkauskaite and Jan Swafford. Ongaku's impressive recorded sound from the Rogers Center for the Arts at Merrimack College in North Andover, Massachusetts, completes the package for this enthusiastically recommended release." --Fanfare, Jerry Dubbins

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. Miroirs: I. Noctuelles
  2. Miroirs: II. Oiseaux tristes
  3. Miroirs: III. Une barque sur l'océan
  4. Miroirs: IV. Alborada del gracioso
  5. Miroirs: V. La vallée des cloches
  6. Gargoyles, Op. 29: I. Presto
  7. Gargoyles, Op. 29: II. Adagio semplice, ma con molto rubato
  8. Gargoyles, Op. 29: III. Allegro moderato
  9. Gargoyles, Op. 29: IV. Presto feroce
  10. Sonata in A Major, Op. 101: I. Etwas lebhaft und mit der innigsten Empfindung (Allegretto ma non troppo)
  11. Sonata in A Major, Op. 101: II. Lebhaft. Marschmäßig (Vivace alla Marcia)
  12. Sonata in A Major, Op. 101: III. Langsam und sehnsuchtsvoll (Adagio, ma non troppo, con affetto)
  13. Sonata in A Major, Op. 101: IV. Geschwind, doch nicht zu sehr, und mit Entschlossenheit (Allegro)
  14. Sonatina in G Minor: I. Allegretto
  15. Sonatina in G Minor: II. Lento muy expresivo
  16. Sonatina in G Minor: III. Presto

Product details

  • Performer: Rasa Vitkauskaite
  • Composer: Maurice Ravel, Lowell Liebermann, Ludwig van Beethoven, Carlos Guastavino
  • Audio CD (July 15, 2014)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Ongaku Records
  • Average Customer Review: 4.5 out of 5 stars 2 customer reviews
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #634,631 in CDs & Vinyl (See Top 100 in CDs & Vinyl)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?
    If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Amazon's Rasa Vitkauskaite Store

2 customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

Showing 1-2 of 2 reviews

November 11, 2016
Format: Audio CD
One person found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
November 27, 2015
Format: Audio CD
2 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse

Set up an Amazon Giveaway

Amazon Giveaway allows you to run promotional giveaways in order to create buzz, reward your audience, and attract new followers and customers. Learn more about Amazon Giveaway
This item: Reflections