Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Refrigeration and Air Conditioning Technology (Available Titles CourseMate)
Amazon Vehicles Up to 80 Percent Off Textbooks Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Songs of Summer Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Totes Summer-Event-Garden Amazon Cash Back Offer TheKicks TheKicks TheKicks  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Celine Dion Water Sports

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
82
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:$155.39+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on August 6, 2009
This book is super. Having been an HVAC/R student, technician, and now teacher of the subject, I must say that Refrigeration & Air Conditioning Technology, 6th edition is the de facto bible of the HVAC/R field.

Two other authors have been added since the first edition in 1989: Tomczyk (2000) and Silberstein (2008). The updates on this book only get better and better, continuing to cover more areas like the new refrigeration laws and even green energy.

All technical questions are clearly explained, and in the back, there are hypothetical service questions related to real-life situations.

This book is a must! If you are an instructor of the subject like I am, advise your students to own a copy of it. You won't be steering them in the wrong direction.
0Comment| 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 9, 2008
This book is great for beginners as well as experienced technicians. Every explanation is detailed with pictures and graphs. All types of refrigeration applications are covered with the how to detail for installing and understanding every component in the system, including helpful tips and safety recommendations.
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 7, 2012
If you want a head full of worthless knowledge buy this book. Not one HVAC/R mechanic in a hundred-thousand knows the meaning of words like "adiabatic" and "enthalpy." You can master this book and not be able to fix a single air conditioner. Moreover, the practical information in this book is wrong. It tells you for brazing copper tubing to set the oxygen regulator to 10-14 psi, and the acetlyene regulator to 5-10 psi. These settings are for cutting steel, not brazing copper. In reality they both oxygen and acetylene should be set at 4 or 5 psi. Moreover, they do not tell you how to purge your oxygen and acetylene hoses. They don't tell you to stand to the side when you turn them on, and to turn them on slowly. They do not advise you to use flashback arrestors.

Moveover, anyone using an oxy-acytelene torch to make HVAC/R repairs is crazy. Today, smart techs us a Turbo torch with an MC tank. Which would you rather carry up a ladder through a small opening in a roof, a bulky 50 pound oxy-acytelene rig, or a 5 pound Turbo torch with an MC tank. The guys who wrote this book never worked in the field, never used a cordless drill, and must be in their late 90s.

All the material is out of date. HVAC/R techs haven't used halide leak detectors in 50 years. None of the practical information you need to repair an air conditioning system is in this book. It doesn't even teach you how to wire or diagnose most modern day thermostats.

There is nothing in this book about hermetic analyzers, how to use a hydrolic swaging tool, modern tubing benders, K-type thermocouples, the ZebraStat, the ZebraStat ECM analyzer, how to check refrigerant for the presence of acid, moisture, and non-condesibles, how to test a reversing valve or bring a dead one back to life, where systems typically leak, how to use a flourescent dye to find a leak, the limitations of infrared thermometers, how to use an infrared thermal imager, and how to obtain 120 volts for your vacuum pump when you are evacuating a roof top unit. They don't tell you how many CFM your system should have. They don't teach you how to calculate Manual "J," or even what it means. They don't teach you how to unclog a condensate drain. They don't teach you how to install an a/c system or install a condensate drain. They don't discuss condensate drain safety shut-offs. They don't discuss how to clean a dirty coil.

They teach you the operation of a King Valve, which you are not likely to ever see. They don't really discuss the kind of service valves that exist today. They don't discuss how to install a saddle valve, a reversing valve, or the advantage of installing access ports at the air handler.

When you go to a commercial system and water is dripping from the duct work they don't tell you the likely cause. In fact, they really don't teach you how to diagnose what is wrong with HVAC/R systems. The examples they do give are woefully incomplete.

I teach air conditioning. I found this book hopelessly out of day, and unreadable. The authors brag that they are members of RSES. Anyone who pays a few dollars can be a member of RSES. I am a RSES Certified Master, which itself means absolutely nothing. The book is good as a paperweight.
1717 comments| 31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 4, 2009
This book is well written colorfully illustrated. This 6th edition contains the most recent information on R-410a and it's application. I have passed the EPA section 608 Universal Certification and plan to use the book to further my knowledge. In my opinion this book it is the best for HVAC training. I discovered it at our local library but it was usuall checked out when I needed it--- so I decided to buy it.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 8, 2014
This review is about the integrity of the book as well as that of the authors.
Section 9, Pages 1145 thru 1248 (3 units/105 pages on Domestic appliances)
are missing from this book. That's correct, 105 pages (3 chapters) were
intentionally omitted in the printing.
There is a notation page that indicates that section 9 can be found on a back of book
CD that is proprietary to Microsoft and only pdf files can be read on Mac. It seems
this is an intended device to sell an instructional series of DVD's. ($1,500)?

Most of the book is in the book but some of it is not????? I guess the rumors are true,
there are no more standards. And this book is a classic example.

I'm not new to HVAC/R. Not hardly. I bought this book for reference on the new
refrigerants and their characteristics and will not read other parts.
However, I believe that a book (the printed page) should be bound together as a
complete work and without exception.
Setting a part of it aside in a different format as a sales pitch for something else is
offensive. It becomes more so when you consider that CD/DVD technology is
obsolete. The world is now digital and newer computers no longer support CD/DVD
medium.
Had I known I would not have purchased it on principle. The fact that I purchased it
used is not much consolation. I would not recommend it. In fact, any book on R/AC
that is complete in the printing cover to cover, will be a better book, for just that reason.
I also agree to some extent with another critical review. There are parts missing that
should not be and this is typical of a book by instructors who have never been out of
a classroom. The best teachers will always be the ones that actually do the work.
Imagine buying a dictionary or other reference books done this way.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 3, 2014
It's a good book. I have no problem with the actual book, but the copy we received had parts cut out of pages, most in the table of contents, which is very important to have intact. There were also dark orange highlighter markings on many passages that made it difficult to read the text. None of this was mentioned before we purchased it. The book was not in good shape. We ended up having to send it back, and then had to pay for the return shipping.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 11, 2009
THIS BOOK SHOULD BE CARRIED ALONGSIDE YOUR TOOLS...
THE COMPANION CD-ROM THAT COMES WITH IT IS ALSO USEFUL AND VERY HELPFUL....
IT IS UPDATED, AND PICTURES/DIAGRAMS ARE VERY CLEAR AND CONCISE....
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 21, 2013
depending on what type of refrigeration your getting into,i would get a book more directed at a specific area of study,this covers ,for me alot of unneeded and useless info,and for the weight of this book is a burden,if an instructor told you to get it i guess you dont have a choice,but look int the books by PROKUP MEDIA,if you want to the point info with illustrations and explanations
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 3, 2011
The Refrigeration and Air Conditioning Technology textbook by Delmar Cengage Learning is a good general text for the HVACR field.
We found it to be an excellent resource for the Community Business College online HVACR training program. Learning this subject matter through distance education can be challenging and so our online instructors took great care in selecting this textbook for inclusion as a program resource. We also use this for the short enrichment courses available for Heating, Ventilation, Air Conditioning and Refrigeration technicians in the field and have received a lot of positive feedback from them.
Two obvious strengths are the clear and precise illustrations and practical descriptions. The writing style is reader friendly and the examples are very good.
One of the biggest challenges is to teach the physics and the math skills required in the HVACR industry and this text does a very nice job with explaining and illustrating both of those skills.
It is a hefty text with over 1,400 pages, which makes it a little less than easily portable.
The accompanying CD ROM also provides and added dimension to help readers understand the concepts and basic theory behind the HVACR elements.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 30, 2010
I am a new A/C tech in the field I would not be without this book to help you on your way
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse