BCA Month Beauty Ali: A Life Hallo nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch New Album by st vincent Electronics Gift Guide $69.99 Handmade Tote Bags hgg17 Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Baby Driver Available to Rent Baby Driver Available to Rent Baby Driver Available to Rent  Three new members of the Echo family All-New Fire HD 8 Kids Edition, starting at $129.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop Now FFII_gno

Remedy
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:$14.78+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on February 1, 2017
Album Rocks!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 19, 2008
This is a collection of house and downtempo tracks. There are about eight solid songs, which make for good listening but are nothing exceptional or even particularly memorable - in other words, you won't be humming any hooks the next day. My music collection could easily be without it. However, if you are able to snatch a used copy of this release on Amazon at $.50 as it appears now, it might be worth your money.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 15, 2011
Honestly, I've only had the album for around a week or so and think its great. I've never come across a Basement Jaxx song that I haven't liked in some way. Had Rooty since '07 and love that album too. Definitely need to acquire the whole discography
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 21, 2000
This is a great CD... I am also a MOBY fan, and in general have liked Techno beats for some time.. this is fresh, fun and cool... esp Jump N' Shout!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 14, 1999
This CD certainly does not live up to the hype that preceded it. It does little to advance electronic music. There are a couple of standout songs, but overall this CD is filled with rather generic house. I'm disappointed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 6, 2001
This is a rare album that is great all around, and at the same time is able to incorporate many styles of music into on package. There are all sorts of dance styles mixed in this album, but they all add up to one good time. This is one that just gets better and better as you listen to it. Definitely a great party album. The Funky dance levels are just off the wall in this release, and it can't help but to put a smile across your face when you hear some of these songs.
Most of these are really good house tracks. Rendez-vu, Yo-Yo, Red Alert fit in this category. Jump n' Shout is a really funky track that'll really make you want to jump n' shout. Bingo Bango changes things up a little and gives you a more salsa, Latin-type dance number that's lots of fun while Stop 4 Love is a slower, extremely beautiful track. Things get a little dark with Don't Give Up, but then Being with U gives you a nice cool-down, chill-out-from-all-the-dancing, track.
All and all this album is all about having a good time and getting up to dance. If you aren't dancing when listening to this one, or at least you're not wanting to get up and dance, then I don't know what is wrong with you. All and all one of my best CDs. Compared to Rooty, I think Rooty has some better tracks, but Remedy is definitely better on the whole. A whole lot of good stuff for a whole lot of people. This album seems to be a lot more complete then Rooty. My recommendation is if you like dance music, then pick this up.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 13, 2015
I like a lot of their various singles, but this is the only album of their's that I absolutely love. Unlike alot of their other work, the vocalists that they enlist for these songs actually elevate the music (where as much of Kish Kash and later albums are hindered by them...). This is just a fun, "dumb", excting listen from start to finish. I highly recommend it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 30, 2000
REMEDY is a great album, full of dance rhythms, sublime soundscapes, and a display of provocative song writing skills.
The songs in this album are full hypnotic beats that if nothing more, get your head bobbing. Known for the singles "Rendez-vu" and "Red Alert," which are the two most danceable songs on the album, there are quite a few more. "Stop 4 Love" I wouldn't know of that many people could dance to it, but it is absolutely beautiful as a love song without lyrics. If there is music that can transport a consciousness, this song is it. "Don't Give Up" is another love song, this time in a more Bjork/Tricky-esque attitude. One lyric says, "...don't pull the cracks in your mind apart" which is exactly what the song sounds like, digital cracks expanding into valleys while the singers' voices weave in and out of the music.
If you have seen any of Basement Jaxx's videos, such as for "Red Alert" (both versions) or for "Rendez-Vu," you can see these musicians also have a great sense of humor which is a great in electronic/techno music. Everything isn't all break beats and synthesized melodies, these guys know how to party with their music.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 9, 2000
I'm a long time Jaxx freak, but havent loved everything that these two have put out. This album was a chancey buy and after my second go around thru the track list, I must say this is definitely one of my favorites of all time.
Felix and Simon shine so brightly on this album. Their creativity is absolutely ASTOUNDING! They both are really maturing in their craft and it is very apparent with this release.
From the very first song to the last, there is always something new to catch with every listen. Ranging from the super-simplistic groove of "Being with You" to the ultra-complex/how-in-the-world-did-they-do-THAT? layered jam, like "Always Be There", this CD delivers.
I believe that most house fanatics will fall in love with this album, as I have. A few of the songs have taken a few listens to grow on me but they are all great.. and the cameo appearances by DJ Sneak and Gemini were an excellent surprise.
I just wish that the flipside of "Same old Show" (on the vinyl) would have made it to the CD. Maybe it will be on the next full length...
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 18, 2003
when you read the reviews of this cd, dont disregard the ones that gave it 5 stars and said things like "omg! this is the best ever! ive never danced so much in my life! this is mad-phat!"
the reason they sound so incoherent and excitable is probably because they are listening to the album while writing the review.
you see, they just can't help it. this album takes all the words and coherence out of your mouth. all you can do is "wooooooo!"
youve already read (or will soon) about which tunes are hits, etc. so i wont bother. i will mention that "same old show" is a nifty little spin on house music. you see, most dance tunes have a 4 or 8 (double 4, you see?) count. they go 1, 2, 3, 4, repeat.
Same Old Show goes 7 and repeats. you dont get a grasp on that until you hear it. its a rather nifty effect.
anyways that aside, everyone either loves or hates the BJaxx.. i dont understand the haters, but i guess everyone gets their opinion.
this is a dance album that sounds like it was done live.
take it or leave it, its an essential.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Scars
$7.78

Need customer service? Click here