Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Remedy
Amazon Vehicles Back to School Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Coffee Totes Amazon Cash Back Offer ElvisandNixon ElvisandNixon ElvisandNixon  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Florida Georgia Line Shop Now

Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:$10.98+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on July 1, 2014
Old Crow Medicine Show is back with a new album that will please all the long time fans of the group as well no doubt attract a whole new group of fans. The new album is titled "Remedy" and is I think the sister album to Old Crow's last album "Carry Me Back". It is very similar to "Carry Me Back" with a mixture of high intensity fast beat songs combined with some slow thoughtful numbers. It is like "Remedy" picks up right where Old Crow's last album left off. It should be no surprise that this new contribution by OCMS is very much like "Carry Me Back" as the same producer, Ted Hutt, is back guiding Old Crow on "Remedy". As a result the sound quality on "Remedy" is as outstanding as it was on "Carry Me Back".

As for Old Crow themselves they sound as good as ever. For many of us long time fans of OCMS we were interested to see just how this album would sound as this is their first album they have made without Willie Watson as part of the group. Although Willie had left the group before "Carry Me Back" had been released he still was a main contributor to that album. On "Remedy" I do think the sound and even feel of the CD is a little different without Willie in on the action. Still that doesn't make this album any less enjoyable to play or any less good as any of their previous albums that Willie was a part of. And as always with this album OCMS likes to take bluegrass music and bend it, twist it and shake it all up and take bluegrass to a whole other level. If you are not familiar with Old Crow Medicine Show and are expecting them to play the kind of bluegrass that Bill Monroe or Lester Flatts and Earl Scruggs use to play you will be in for a culture shock then. As I mentioned in a review I wrote on Amazon about Old Crow Medicine Show's album "O.C.M.S.": This ain't your Daddy's bluegrass! On the other hand for us long time fans of OCMS we know what to expect and love it. And for those not familiar with Old Crow but are willing to listen with an open mind, especially those who say they don't like bluegrass, you may find yourselves becoming converts after you take a dose of the "Remedy"!
22 comments| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 1, 2014
No slowing down OCMS. They just keep on pumping out kick-butt bluegrass music in overdrive. Listeners of "Carry Me Back" will already know what to expect on "Remedy." The part old-timey, part country, part folk, part fast-paced bluegrass music is alive and well here. The 13 tracks offer up a good variety of musical styles, with the most prominent being bluegrass. The musicianship is absolutely superb. The harmonizing is great as usual. "Remedy" is a no-brainer for fans of OCMS, and should definitely be given a listen by fans of the aforementioned genres. It is going to get a lot of play in my CD player this summer and beyond.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 2, 2014
Excellent new album from OCMS. I did initially feel like this album sounded a bit more "country" than previous albums, but the more I listen to it, the more I love it. There is a great mix of mellow songs along with raucous songs that you make you want to dance, as we've come to expect from this band. The album begins with a song that is classically rowdy and infectious as most of their songs are. The album contains a near perfect mix of ballads and songs that are fast paced and exciting. Each one has an interesting story or message for the listener to ponder. Finally, the last song on the album "The Warden" features gorgeous 7 part harmony that everyone has been talking about, that only leaves me wanting to hear more and play it again.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 23, 2014
It's Old Crow so you should buy it then decide if you like it. The lead song, a thought written by the hand of Bob Dylan and passed to Ketch to finish up is kind of a different direction for OCMS and more of a modern country song. It feels like a radio hit. The rest of the album feels more like OCMS should. This is a wonderful album as all of their work is. This is the premier Old Time American Music band. I say that because I love this type of music. There are many other artists out there old and new, but few bring a modern youthful vibe to what still feels traditional. Solid 5 stars, you won't find this quality and originality on any Los Angeles country radio. And, F Hootie, a lot.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 2, 2014
This is probably my favorite album from Old Crow so far. Yes, it is different to not hear Willie and it's not as simple as Eutaw or Greetings From Wawa, but it doesn't make it any less enjoyable. I'm really enjoying this direction the band is going. There's not a single dud on this album. My highlights: "Sweet Amarillo", "Dearly Departed Friend", "Firewater", "Brave Boys", "Tennessee Bound", and "The Warden." Overall, this is a very strong album.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 6, 2016
One complaint I continue to see of this album is that it sounds too much like hot country. The folks who make this point obviously haven't listened to much hot country (please see Luke Bryan's "Kick the Dust Up" for reference. Don't do it while you're driving; you may be tempted to careen your vehicle off of a cliff). There are some polished harmonies, a bit of pedal steel, some drums and percussion, some shakers - all elements that have been present in country music for over the past 50 years. But, I think recording through antiquated gear to have an old-timey sound is more forced and fake than embracing some iconic elements of a genre. This album sounds just as they do live: energetic, passionate, and talented! It's an honest representation with well-structured songs and good lyrics to boot. People seem to hold it against them that their vocals and musicianship have improved over time. Ironically, Tennessee Pusher caused the same gripes, but that album still had Willie, and hardly had a polished sound at all. Apparently, in order to stay true to your original fans, you have to record the same way you did when you were 19 and had no money.

I think lots of folks are quick to jump on the bandwagon with the sentiment of "RAH! WAGON WHEEL IS POPULAR, THEREFORE WE CANNOT LIKE IT! WILLIE LEFT AND NOW WE HATE THEM! GRAB THE TORCHES AND PITCHFORKS". We get it: it's cool to complain about Wagon Wheel "Herpa derp, Darius Rucker, derp blerp Free Bird flerp derp." I adore Willie's Old Crow songs, as do I his solo work, and I think his leaving has definitely changed the sound of the band, but I still have to say that this is a fantastic, well-written and thought-out record. The songs on "Carry Me Back" may have been more "fun" or "string band-like", but they did not have as much depth or character as many of the songs on this album. Every harmony, lick, melody, etc. on this album is intentionally placed.
For the record, I own and regularly listen to every Old Crow record, and even a bunch of terribly recorded bootleg tracks. I've seen them live more times than I can count (okay, 6 times). Feel free to let me have it in the comments. Have a great day!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Old Crow Medicine Show
"Remedy"
(ATO, 2014)
. . . .

Another solid album from Old Crow Medicine Show, who have become old-timey music's equivalent of the Stray Cats, a commercially successful, brand-name version of retro musicmaking and, as time goes by, maybe a bit slicker and more comfortable in that role. One of the band's co-founders, Willie Watson, has moved on, and perhaps not coincidentally some of their rougher, more truly ragged edges are gone, and the remaining "kooky," unruly touches are plainly self-consciously applied. That doesn't mean that this record isn't still packed with gems, with good, hummable melodies and superb musicianship throughout.

OCMS seem to have settled down a bit, concentrating on strong rhythmic and melodic work in a way that reminds me of the Pogues; also interesting is how much the lead vocals have adopted a Loudon Wainwright-ish tone... which is certainly a compliment in my book! Standout tracks include "Sweet Amarillo" (which was co-written with Bob Dylan) and "Doc's Day," a back-porchy homage to the late Doc Watson, and the country-flavored, pedal steel inflected, John Prine-ish "Dearly Departed Friend." Overall, a strong set of catchy, tuneful neo-jugband Americana... Recommended! (DJ Joe Sixpack, Slipcue Guide To Country Music)
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 6, 2014
Might be their best album yet, IMO. I really like this a lot. Couple tracks that aren't my super-favorite, but if you haven't tried OCMS, this is one of two of their albums that would be a good starting point (Carry Me Back would be the other. I know O.C.M.S is good too, and Wagon Wheel is an amazeballs song, but for full album, I'm sticking with Remedy or Carry Me Back if I have to pick one. Fortunately, I don't really have to pick one. And neither should you - this is a fantastic band, buy their stuff (but DO NOT START WITH BIG IRON WORLD - that one's a bit of a mixed bag at best). If you already love them, you should already own this and don't need my opinion.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 16, 2015
"Remedy" is not just the Grammy winner for Best Folk Album, it is one of my favorite albums in a long while. No one can help but feel better when it's over, and want more. Ketch Secor, Critter Fuqua, and the others truly prove they are 'the best string band you've ever heard,' ancryd this album will give you a laugh, a cry, and a good-stomping time!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 21, 2015
Probably their best yet. Wild, raucous bluegrass with modern redneck writing. In my opinion, this is the best modern bluegrass band performing today, old time sound with totally modern lyrics, white trash at its finest. I hope they keep coming out with more.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$9.99
$9.82
$8.99
$10.99

Need customer service? Click here