Buying Options

Unlimited reading. Over 1 million titles. Learn more
Read and Listen for Free
OR
Kindle Price: $4.49

Save $10.46 (70%)

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Buy for others

Give as a gift or purchase for a team or group.Learn more

Buying and sending eBooks to others


Select quantity
Buy and send eBooks
Recipients can read on any device

Additional gift options are available when buying one eBook at a time.  Learn more


These ebooks can only be redeemed by recipients in the US. Redemption links and eBooks cannot be resold.

Quantity: 
This item has a maximum order quantity limit.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

<Embed>
Kindle App Ad
The Rented Mule by [Bobby Cole]
Audible Sample
Playing...
Loading...
Paused

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.


The Rented Mule Kindle Edition

4.1 out of 5 stars 1,943 ratings

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Price
New from Used from
Kindle
$4.49

Length: 509 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled Audible book:
Audible book
Switch back and forth between reading the Kindle book and listening to the Audible book with Whispersync for Voice. Add the Audible book for a reduced price of $1.99 when you buy the Kindle book.
Available
click to open popover

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
    Apple
  • Android
    Android
  • Windows Phone
    Windows Phone
  • Click here to download from Amazon appstore
    Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

kcpAppSendButton

From the Editor

Bobby Cole is the epitome of the Southern gentleman. Gracious, modest, and polite—he’s the only author who’s ever addressed me as “sir”—the guy exudes gentility and charm. And yet he creates these characters who do very bad things, and I love every minute of it.

The Rented Mule uses the classic Hitchcockian motif of the falsely accused man trying to clear his name and avoid getting killed in the process. When we first meet successful business executive and family man Cooper Dixon, he appears to be living the dream of the New South. But soon he’s knee-deep in blackmail, kidnapping, murder charges, and life on the lam, trying to outfox his enemies and figure out why so many people seem to want him dead.

The Rented Mule is also full of supporting characters so fully realized, idiosyncratic, and just plain fun that I wished they could have their own spin-off. You’ll definitely want more of this gang that couldn’t shoot straight: Clarence, Maynard, Jesse Ray, and Jenny (their names alone warrant it). The Rented Mule goes down so easy, it isn’t until you’ve finished that you realize how intricate and tightly wound the whole story was.

One last bit of trivia about the wonderful Bobby Cole: he’s the only author who’s ever offered to take me turkey hunting. Believe me, I was tempted—but I just can’t pull off camouflage at this weight.

- Terry Goodman, Acquiring Editor

Amazon Business : For business-only pricing, quantity discounts and FREE Shipping. Register a free business account

Editorial Reviews

About the Author

Bobby Cole is a native of Montgomery, Alabama, and president of Mossy Oak® Biologic®. Additionally, he is an avid wildlife manager, hunter, and active supporter of the Catch-A-Dream™ Foundation. He lives with his wife and daughter in West Point, Mississippi. Bobby is also the author of the novels The Dummy Line and Moon Underfoot.

Review

"As he demonstrated in his debut, The Dummy Line, Cole has a quick-paced, winning style, dexterously juggling multiple points of view. For fans of Carl Hiaasen or Elmore Leonard." —Library Journal --This text refers to the paperback edition.

Product details

Customer reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
4.1 out of 5
1,943 customer ratings
How does Amazon calculate star ratings?
Reviewed in the United States on May 29, 2017
Verified Purchase
5 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on March 3, 2014
Verified Purchase
20 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on July 11, 2019
Verified Purchase

Top international reviews

A Dawson
5.0 out of 5 stars A book to keep you guessing
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on November 11, 2014
Verified Purchase
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Bychance
5.0 out of 5 stars A page turner
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on March 14, 2014
Verified Purchase
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
bonjovi
5.0 out of 5 stars Worker and Slacker
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on October 3, 2014
Verified Purchase
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
jack scoltock
5.0 out of 5 stars This was a good story. I loved all the characters
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on October 12, 2014
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Dorothy
5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping storyline
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on April 3, 2014
Verified Purchase
2 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
adamp
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good read
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on November 11, 2015
Verified Purchase
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Nipper11
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on October 11, 2014
Verified Purchase
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Gordon Dawson
5.0 out of 5 stars vERY GOOD READ
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on October 11, 2014
Verified Purchase
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
mama cass
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on December 30, 2015
Verified Purchase
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
jaykay
5.0 out of 5 stars In the Patterson league
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on August 25, 2016
Verified Purchase
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
yasmin neil
3.0 out of 5 stars Good
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on October 14, 2014
Verified Purchase
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Mona Flynn
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on March 18, 2015
Verified Purchase
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Out of Africa
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on October 22, 2016
Verified Purchase
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
janner37
2.0 out of 5 stars This mule is more of a turkey
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on January 11, 2015
Verified Purchase
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Kindle Customer
5.0 out of 5 stars The Rented Mule
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on March 27, 2014
Verified Purchase
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse