& FREE Shipping on orders over $25. Details
Only 1 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com. Gift-wrap available.
Repercussions has been added to your Cart

Ship to:
To see addresses, please
Please enter a valid US zip code.
FREE Shipping on orders over $25. Details
Used: Very Good | Details
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: This item is very good condition. All Discs are clean. Case may have slightly shelf damage.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon


Audio CD

5.0 out of 5 stars 1 customer review

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
New from Used from
Audio CD, December 1, 2004
"Please retry"
$9.99 $13.98
$17.46 & FREE Shipping on orders over $25. Details Only 1 left in stock (more on the way). Ships from and sold by Amazon.com. Gift-wrap available.

Editorial Reviews

Hornist Jeffrey Agrell and pianist Evan Mazunik do something almost no one else does – they improvise modern classical music. Since they began collaborating in 2000 (at the University of Iowa, where Agrell is the horn professor), they have delighted audiences with their unique style – call it by turns toe-tapping, melodious, thoughtful, touching, humorous, outrageous, amazing. Since they are inventing the territory, they must compose their own material. Each piece has written-out sections, and, like frames for a picture, the composed parts surround opportunities to improvise. Many, if not most, people believe that improvisation = jazz. There are jazz influences, to be sure, but there are many ways to improvise outside of jazz styles. This is one of them, and is one answer to the question: if contemporary classical players improvised, what would it sound like?

The improvisation here is not often over set chord progressions as in jazz. . More often the direction of the melody, rhythm, and mood arises from the two performers listening and reacting to what arises in the moment. Decisions about what to play and for how long take place during performance.

In classical music, nothing is left to chance. Here, almost everything is. This music retains the complexity, beauty, and sense of classical music, but adds the pizzazz and unexpected turns of improvisation. In one sense, it is a type of ‘free improvisation’, but it always ‘sounds like music’, not random chaotic mumblings.

This is sit-up-in-your-seat music, where-did-that-come-from music, what’s-going-to-happen-next music. You might call it classical music that has gotten off the page, over the wall, and is having a night on the town. Alternative classical. Classical in denim instead of lace.

This is exhilarating musical exploration, taking you somewhere west of the Salon and east of the Saloon.

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. Repercussions
  2. Diminished Intelligence
  3. Only in Winter
  4. Oddio
  5. September Elegy
  6. Jellyfish Angst
  7. Chorea Mortis
  8. Shards of Memory
  9. Bug/Freeway
  10. Omens
  11. Five Notes
  12. Geode
  13. Tin Pot Dictator March
  14. Dirty Doloroso
  15. Don't Panic
  16. A Frog
  17. Autumn Tempest
  18. Two Winters
  19. Waterdrops
  20. Night Sonata

Product details

  • Performer: Jeffrey Agrell, Evan Mazunik
  • Audio CD (December 1, 2004)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Wildwind Records
  • ASIN: B0006VBURK
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars 1 customer review
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #2,330,844 in CDs & Vinyl (See Top 100 in CDs & Vinyl)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?
    If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Customer reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
Share your thoughts with other customers
See all verified purchase reviews

Top customer reviews

on June 11, 2005
Format: Audio CD
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Set up an Amazon Giveaway

Amazon Giveaway allows you to run promotional giveaways in order to create buzz, reward your audience, and attract new followers and customers. Learn more about Amazon Giveaway
This item: Repercussions