Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Reputation & Rarities
Amazon Vehicles Editors' Picks Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Benjamin Leftwich Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Coffee Totes Summer-Event-Garden Amazon Cash Back Offer ElvisandNixon ElvisandNixon ElvisandNixon  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis Shop Now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
40
Format: MP3 Music|Change
Price:$9.49
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on February 6, 2005
The late Dusty Springfield first collaborated with Pet Shop Boys on the 1987 hit "What Have I Done to Deserve This," which marked a huge comeback for the seasoned veteran pop singer. Three years later, they collaborated again on the album "Reputation," which features 5 tracks produced by PSB. Since its 1990 release, much of "Reputation" remains fresh, and Springfield's gusty voice gives these songs a personality of their own. Great moments can be found in the elegantly produced ballad "Nothing Has Been Proved" (featuring lush orchestral arrangements by Angelo Badalamenti and a sax solo from Courtney Pine), the I'm-having-an-affair-with-a-married-man tale in the brilliant "In Private" and the mid-tempo "Daydreaming." I happen to be a huge Pet Shop Boys fan, but that doesn't mean that they steal the entire show on this album. Dusty holds her own admirably in the Dan Hartman-produced "Send it to Me" as well as the title track helmed by Andy Richards. On the remastered version of "Reputation," we get a few additional tracks, including the full length 12 inch version of "In Private" (a Top Twenty hit in her native UK). Tragically, Dusty lost a long battle to cancer in 1999, but "Reputation" is one of many albums that proves that she was among England's most respected and revered singers.
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 20, 2002
This 1990 effort, partially produced by the British dance music duo, The Pet Shop Boys (Neil Tennant/Chris Lowe),is a strong foray for all involved. Combine wonderfully melodious and complex synth sounds with the most soulful and vulnerable voices of our era and you are bound to get good results.
REPUTATION's every track is filled with an assurance and motivation not seen from Dusty since her 60's heydey. For long time fans, it's a well deserved "refreshing" of Dusty's career and for new initiates it's a chance to hear one of the most thrilling voices to ever grace the pop scene.
All 10 tracks are fantastic, but stand-outs are the Aretha-tinged "Born This Way", the sexy ballad "Arrested By You" and the ecstatic title track.
"Daydreaming" is a curiosity not to be missed, as Ms. Springfield tackles yet another new musical form: rap.
"I Wanna Stay Here" is an infectious melody written by non other than Carole King (a longtime Dusty collaborator), and "Occupy Your Mind" is a bold foray into electronic music...8 years before Madonna's "Ray of Light".
But the two tracks that are above and beyond the rest are "Nothing Has Been Proved" and "In Private". The first, "Nothing Has Been Proved" written to be included in the soundtrack to the film SCANDAL, is an exercise in phrasing and breath control. Dusty gives a lesson on how to phrase a lyric by interpreting a rather wordy Neil Tennant song. It's hard to imagine anyone else making it work but Dusty.
The second, "In Private", is an ode written specifically for Dusty by Tennant/Lowe, and it shows. The song uses all of her vocal assets and shows her in the best light. The song is a perfect amalgam of 60's Tamla/Motown sound and late 80's techno-pop...and only Dusty, who has proven successful in both of those realms, can pull it off so effortlessly.
Overall a fantastic album, with perhaps one of the most striking of Dusty LP covers (the UK version that is), with La Springfield in half-shadow doing one of her famous "hand gestures".
The U.S. release contains some bonus tracks that had previously been left on the cutting room floor. These aren't bad, but they don't really fit within the same style as the rest of the album. "When Love Turns To Blue" is my favorite of these.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 22, 2006
Reputation & Rarities is one of Dusty's most versatile cd's.. from Dance, techno, pop, ballads, I love this cd it proved Dusty could handle anything given to her... 'Send It To Me'(also recorded by Gladys Knight & the Pips), 'Time Waits For No One' has a nice groove & 'When Love Turns Blue' is simply beautiful, 'Any Other Fool' shows how Dusty was great with ballads, the energy of 'In Private' & 'Daydreaming' and Dusty's delicate delivery on 'Nothing Has Been Proved', this cd is a winner and a great addition to anyone's collection of Dusty's music!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 14, 2016
This is a great "90's" dance album. Dusty can rap (without
knowing it), sing with force and joy as ever before, and still
surprise. This is a masterful collaboration with The Pet Shop
Boys.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 7, 2015
Hot on the heels of Dusty's collaboration with the Pet Shop Boys on the 1987 release of "What Have I Done To Deserve This" came a studio album in 1990 destined to introduce Dusty to an entirely new audience...and it did. The original album "Reputation" was only released in the UK and this, then, is the re-release for American audiences that came a few years later! There is nothing Dusty Springfield has ever sung that could be considered even a mediocre rendition and this compilation does not disappoint. I have loved her voice from the very minute I heard it back in 1962-63 and I haven't budged from that opinion over the years. In fact, hers is the only voice that can sing a rendition of a popular song that another artist has a big hit with and make it not only new...but hers and hers alone! It's no secret I'm not a re-make person in anything on film or in music but she is the exception to any and all rules! Dusty's talent was above reproach and extensive. This woman could and did sing anything and be wonderful at it. No genre escaped her and in this series of songs we get to hear her later efforts on the world stage. This is the "new" Dusty and it's a great mix of Pop, Dance, Ballads, Techno & Disco feel tracks with even a hint of tuneful Rap, showcasing, once again, her tremendous versatility. The closing theme from the 1989 film "Scandal," "Nothing Has Been Proved" is included here and absolutely rocks me...it's one of my favorite tracks. Also included is another huge personal favorite, "In Private" with two different mixes. "Arrested By You" is another stand-out track from this CD but they are all solid. This belongs in your music library even if you own no other Dusty Springfield albums. You soon will...believe me, you soon will...ENJOY!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 8, 2005
This 1990 effort, partially produced by the British dance music duo, The Pet Shop Boys (Neil Tennant/Chris Lowe),is a strong foray for all involved. Combine wonderfully melodious and complex synth sounds with the most soulful and vulnerable voices of our era and you are bound to get good results.

REPUTATION's every track is filled with an assurance and motivation not seen from Dusty since her 60's heydey. For long time fans, it's a well deserved "refreshing" of Dusty's career and for new initiates it's a chance to hear one of the most thrilling voices to ever grace the pop scene.

All 10 tracks are fantastic, but stand-outs are the Aretha-tinged "Born This Way", the sexy ballad "Arrested By You" and the ecstatic title track.

"Daydreaming" is a curiosity not to be missed, as Ms. Springfield tackles yet another new musical form: rap.

"I Wanna Stay Here" is an infectious melody written by non other than Carole King (a longtime Dusty collaborator), and "Occupy Your Mind" is a bold foray into electronic music...8 years before Madonna's "Ray of Light".

But the two tracks that are above and beyond the rest are "Nothing Has Been Proved" and "In Private". The first, "Nothing Has Been Proved" written to be included in the soundtrack to the film SCANDAL, is an exercise in phrasing and breath control. Dusty gives a lesson on how to phrase a lyric by interpreting a rather wordy Neil Tennant song. It's hard to imagine anyone else making it work but Dusty.

The second, "In Private", is an ode written specifically for Dusty by Tennant/Lowe, and it shows. The song uses all of her vocal assets and shows her in the best light. The song is a perfect amalgam of 60's Tamla/Motown sound and late 80's techno-pop...and only Dusty, who has proven successful in both of those realms, can pull it off so effortlessly.

Overall a fantastic album, with perhaps one of the most striking of Dusty LP covers (the UK version that is), with La Springfield in half-shadow doing one of her famous "hand gestures".

The U.S. release contains some bonus tracks that had previously been left on the cutting room floor. These aren't bad, but they don't really fit within the same style as the rest of the album. "When Love Turns To Blue" is my favorite of these.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 4, 2003
We can only thank The Pet Shop Boys for calling Dusty to do their 1988 #2 hit "What Have I Done To Deserve This?". Because, without their call, Dusty might not of gotten back in the music game. Out of the success of working with the guys and the mega success of the song on both sides of the atlantic(it hit #2 in the UK as well), this CD was born. The Pet Shop Boys, also known as Neil Tennant and Chris Lowe wrote 4 songs on this 1990 comeback album for Dusty. Not only that, but they also produced those 4 songs and a fifth one too. The first track they wrote and produced is the sixth track, "In Private". This is a real club room stomper. It's insanely catchy and makes you want to move your feet. The second was "Daydreaming". It has the usual tecno beat expected from them, and Dusty's vocals were perfect, but it's a song that doesn't go anywhere and never clicks with the listener. The third was "Nothing Has Been Proved". This goes along with the previous song because it never really hooks you in. Expertly done and sang of course, but you will probably push the skip button. The fourth and final track was called "Occupy Your Mind". Another one like the last two. It has the odd sounding music, and the vocals, no fault of Dusty's, don't go anywhere. There is also a bonus re-mix cut of "In Private" at the end that goes on for about two in a half minutes longer or so than the original version. The other songs here fare much better than the last few. The opening song, "Reputation", starts up and gets going and tells you what kind of a listen you are in for. "Send It To Me" is another fun, up tempo track that makes you shake your feet. A lot of fun. "Arrested By You" is a real pretty song. One of the best ballads Dusty has done in the last decade(rivaling 1986's "Something In Your Eyes"). She sounds great and it's just haunting and pretty. "Time Waits For No One" is a crowd pleasing club type song. Not a favorite, but catchy enough. We come to my favorite. It's the fifth song on the CD and it's called "Born This Way". We have never heard Dusty this way. Never. It's a real rollicking dance/rock song that starts fast and never stops until it's finished. It's a song that seemed destined to be recorded by Dusty. Outstanding!. There is a hint of old Dusty when she records an old Carole King/Gerry Coffin song called "I Want To Stay Here". It's jazzed up a bit to sound more modern and to go with the consistency of the album. It sounds great. You also get 4 extra tracks on here that wasn't on the original release. Except for the re-mix I mentioned earlier, the other three are all ballads. Only one of them, "Any Other Fool", is really good. It sounds like a classic modern day Dusty love ballad. "When Love Turns Blue" and "Getting It Right", the remaining two, are not without charm, but don't leave an impression. All in all, this is an exceptionally fun CD. It's unlike any album Dusty has ever recorded in her incredible career. It seems as if Dusty was born to sing these jamming dance/club like songs. She definitley fits it to a T, and knows how to work it to perfection, like every other thing she does. It's too bad she didn't record a whole lot after this, or did more dance stuff. She did say she didn't want to be a dance diva. I guess not. She is in impeccable voice here. But then again, when isn't she?. This is another piece of work that shows that Dusty can do or sing anything. She is, as I've said before, the best female singer ever. This is a lot of fun. Very entertaining.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Courtesy of the Pet Shop Boys, Dan Hartman, Andy Richards and Paul O'Duffy, the timeless talent of one of the greatest female singers in British pop history is placed firmly in a modern music setting. Originally released in 1990 as Reputation, this 1998 version contains additional and previously unreleased material from the London sessions. Despite containing 3 Top 40 UK hit singles and being nominated for a British Phonogragh Industry award (Best Album 1990), this album was never given a USA release. How can the music industry still get it so wrong? Tune in to a great secret - buy it and marvel!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 29, 2014
Reputation is Dusty Springfield's next to last CD release. England had it out in 1990. The USA got it as Reputation & Rarities in 1997, with 4 extra tracks. Particular favorites are I Want To Stay Here, a cover of Steve and Eydie's hit from 1963, and co-written by Carol King, The fantastic disco stomper Born This Way, and the Motown influenced In Private, written by the Pet Shop Boys for Dusty. A superb addition to any Dusty fan's collection. No bad tracks on this CD.Her next release is 5 years later A Very Fine Love. Dusty Springfield fans will like this the most.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 19, 2005
Listening to this album always makes me smile. Just beyond the surface lies a very tongue-in-cheek approach by Dusty and the Pet Shop Boys which plays nicely into their and hopefully our wicked sense of irony.

Perhaps the most "amusing" track is Dusty's "rap" on "Daydreaming" - this alone is worth the price of the album. You can almost hear Dust and Neil Tennant giggling in the studio. It's a blast!

The other songs are mostly really well-produced techno-dance pop. And, adding Dusty's later-years growling Tina Turneresque sound just serves to make this one enjoyable musical experience. If you're looking for a finely-honed late 80ish "feel good" album to lift your sagging mid-00's spirits, then "Reputation & Rarities" is the one for you.

Sure, it's no "Dusty In Memphis"; but, what is? The tracks "Nothing Has Been Proved", "In Private" and "Born This Way" are absolutely wonderous. Dusty's cover of Patti Austin's "Any Other Fool" is exquisite - a reminder that no one could put more heart into a ballad than Dusty Springfield.

Although "Reputation & Rarities" is a nearly-complete musical departure for Dusty, it works! Dusty could sing 'em all - no matter what the genre. This album proves it. It's just plain delightful. The music scene has a huge vacuum in it since we lost Dusty Springfield. Yet, knowing Dust, she's up in Mascara Heaven having a giggle at us as we ponder the question "Rap???". We miss you, Ms. O'Brien.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse