Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

Buy Used
$8.99
FREE Shipping on orders over $25.
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: Pages are clean-no writing or highlighting.Eligible for free shipping.Shipping and customer service provided by Amazon.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 3 images

Requiem Mass: A Detective Chief Inspector Andrew Fenwick Mystery (D.C.I. Andrew Fenwick Mysteries) Hardcover – May 21, 2013

4.3 out of 5 stars 7 customer reviews

See all 2 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Price
New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
Hardcover
"Please retry"
$2.48 $0.01

The Numberlys Best Books of the Year So Far
click to open popover

Editorial Reviews

From Booklist

*Starred Review* Detective Chief Inspector Andrew Fenwick is just returning to work after burying his wife when he becomes involved in what looks at first like a missing-persons case but turns into something very different, the ruthless retaliation for a 20-year-old mystery. Five schoolgirls went off for a walk, but only four returned; one of the girls accidentally fell to her death, or at least that was their story. Now they are grown up and ignoring the past as best as they can. One of the women is the missing housewife, two more are her neighbors, and the fourth is a world-famous soprano, due to come home for a fund-raiser at the school they all attended. When one of the women is murdered, Fenwick finds the connection between the two cases and sets out to stop the killer from exacting more revenge. He also has to deal with his very troubled son, office politics, and an affair that may be clouding his judgment. Fortunately, he has some good help on his team, including the veteran Cooper and a young rookie who is sharp beyond her years. These characters are well drawn, especially Fenwick, and even the killer avoids cliché. Boasting a very tense, superb ending, this second in a gritty new series (following Fatal Legacy, 2001) shows tremendous promise and is sure to appeal to fans of Tana French, Benjamin Black, and Tess Gerritsen. --Stacy Alesi

Review

“Compelling…The finale, reminiscent of The Day of the Jackal, ratchets up the suspense and brings new meaning to the word stalking.” ―Publishers Weekly, starred review

“These characters are well drawn, especially Fenwick, and even the killer avoids cliché. Boasting a very tense, superb ending, this second in a gritty new series (following Fatal Legacy, 2001) shows tremendous promise and is sure to appeal to fans of Tana French, Benjamin Black, and Tess Gerritsen.” ―Booklist

“This must surely win an award for first novel. The start is as electrifying as any I have come across and even after that it bowls along at a terrific pace. It promises a great future.” ―Coventry Evening Telegraph

“Gripping...look out for the second in the series.” ―Shots Magazine

“A fine mystery novel in the tradition of Colin Dexter's Inspector Morse mysteries.” ―South Wales Argus

“A really interesting motive powers a forceful novel...atmospheric...deeply layered...clearly written.” ―The Poisoned Pen

“Ingenious, pacy, with well-drawn characters, this is a promising debut.” ―Sunday Mercury

“This disturbing crime thriller grabs you and doesn't let go... Chilling.” ―Bookshelf

NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

The latest book club pick from Oprah
"The Underground Railroad" by Colson Whitehead is a magnificent novel chronicling a young slave's adventures as she makes a desperate bid for freedom in the antebellum South. See more

Product Details

  • Series: D.C.I. Andrew Fenwick Mysteries (Book 1)
  • Hardcover: 448 pages
  • Publisher: Minotaur Books (May 21, 2013)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 125002806X
  • ISBN-13: 978-1250028068
  • Product Dimensions: 6 x 1.4 x 8.5 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 1.1 pounds
  • Average Customer Review: 4.3 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (7 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #172,984 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Customer Reviews

Top Customer Reviews

By E. Bukowsky HALL OF FAMETOP 500 REVIEWERVINE VOICE on July 27, 2013
Format: Hardcover
In the first of her DCI Andrew Fenwick police procedurals, "Requiem Mass" (originally published in 1998), Elizabeth Corley introduces us to a detective struggling to balance his professional duties and troubled home life. After he suffers a tragic loss that leaves him alone to raise his two young children, Fenwick is relieved when his mother moves in to take charge of the household. He returns to work, anxious to prove that he has not lost his edge.

The dramatic plot focuses on an obsessive quest to redress a grave injustice. Nearly twenty years earlier, a bright and talented fifteen-year-old girl, Carol Anne Truman, fell off "an idyllic cliff path" to "a twisted, broken death" during a school outing on the Dorset coast. Her classmates were in the vicinity, but claimed that they had no idea how the accident occurred. However, as Shakespeare once said, "truth will out." Over time, certain individuals try to piece together what actually occurred on that fateful day.

We meet the perpetrator long before the police know of his existence. He is a clever and methodical villain who plans his crimes carefully, dispatches his prey with ruthless efficiency, and uses misdirection to confuse the authorities. Meanwhile, the insightful and shrewd Fenwick and his team work tirelessly to figure out had the motive, means, and opportunity to murder these particular victims. Andrew is torn between his desire to spend more time with his children and his compulsion to pore over reports, interview witnesses, and deploy members of his force to track down any lead, no matter how tenuous.

"Requiem Mass" is a beautifully crafted and elegantly written mystery that grows in intensity as the story progresses.
Read more ›
Comment 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
This book was suspenseful with a wonderful element of human drama. Personalities were clearly defined and while not perfect, they were realistic and added much to my enjoyment of the book. I truly had difficulty putting this book down and I was so happy that it was only the first in the Fenwick series.
Comment 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
I read the reviews and were excited to get started. I found from beginning to end it was very slow. If it weren't for reading for book club I wouldn't have finished it but forced myself to get through it. Sorry but can't recommend. I gave it two stars because even though I didn't enjoy it, I have read worse and others seemed to enjoy it
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
This was my second book by Elizabeth Corley..........excellent read. Well thought out
and moves all the way thru the book. I do like Inspector Fenwick.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse