Your Garage Luxury Beauty Killers of the Flower moon STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Samsung S8 Launch Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Mother's Day Gifts hgg17 Shop Popular Services DrWho DrWho DrWho  Introducing Echo Look Starting at $49.99 Kindle Oasis Nintendo Switch Shop Now disgotg_gno_17

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 130 reviews(4 star, Verified Purchases). See all 545 reviews
on March 23, 2017
Very systematic, welll organizied, plain English, very concise and clear to express and to teach readers how to do research. Good Good Good book!
five stars will be granted if he has plents of real full research report to explain how to do research.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 17, 2015
Text book - need I say more
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 4, 2016
Required text
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 24, 2016
No comments. A pop up came on during my reading and made me review this. I do not understand why this pop up is appearing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 14, 2009
My impression of "Research Design" is that Creswell sincerely wanted readers to understand how to conduct thorough research with confidence. While I focused more on the chapters on qualitative and mixed-methods research, the quantitative chapter was equally easy to understand as the more inquiry-based methods. As an education student, I've always feared doing quantitative research, however this book makes it as available and comprehensible as either of the other two methods discussed. However, I would venture to guess that if you were in a highly technical field, this book would not suffice to supply you with the complete methodologies to conduct quantitative research.
The author conveniently structures each chapter with the learner in mind. For each section of the book, Creswell supplies easy to follow steps and checklists for students and researchers to cover most angles of research. At the completion of each chapter (all of which are short and easy to digest), there is a small section on writing practice to provide practical application for the reader who might not have a professor to rely on for further instruction, or for the professor who wants an easy, practical assignment right from the text. I studied this book independently, and while I feel a second read through might be in order, it was absolutely easy to understand and useful in my independent study.
I recommend this book for its straightforward style and practical approach to conducting basic research.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Since the publication of this manual, there has been an updated edition that came out in 2008. There are some definite advantages to purchasing the newer edition such as access to the Sage website where you can access things such as tutorials and sample proposals, but if you are not actively pursuing a degree or writing this edition is still an excellent reference. The audience for this book encompasses a wide group ranging from those who are working on graduate degrees, to those who wish to write scholarly articles, and to those who simply want an additional writing reference. According to the author, "This book advances a framework, a process, and compositional approaches for designing qualitative, quantitative, and mixed methods research in the human and social sciences."

CONTENTS (simplified):

Part I: Preliminary Considerations

1 A Framework for Design

2 Review of the Literature

3 Writing Strategies and Ethical Considerations

Part II: Designing Research

4 the Introduction

5 The Purpose Statement

6 Research Questions and Hypotheses

7 The Use of Theory

8 Definitions, Limitations, and Significance

9 Quantitative Methods

10 Qualitative Procedures

11 Mixed Methods Procedures

Interspersed throughout the pages are tables, suggested writing activities, examples, and informative step-by-step sidebars pertinent to specific topics. Each chapter is summarized and additional recommended readings to explore are listed. Many of these are obviously outdated, but I found that several could be easily added to my list for additional reference at very affordable prices. In the back of the book is a comprehensive subject index, an author index, and additional recommended references to explore. Once again, some are outdated, but there are some real gems to be found in this list. I'm using this as a reference and am pleased with the content, but if you are actively planning a proposal or working on a degree, you may wish to opt for the updated edition.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 30, 2016
This is more of a personal take on the book. It was a required read for an Art Education class I took and it lays out different types of research well but it can be a bit boring. It gets the job done if you are looking to know more about different styles of research.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 3, 2014
Was extremely effective at outlining the basics of qual vs. quan vs. mixed designs. Particularly helpful was the highly accessible discussion of the epistemology underlying each paradigm. A good reference to build your knowledge from, and particularly suited for helping me as a student develop a research proposal in terms of setting up good questions and thinking through the basic analysis. If you have a strong understanding of mixed methods and are looking for something with depth, this might not be the right choice, however.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 3, 2016
Very informative. The author really tries to appeal to a variety of learning styles. He also gives a template to writing a research proposal. Very beneficial!

I'm a visual learner, so the charts and visuals were very helpful. It was torturous for me to read, though - too many details. A lot of my classmates enjoyed that aspect of the book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 27, 2015
Creswell does a good job reducing worldviews (paradigms, ontologies...) to 4 options, and in connecting them to 3 general strategies (quantitative, qualitative, mixed).
He does not make the point, but it becomes clear that "quantitative" and "qualitative" are misguided, misleading, equivocal adjectives - therefore harmful. Other scholars have pointed that out; Creswell makes it easy to understand how those traditional terms are unnecessary.
Good read for beginners who want to build basic understanding of the philosophy behind science. Necessary reading for PhDs who might haven't heard about it (not uncommon).
Other readers commented on serious factual errors and poor style. In my opinion, this don't change the quality of a book written for understanding by those who still don't know. For some reason, this quality is somewhat rare.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse