Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Resident Evil Trilogy 1-3
Amazon Vehicles Up to 80 Percent Off Textbooks Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Coffee Totes Summer-Event-Garden Amazon Cash Back Offer ElvisandNixon ElvisandNixon ElvisandNixon  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Celine Dion Shop Now STEM

Format: DVD|Change
Price:$9.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on September 9, 2010
I love the Resident Evil movies. Sadly the details of this listing do not reference any special features. I reluctantly purchased this title hoping to find some special features. However my expectations were far exceeded. There was over 90 minutes of special featuers on each disk. They were as follows:

Resident Evil
Blu Wizard - allows you to customize your playlist of which special features to view either in a queue or during the movie itself.
Playing Dead:Resident Evil from the Game to the Screen - 3 Separate Documentaries
Featurettes - 8 Different Featurettes
Camera Test - 2 Documentaries
Storyboarding Resident Evil - 3 Storyboards
Costumes - 2 Documentaries
The Making of Resident Evil - 7 Making of Segments
Music Video - "My Plague" by Slipknot
Alternate Ending
Commentaries - 2 Different Commentaries
Subtitles - 4 Different Languages
Previews

Resident Evil: Apocalypse
Blu Wizard - allows you to customize your playlist of which special features to view either in a queue or during the movie itself.
Game Over: Resident Evil Reanimated - 6 Making of Segments
Featurettes - 3 Featurettes
Deleted Scenes - 20 Deleted Scenes
Commentaries - 3 Different Commentaries
Subtitles - 3 Different Languages
Previews

Resident Evil: Extinction
Blu Wizard - allows you to customize your playlist of which special features to view either in a queue or during the movie itself.
Featurettes - 6 Featurettes
The Big Bang/Shooting RE:E - 6 Making of Segments
Deleted Scenes - 11 Deleted Scenes
Commentaries - 2 Different Commentaries
Subtitles - 3 Different Languages
Previews
33 comments| 74 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 11, 2009
Even though the Amazon listing says there are 4 discs mine only had 3 and the packaging is designed to hold only 3 discs. The box even says 3 disc set on the side. Which is fine it has what you want the 3 movies. I did submit to Amazon that they change the listing.

I almost didn't buy this set because of an other review saying that one of the movies was full screen, which I hate, having all widescreen TV's, but the Apocalypse DVD has both wide and full screen on it, so I was a happy camper. All 3 are anamorphic widescreen. The first movie is 1.85:1 so it will fill a widescreen TV. Apocalypse and Extinction are both 2.40:1 so you will still get black bars on the top and bottom even on a widescreen TV.

If you're like me and own a Sony 400 disc or Pioneer 301 disc DVD changer you'll like that it does have title text and a jacket picture on all 3 discs, so you won't have to type in the name or make a backup just so you can add the name to the disc. (come on disc makers take the extra 3 minutes to add title text to your discs when you master them!)
44 comments| 62 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 30, 2009
Three movies, one box. Very enjoyable. My only real complaint is the box in itself is a bit lacking (just three disks, no insert or additional literature) and that the disks are arranged a bit awkwardly (Extinction is on one side, first two movies are overlapped on the other). If you are a RE fan, I highly recommend it.
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 20, 2016
This is the box set of the three original Resident Evil Movies. There is another set that have the 4th and 5th movies called The Resident Evil Collection. Just be aware that the other is out there, and if you are looking for that, this is not it.

Resident Evil really started the resurgence in Zombie movies/TV shows. When the original came out there had not really been anything in the genre for a fairly long while. And while I would not say any of the movies are as good as The Walking Dead, or even IZombie, if you accept them for what they are, and what they are not, they are enjoyable action packed movies.

Of course, the series is based on the video game of the same name. The first movie is actually a prequel to the events of the original game, where we learn exactly how the T-Virus that causes the zombie epidemic is released. The second movie is set shortly after the events of the game and really center on the effort to control the outbreak, and the third movie, Extinction, is set many years after the outbreak when the epidemic has spread.

The main character of the films is Alice, played by Milla Jovovich. The other films have rotated supporting cast and characters, but hers is the constant, and she is essentially superhuman after being exposed to the virus. She is intent on taking down the Umbrella Corporation, which created the virus, and the various levels of bad guys. You really do not need to know much about the plot from there, aside from the fact that it involves evading zombies that are becoming more and more powerful. I have never played the games, so I am not sure how much they differ or how much people who are hardcore fans of the game would be upset by what has been changed, but like I said earlier if you accept that it is an action movie based on killing zombies, and will never win any awards for acting, directing or writing, although for the genre I think all are fine in the movies, you can enjoy them.

The movies look and sound great on Blu-Ray. The special features are very similar for each movie. At least 1 commentary track on the movies, deleted scenes and a lot of behind the scenes and making of features. If you like listening to the commentary tracks, the ones Milla Jovovich does are pretty hilarious. She totally does not take herself seriously, but you can tell she was very into the movies and what she was doing. All in all you get a good hour plus of bonus features for each movie. If you are a fan of action/horror movies they are worth checking out.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 7, 2009
The Resident Evil Trilogy is an amazing trilogy. All the movies are good. The acting is good, the story is good. If you are a fan of action movies, then you need to see these movies. Also, alot of people are mad about how the 3rd movie left it as such a cliffhanger. Well, there is going to be a 4th movie, and it is being shot right now. And should be coming out next summer or fall. So if you like action/horror movies, then you should check out Resident Evil.
0Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 30, 2014
This is one of my favorite movies all of them especially first one of all time, I can watch and have over and over again. I just needed the second one but the same price to have it as this so I got this for back ups. I was going to get the blue ray version but my comp doesn't have blue ray so I can't vudu it to cloud so I got SD version. These films are action packed and really fun to watch if you like zombie apocolypse movies. Hack and slash the monster humans and Milla Jovovich is perfect in this as she is in everything she really takes the film role to heart and brings it to life, so check out this triple play if you want some good zombie slashing fun.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 10, 2012
It says all regions but when you look on the back off RESIDENT EVIL - region A B C, RESIDENT EVIL APOCALYPSE - region A & RESIDENT EVIL EXTINCTION - region A B C, but don't worry they all play in a Sony region B player so I am happy as because you can't buy RESIDENT EVIL in AUSTRALIA on BLU-RAY.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon March 17, 2014
Actually, at the time of this writing, five of the six films in this enjoyable series have been released; the sixth and final film is currently in production and is scheduled for release in 2015. I will definitely add the sixth film to my DVD collection that already contains the first five.

As a published horror author myself, one who has little tolerance for zombie stories/films, I have to admit these films are an exception. Much of the credit goes to Milla Jovovich as Alice, the lead in all six films. The zombies are always there, but the acting is excellent and the storyline intriguing. The supporting actors are nearly all great too. Sorry Oded didn't make it to the fourth film as there seemed to be a budding love interest between him and Alice.

As to this trilogy of the first three films, the first is not in the same widescreen as the other two, but I didn't notice any difference, thus I don't regret getting the three as a set. The extras are all included for each film as well. Not to mention it's cheaper to buy the three DVDs together than separately.

This is a good deal and the movies are worth watching again, despite parts being familiar. I enjoy this series and hate to see it end. I'm sure Milla will do more good stuff, however. She is amazing! The only film she starred in that I really disliked was the Joan of Arc "bio"; Milla's acting was great, but the film is depressing, ugly, dark and miserable to sit through (not Milla's fault, however!).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 1, 2013
Really stunning Blu Ray footage, probably this is why wanted to get it.... the movies are ok, but if you saw 1, you have seem them all. I literally can not tell which disc is in, if one is randomly inserted and skipped to 1/2 way through the movie.

If you love Resident Evil "so much", then you'll probably love it to bits (and think i am a moron). If you are looking for great Blu Ray footage then there is so much more to choose from now, buying something else is probably a good idea (i bought this years ago when there was far less BluRay available).
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 15, 2011
The product is excelent, and movies come as they do if you buy them separetly, so you can take them out of the box, and put them right next to your resident evil 4 movie, and your collection will be complete. It is a silly detail, but some people wouldnt like their movies with a sign saying "trilogy" knowing there are actually 4 (or even more) movies in the collection.

Languages are:

RE
Audio: English, italian, french, spanish and portuguese.
Subs: English, french, italian, portuguese and spanish

RE: Apocalypse
Audio: English
Subs English, spanish and portuguese

RE: Extinction
Audio: English, french, spanish and portuguese.
Subs: English, french, portuguese, spanish and chinese

Hope this was useful for everyone.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse