Enter your mobile number below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.
Getting the download link through email is temporarily not available. Please check back later.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

The Restless Shore: The Wilds Mass Market Paperback – May 5, 2009

3.5 out of 5 stars 6 customer reviews

See all 4 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
New from Used from
"Please retry"
Mass Market Paperback
"Please retry"
$29.66 $0.01

Up to 50% off select Teen and YA books
Featured titles are up to 50% off for a limited time. See all titles
click to open popover

Special Offers and Product Promotions


New York Times best sellers
Browse the New York Times best sellers in popular categories like Fiction, Nonfiction, Picture Books and more. See more

Product Details

  • Series: The Wilds
  • Mass Market Paperback: 320 pages
  • Publisher: Wizards of the Coast (May 5, 2009)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0786951311
  • ISBN-13: 978-0786951314
  • Product Dimensions: 4.2 x 0.8 x 6.9 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 5.6 ounces
  • Average Customer Review: 3.5 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (6 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #1,799,981 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Customer Reviews

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Mass Market Paperback
The Restless Shore is the second book in the series of stand alone novels called The Wilds. The first book is The Fanged Crown by Jenna Helland and the next ones are The Edge of Chaos by Jak Koke due out in August and Wrath of the Blue Lady by Mel Odom with a release date of December. The Restless Shore is the third realms novel by James P. Davis. The first was Bloodwalk from The Wizards series and the second being The Shield of Weeping Ghosts from The Citadels.

The Main plot of The Restless Shore begins with the main protagonist's sister is kidnapped by a group called The Choir. Ghaelya then begins the search for her sister to rescue her. Later she is introduced to Uthalion and his partner Vaasurri by a half-elf, Brindani, who knows Uthalion in a previous and continued subplot. Other subplots involve Uthalion's past, the mystery surrounding The Choir, and a few others. There are mentions of the Aboleths. I have not read the first book in the Abolethic Sovereignty trilogy and am not sure if those sections detailing the Aboleths were from that book, so I was not familiar with them and had to look them up.

The delivery of TRS is much better than Mr. Davis' previous novels. I was captivated more by this one and was more interested to see how things played out. However, after 3/4 of the way through, I started losing interest. Everything was becoming repetitive. Travel to city ruins, get into trouble, defeat the monsters, and repeat. By the end there just didn't seem to be much closure with some of the subplots. It was as if a couple subplots were chosen to keep the conflict of certain characters just for the sake of development which there was little of that.

The characters were interesting, some more than others. I wish thee was more written about the killoren Vaasurri.
Read more ›
Comment 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
Like most fantasy novels this one is about the perilous journey against all odds of survival. But there are fights in the book the are perdicatable and after a while they just seem like filler until the climax at the end.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Mass Market Paperback Verified Purchase
The Restless Shore is the second in The Wilds series, an open ended series detailing adventures in some of Faerun's untamed lands ravaged by the Spell Plague. If you check out Mr. Davis's previous work, Bloodwalk, and The Shield of Weeping Ghosts you will see why I call him the King of Spooky. His stories have a deliciously eerie feel to them that keep you glancing over your shoulder and looking under the bed before you go to sleep.

The central plot of the book is a small group journeying to Tohrepur, a city in the Splellplague changed Akanul, in search of a kidnapped girl, all the while being pursued by the relentless Choir. Two of the characters suffer from past experiences in this region that still torment them. This keeps the reader plowing through to find out what happened to them and how they will end up. There are nightmareish creatures, deadly battles, and characters that you are not sure can be trusted. All of this combined with a nightmare landscape that seems bent on destroying them.

One of the best things about this book was the pervasive feeling of dread the characters experienced. They are hounded by horrible creatures, their past, and the very landscape itself can prove fatal. It adds a certain gravity to the story that made it hard to put down.

Hats off to Mr. Davis for another excellent addition to the Forgotten Realms. I highly recommend this book to anyone who enjoys a good nightmare.
Comment One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse