Kindle Price: $2.99

Save $12.00 (80%)

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Buy for others

Give as a gift or purchase for a team or group. Learn more

Buying and sending eBooks to others


Single copy
(Sent by Amazon)
Amazon emails the eBook to a recipient on your behalf.
Learn more

Multiple copies
(Send on your own)
You send redemption links to your recipients.
Learn more


These ebooks can only be redeemed by recipients in the US. Redemption links and eBooks cannot be resold.

Quantity:
This item has a maximum order quantity limit.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Kindle App Ad
The Retreat: A Tale of Spiritual Awakening by [Turner, Jacci]

The Retreat: A Tale of Spiritual Awakening Kindle Edition

4.6 out of 5 stars 18 customer reviews

See all 2 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Price
New from Used from
Kindle
$2.99

Kindle Feature Spotlight

CLOSE

Length: 146 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled

Try Kindle Countdown Deals
Explore limited-time discounted eBooks. Learn more.
click to open popover

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.


Try Kindle Countdown Deals
Explore limited-time discounted eBooks. Learn more.

Editorial Reviews

Review

“For those who have been injured by involvement in a church, or other Christian group, or those who simply find evangelicalism to be constraining, The Retreat is like opening a window for fresh air.” (Rev. Dr. Paul Sorrentino, Director of Religious & Spiritual Life and Protestant Advisor at Amherst College)

“A colorful story that underscores how much contemplative practice is needed in our modern times. With wit and wisdom, Turner captures the complexities of being human and the grace of finding the path that leads home to your true self. Such an important work of fiction for spiritual awakening.” (Phileena Heuertz, author of Pilgrimage of a Soul: Contemplative Spirituality for the Active Life (IVP 2010) and Founding Partner, Gravity, a Center for Contemplative Activism)

From the Back Cover

A week spent at a retreat becomes a transfor-mational journey of faith and renewal for a young Christian suffering a crisis of the soul in this poignant, illuminating, and spiritually-wise teaching novel for fans of  Jen Hatmaker, Shauna Niequist, and Brené Brown.

For her entire life, Amy considered her evangelical Christian upbringing the foundation of her being and beliefs. But when she stands up for her gay best friend, she is ostracized and banished from the church she loves—resulting in a crisis of the spirit that causes her to doubt her conservative upbringing as she enters her thirties. Seeing Amy’s pain, a caring friend raises the money to send her on a week-long retreat for contemplative activism, hoping that a few days of quiet reflection will help to rekindle her faith.

At the retreat, Amy meets two women her age—teachers who introduce her to different types of prayer—as well as Celeste, a seasoned church mentor who takes Amy under her wing and gently shows her new ways to practice her religious beliefs. Through their guidance and caring, Amy finds an inspiring and more meaningful view of God.


Product details

  • File Size: 1306 KB
  • Print Length: 146 pages
  • Page Numbers Source ISBN: 0062674641
  • Publisher: HarperLegend; Reprint edition (March 28, 2017)
  • Publication Date: March 28, 2017
  • Sold by: HarperCollins Publishers
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B01LX5K2IK
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Lending: Not Enabled
  • Screen Reader: Supported
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #104,580 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?


Customer Reviews

Share your thoughts with other customers
See all 18 customer reviews

Read reviews that mention

Top customer reviews

April 21, 2017
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
3 people found this helpful
|Comment|Report abuse
April 23, 2017
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
3 people found this helpful
|Comment|Report abuse
March 1, 2018
Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
|Comment|Report abuse
January 19, 2018
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
|Comment|Report abuse
April 27, 2017
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
2 people found this helpful
|Comment|Report abuse
March 31, 2017
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
2 people found this helpful
|Comment|Report abuse
July 8, 2018
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
|Comment|Report abuse
August 15, 2017
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
|Comment|Report abuse

Set up an Amazon Giveaway

The Retreat: A Tale of Spiritual Awakening
Amazon Giveaway allows you to run promotional giveaways in order to create buzz, reward your audience, and attract new followers and customers. Learn more about Amazon Giveaway
This item: The Retreat: A Tale of Spiritual Awakening