Kindle Price: $7.99

Save $7.00 (47%)

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Return on Investment: A Novel by [Waz, Magdalena]
Kindle App Ad

Return on Investment: A Novel Kindle Edition

5.0 out of 5 stars 5 customer reviews

See all 2 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Price
New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
$7.99

Length: 137 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled Matchbook Price: $2.99 What's this?
For thousands of qualifying books, your past, present, and future print-edition purchases now lets you buy the Kindle edition for $2.99 or less. (Textbooks available for $9.99 or less.)
  • Thousands of books are eligible, including current and former best sellers.
  • Look for the Kindle MatchBook icon on print and Kindle book detail pages of qualifying books. You can also see more Kindle MatchBook titles here or look up all of your Kindle MatchBook titles here.
  • Read the Kindle edition on any Kindle device or with a free Kindle Reading App.
  • Print edition must be purchased new and sold by Amazon.com.
  • Gifting of the Kindle edition at the Kindle MatchBook price is not available.
Learn more about Kindle MatchBook.

Best Books of the Month
See the Best Books of the Month
Want to know our Editors' picks for the best books of the month? Browse Best Books of the Month, featuring our favorite new books in more than a dozen categories.
click to open popover

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.


Editorial Reviews

Review

"Return on Investment is a coming-of-age tale unlike any I have ever read. A quartet of unlikely friends massively in debt and interminably adrift in the post-collegiate, post-recession, start-up economy. The wild scheme that joins them together somehow manages to both satirize and sympathetically explore that wobbling time between youth and adulthood. Swiftly told, at turns hilarious and poignant, Return on Investment is worth every second you put into it." David McGlynn, author of A Door in the Ocean "A wickedly smart, deceptively powerful debut novel about the uneasy intersection of love and commerce. A soaring send-up of the post-grad economy. War's debut will appeal to fans of Maria Semple, Jess Walter, and Lena Dunham." Michelle Richmond, New York Times bestselling author of The Year of Fog "Waz's darkly comic first novel reads like the birth of a brand-new genre-call it literature of the dystopian present-wherein a lost generation of post-college twentysomethings struggle against debt, doubt, the loneliness of a constantly-connected world, and an out-of-control gig economy that leads to work as professional cuddlers, human breast pumps, and black-market milk runners. It'd be terrifying if it weren't so damn funny, prescient if it weren't precisely of the moment, absurd except for its searing recognition of the all-too-real . . . Return on Investment is an audacious, ambitious debut. -Joseph Bates, author of Tomorrowland: Stories "In Return on Investment, Magdalena Waz brings to vivid life the mighty struggles and Millennial triumphs of a group of young Chicagoans graduating into the Great Recession. Waz's writing is slyly ironic, her characters' delightfully inappropriate first jobs, including human breast pump, are shrewdly presented, and their stories are irresistible. This is a superb first book." -Eric Goodman, author of Child of My Right Hand and Twelfth and Race

About the Author

Magdalena Waz’s fiction and essays have appeared in Threadcount, The Collagist, and Rabbit Catastrophe Review. She holds an MA in Creative Writing from Miami University (Ohio) and currently lives in Brooklyn.

Product details

  • File Size: 449 KB
  • Print Length: 137 pages
  • Publisher: Fiction Attic Press (September 22, 2016)
  • Publication Date: September 22, 2016
  • Sold by: Amazon Digital Services LLC
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B01ICMAKA2
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Lending: Enabled
  • Screen Reader: Supported
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #1,789,714 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?


Customer reviews

5 star
100%
4 star
0%
3 star
0%
2 star
0%
1 star
0%
Share your thoughts with other customers
See all verified purchase reviews

Top customer reviews

on September 28, 2016
Format: Paperback
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 7, 2017
Format: Paperback
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 3, 2016
Format: Paperback
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 23, 2017
Format: Paperback
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 13, 2017
Format: Paperback
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Set up an Amazon Giveaway

Return on Investment: A Novel
Amazon Giveaway allows you to run promotional giveaways in order to create buzz, reward your audience, and attract new followers and customers. Learn more about Amazon Giveaway
This item: Return on Investment: A Novel