BCA Month Salon Beauty Fall Reading Hallo nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited Electronics Gift Guide $69.99 Handmade Gift Shop hgg17 Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon curbpremiere curbpremiere curbpremiere  Three new members of the Echo family All-New Fire HD 8 Kids Edition, starting at $129.99 All-New Kindle Oasis GNO Shop Now HTL17_gno



on March 15, 2017
If you've been touched by Apple and are interested in their backstory, this is a great read.

As someone who has enjoyed Apple products since 1984, I've read just about all of the Apple (and Steve Jobs) related books.

This is one of the good ones: well written with great anecdotes. It's an enjoyable read.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 20, 2013
Very good book on the early days of Apple Computers and provided lots of personal insights to the family lives of both Steves I've never read before.
The shipping experience of the reseller ClearanceBookSale was terrible. I purchased the book 19July and was billed immediately and was told the next day it had shipped. It must have gone via the moon as over three weeks past before it arrived. I wouldn't order from ClearanceBookSale if you are in a hurry, as I was also told when I contacted them to track the shipment.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 4, 2014
Learnt a few things about the early days of Apple.

The Apple I wasn't much of a hit at the Homebrew Computer Club.

Steve Jobs wasn't behind every myth in the early days of Apple. The whole management team was probably more involved than Steve.

Lots of other little things. I definitely know more now than when I started this.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 18, 2017
I really appreciated the author's real familiarity with the nuts and bolts of the technology. Also, his writing style is interesting, quirky and engaging.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 26, 2012
Makes you understand that not everything is planned. There's a lot of serendipity, luck and the right connections involved to get anywhere when you're building something from scratch.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 28, 2014
It came in perfect condition! Brand new and it even smelled like it came right out I of the factory.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 11, 2015
Great!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 11, 2014
thank you
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 18, 2010
I'm a huge fan of Apple, Steve Jobs, and have been fascinated by the company for years, so the appeal of this book was that it would provide some amazing insights into the evolution of the company, but unfortunately it was disappointing.

As mentioned the book itself is a revised version of Michael Moritz's highly acclaimed 1984 book "The Little Kingdom: The Private Story of Apple Computer", the original book was fantastic and based on the title and description, I could not wait to get Moritz's insights into the way Apple evolved from the early years, learning more on Apple after Steve Jobs left and how the company learned from those experiences to re-establish itself as the premier technology company I know and love. Unfortunately the book is really just a reprint of the original with an additional 20 page epilogue about the period from 1984-today. If you are looking to learn about today's Apple and how it re-established its brand you'll be extremely disappointed.

The book itself is insightful about the infancy of Apple Computer and provides interesting insights into the key players of its success in the early days. At times it jumps around between scenes past and present in a manner that is not necessarily fluid and a bit difficult to follow. It does a good job discussing how a company goes from a start-up in a garage to an industry leader, as well as how the sheer strength of Steve Jobs' personality helped push the company further than anyone ever imagined.

All in all the book was interesting, but having read a number of books on the beginnings of Apple Computer I was much more interested in the rebuilding years and how the company reinvented itself, which to me is a far more compelling and insightful story, and I was really disappointed.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 7, 2010
The book is so full of disjointed events that I can't even get through it. It read as if everything is random. If I try to piece the events of Steve Jobs based on each chapter, it didn't even make sense.
11 comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse