Lyft Industrial Deals Oprah's Book Club Red Shoes We Love nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Stream your favorites. Amazon music Unlimited. Learn more. All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Gift Shop Home and Garden Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon victoriaS2 victoriaS2 victoriaS2  Three new members of the Echo family Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Paperwhite Game of Thrones: The Complete Seasons 1-7 now available on Blu-ray and DVD Shop now TG18SW_gno



on October 28, 2014
Hardy's famous negativity is subordinate to a robust matter-of-factness in this novel. Set in the harsh landscape of Egdon Heath, it concerns the tragic liaison between Clym Yeobright and Eustacia Vye. Wanting vastly different things from life, in spite of their love for each other, they wind up driving each other either to destruction or the brink of destruction. Yet there is no sense, as there is in, say, The Mayor of Casterbridge, of Hardy capriciously running his characters down for the sake of a general feeling of gloom: what happens in the novel is plausible. Minor characters, Diggory Venn and Thomasin Yeobright, even achieve happiness in the novel. Hardy's thesis may probably be reduced to the terms, there is little or nothing in life, not even Christianity, to console for its inherently tragic bias, but Good is allowed to have some ascendancy over Evil.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 9, 2014
Hardy's descriptive ability is outstanding, but sometimes his classical allusions are a bit heavy and cumbersome to the movement of the tale. The characters are arresting and winsome though a bit excessive in their idiosyncracies. The chief problem is that the most important and most critical of the events in their lives are subject to mere happenstance, and while this is not unrealistic to most lives, it happens a bit too often to the point of artificiality. The description of the Wessex moor and its heavy influence on the characters is quite vivid.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 25, 2017
Not one of Hardy's best novels. Excellent imagery of place, but the plot verges on the unbelievable. Eustachia (not the tubes in the ear but the principal tormented character) is not credible to me nowis her husband Clym..
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 7, 2017
Hardy's eternal love of the ancient rhythms of human life - the love and sadness, against the deep, steady heartbeat of the primeval heath. One of Hardy's very best, and therefore one of English Literature's true joys.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 24, 2014
This book transported me to another time--another world. The use of language is amazing. Those looking for a plot with today's adventure/thriller themes probably won't like this type of story. But I found that immersing myself in this long-ago setting became a welcome break from my relatively hectic life. I give it 4 stars instead of 5 stars because some of the plot seemed a bit contrived. I plan to read more Hardy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 31, 2015
One of my most favorite books in the world! I've read it several times and love it. Not an easy read and some might want to keep a dictionary handy. This book is complicated reading but it's worth it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 8, 2017
I miss the introduction, et.al. the story itself is great. you should include all supporting material.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 2, 2013
This the complex story of love. Love lost, love found, true love, false love and romatized love. The main characters all intertwine as the seek to sort out thier loves for each other. In the end the true lovers come together and the romantic fall away. As with all thomas hardy novels death is the final victor in the end. complex enough to be interesting all the way through.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 20, 2011
I never thought I would get a classic for nothing. It was sent to my Kindle with one click. Now I can follow the book while listening to my audiobook read by the divine Alan Rickman..Yum!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 12, 2015
The characters are well developed and interesting. One does care about them, but the situations in which they are placed are somewhat far-fetched.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse