Your Garage Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 STEM Handmade Mother's Day Gifts STEM Book House Cleaning siliconvalley siliconvalley siliconvalley  All-New Echo Dot Starting at $49.99 Kindle Oasis Shop Now disgotg_gno_17

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 11-20 of 66 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 102 reviews
on January 19, 2015
Interesting read in the fact that when I selected the book I had no idea that I would be receiving the screen play of the fist two "Thin Man" sequels. Throughout the book you can easily see how the personna og Nick and Nora are shaped by the pen of Dashiell Hammett. Also of interest is the fact that the writter became tired of his creation and wanted to move on to other projects. Enjoy your time with the famous duo.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 23, 2014
I'm confident that both fans of Dashiell Hammett and fans of the Thin Man movies will be curious to read these two drafts of movie scripts. I enjoyed reading this book.

But look. This is not good literature. Hammett never intended the public to see these items. The publisher refers to these as "novellas", but they're not. These are rough drafts of screenplays which are themselves intended to be written by others.

It most definitely would be inappropriate for someone who would like to give Hammett a try to read these, thinking that they were representative of his work.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 10, 2015
I have the movies but had never read the writings. I enjoyed the behind-the-scenes look about the author and why the screen plays were ever written. In the movies you do not get the depth of the character's. Definitely should read either before or after watching the films.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 20, 2015
Dahiell Hammet is a great writer, but the two novels in this volume are not finished works. There is still terrific dialogue, but it reads more like a draft script for a movie or play than a polished piece like the original Thin Man. Nevertheless its a good read for Dashiel Hammet fans.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 12, 2014
Dashielle Hammett's writing is excellent, and I really enjoyed the story. The reason I have downgraded this text is because the book was not edited or proofread. There were so many typos and spelling errors that it took away from what would otherwise have been a very pleasant read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 6, 2014
I enjoyed them a lot. They were actually written as movie scripts, with notes about how the stage should appear, and how the characters' facial expressions and actions should look. But, even so, the stories were clever and moved right along.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 25, 2014
The story was great and I really enjoyed it thinking about how the movie was done. THere are differences, but what really got me was how much different it was then from how things are now. Plus, it seemed like assumptions and stereotypes were so different then. and attitudes were different. It was good, in some ways, to see how far we've come from some of those perceptions.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 13, 2014
I always loved the thin man esp.the by-play between Nick&Nora. The plots seemed chaotic and written for stage rather than a book and it seemed that the author did not really have his heart into his work. That said it was enjoyable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 9, 2013
Return of the Thin Man was a nice read. The further adventures of Nick, Nora and their dog Asta, the book consists of two novellas that Hammett wrote specifically to be adapted into the screenplays for the first two Thin Man sequels, "After the Thin Man" and "Another Thin Man". These novellas seem more like first drafts of the screenplays as they're written in present tense and there's not a ton of description. However the dialogue is razor sharp and the balance of mystery and comedy that Hammett exploited in the first Thin Man novel is successfully maintained. The comedy comes from both the ultra-cool, witty characters of Nick and Nora Charles as well as situations stemming from Nick's lowbrow detective past coming into conflict with Nora's stuffy old money friends and relatives. Hammett also has a lot of fun with Asta, the dog who chews on both scenery and clues.
I recommend this book if you liked the Thin Man novels or movies.
Shorty after I finished reading this, Turner Classic Movies had a Dashiell Hammett night and showed "After the Thin Man". It was fascinating to see that this novella mostly survived the transition of being adapted into a screenplay and then filmed. Some minor plot points were changed but most of the situations and dialogue that Hammett wrote faithfully made it to the screen.
At this point in his career Dashiell Hammett's best work was fading fast in his rear view mirror but even mediocre Hammett is better than a lot of the choices in the bookstore today. This isn't nearly as good as The Maltese Falcon or Red Harvest or the original Thin Man novel but it is an excellent way to spend a couple hours.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 4, 2014
it is not what think! it is a rough movie script, and not very well done. rent the move it is better!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse