BCA Month Beauty Fall Reading Hallo nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited $69.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags hgg17 Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon outlanders3premiere outlanders3premierealtText Watch Outlander on Starz with Amazon Channels outlanders3premierealtText Watch Outlander on Starz with Amazon Channels  Three new members of the Echo family All-New Fire HD 8 Kids Edition, starting at $129.99 All-New Kindle Oasis GNO Shop Now HTL17_gno

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
8
RHYTHMIC TRAINING            STUDENT'S WORKBOOK
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$6.74+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

on November 12, 2016
I picked this up on-line for a college student who doesn't have a computer. The prices of the college texts shock me, but this appears to be a very well-written and very useful book. My student loves it and feels that it helps her.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 3, 2010
I had the good fortune to study composition with Robert Starer during the the time when he authored this wonderful book. He related to me that he was called to Jury Duty and to pass the time waiting for selection, he composed the rhythmic examples.

What makes this approach to rhythmic training so effective is the balance of a continued tradition that began with Hindemith's ground breaking musicianship book simplified and made accessible by the author.

In it, Starer takes you in a gradually more challenged fashion through simple and complex meters to conduct, sing, tap, and master multi-rhythms. His creativity as a composer and educator shines through in the piquancy of his rhythmic examples.

If you are a singer or an instrumentalist, this book will bring into precise focus your rhythmic acuity and enable you to understand the bigger picture that meter plays in music. It is simply the best book of its kind!
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 14, 2016
Nothing else helps the student who has trouble reading rhythm like this book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon February 9, 2015
This is a wonderfully organized Rhythmic Training book. My professor recommended it and said it was the BEST way to learn Rhythm!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 10, 2012
Nice to be able to find these music books. The music stores do not always carry all the titles. Yea!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 4, 2014
my brother-in-law stole it from me. I mean borrowed. i mean, is using it for his successful music business in Philadeplhia. i loved it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 26, 2006
This particular book is NOT the lesson book itself, but rather the WORK BOOK for the lesson book! The picture of this book shows that its a work book. So look for the regular book, but get this to go along with the lesson book and the pair together are really great tools! One thing to note though, you MUST be willing to do the work that the books ask you to do, other wise your wasting your time and money. If your willing to do the work, these books are awesome and you will walk away with some really great skills!
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 18, 2001
If I were to go simply by my gut instinct and opinion of this book I would rate it zero, because of how much difficulty I had with the exercises! BUT, it is a textbook, and it really makes you think. Starer is a composer as well as a teacher and by the end of the book the exercises definitely reflect his contemporary style. The exercises range from simple rhythmic exercises through three-on-two and more complex syncopations to two-line duets-with-yourself. You will need to practice and work up your speed on every exercise until you master it. This was a textbook for the University of Delaware's Department of Music, specifically for MUSC 285/286, Advanced Ear-Training and Sight-Singing (the second year of majors' study.)
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse



Need customer service? Click here