BCA Month Salon Beauty Most Anticipated Fall Children's Books Hallo nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments $69.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags hgg17 Save $30 on a Deep Cleaning Appointment curbpremiere curbpremiere curbpremiere  Three new members of the Echo family Now shipping All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 All-New Kindle Oasis GNO Shop Now HTL17_gno

Customer reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
8
Rich and Famous [VHS]
Format: VHS Tape|Change
Price:$6.99+ $3.99 shipping


on December 16, 2007
I've seen the other reviews for this movie here and was quite surprised. I bought this and Tragic Hero together because I simply love Chow Yun-Fat. The movie is obviously not up to the standards of the early John Woo's but non-the-less, it is a quality film! Yun-Fat delivered well, the story was proficient, and the pacing was good. All in all, I love this film - it has charm even if not a budget. The over the top emotions and fight scenes are truly the beauty of it, though it's obviously not enough for most people to love it. Strangely enough, people will watch bad American 80's movies for less reason than that (I confess, I am among them). Who can resist the simpering B movie quality wrenching hearty emotions that ooze from the screen? If you're into Chinese low-budget high-emotion gangster flicks, as all irrational beings out be, then this movie is a must see!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 3, 2015
Nice classic
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 4, 2017
Good service. Fun movie.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 7, 2005
This is a particularly dire early Chow Yun Fat Hong Kong gangster movie that occasionally flirts with competence without ever going all the way. It's the usual good brother/bad brother plot, but it's rarely been done as shoddily as this. Danny Lee has little to do, Andy Lau isn't on top form here and only an underused Chow Yun Fat gets by on charisma alone. The film looks like it's been shot in a hurry (the first fight in the betting shop looks as convincing as a schoolgirl pillow fight) by people who'd rather be somewhere else.

No surprises, badly staged and pretty amateurish all round except for a last reel wedding shootout, its hard to believe this was a big enough local hit for a sequel, Tragic Hero. Even more surprising is that Tragic Hero is actually GOOD, focusing on Chow Yun Fat's fall from power as he is abandoned and betrayed - that one has style, flair and a bit of weight to it, as well as much better action scenes. But Rich and Famous is just a waste of your time.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 3, 2015
Good!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 26, 2001
I want to know the Rich and Famous it is including the mandarin languages. Is audio track has Chinese(Mandarin).
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 26, 2001
I want to know the Rich and Famous it is including the mandarin languages.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 25, 2000
This is one of the worst Chow yun-fat movies ever.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here