Hill Climb Racing 2 Industrial Deals Fall Reading Shop new men's suiting nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited GNO for iPhone 8 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Fall TV Binge-worthy season premieres are here Fall TV Binge-worthy season premieres are here Fall TV Binge-worthy season premieres are here  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Shop Now ToyHW17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 10 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 14 reviews
on May 20, 2017
Not to take anything away from Richard Burton, who was a great actor and an interesting person, but this book after a while reads like one long gossip column. I suppose that's all part of the life he led but after a while I started to wonder why I was spending time reading this when I could easily find something more interesting. I suspect that people who read the supermarket fan magazines would find this endlessly fascinating, and I'm not knocking it it's just not for me. If that's you then you will really like this book. All the big stars of that era are part of his story.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 15, 2015
Richard Burton's life was like many of the Shakespearian plays that he starred in, essentially a tragedy that is brought about by a fatal flaw. In Burton's case, it was his drinking. This book contains a very balanced analysis of his life, focusing on his personal relations and how his choices affected those that were close to him. Was he a good person? No. Was he generous? Yes, to a fault. It was these dichotomies that make the tragedy of his life so compelling to read.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 13, 2015
Actually a very sad, confused man with a load of guilt on his shoulders. Admits he knew Liz was bad for him, but was hard to resist. A lot of personal information so you hopefully get to know the man, as much as the actor.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 12, 2016
I read this in parallel with the Burton Diaries. I found it vary interesting and very enjoyable. Thoroughly recommend.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 27, 2013
Informative and his life was interesting. The author obviously admired him very much so it is lovingly told with a slightly blinded eye as to his flaws. Still, I enjoyed it very much.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 16, 2014
If you want to know what women (and there were many, many, many of them) Burton laid and where and when, then this is the book for you. There isn't much more than that in it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 8, 2011
A pretty comprehensive telling of Burton's life. Must say that it will leave you with a bit of a hangover just reading about his liquor consumption but that was the fabric of the man - sadly.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 11, 2015
I wish I was an old lady and Richard Burton was my bus driver. Happy days are here again.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 14, 2017
I love reading about anything to do with Richard Burton. A great actor, a scoundrel, another great read about this fascinating man.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 28, 2012
A great read on the life of a tremendous actor. Hollywood being what it is with all the distractions and such, I think Richards life was wasted being with Elizabeth Taylor. She sets out to get what she wants and doesn't care whom she destroys in the process.
This book is one of the best publications out there on Richard Burton. A must read for a RB fan.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here