Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Ricochet: Riding a Wave of Hope with the Dog Who Inspires Millions
Amazon Vehicles Buy 2 kids' books and save Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Totes Summer-Event-Garden Amazon Cash Back Offer ElvisandNixon ElvisandNixon ElvisandNixon  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Water Sports

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
248
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:$14.22+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on June 3, 2014
As a personal friend of the author and Ricochet, I wasn't sure what to expect, but this book absolutely BLEW ME AWAY!

It's beautifully written in a wonderful, heartfelt manner with so many touching moments. Although I was already familiar with many of the stories told thru vignettes in the book, I still found them very interesting and emotional. You'll want to keep a box of tissues handy!

One does not need to be a dog lover to enjoy this book. Her story is one of love, loss, hope, forgiveness, courage and strength. The lessons we can all learn from Ricochet are endless!

What Judy, Ricochet and Rina have contributed to the world has made an immeasurable difference in so many lives!

Bravo, Congrats, and LOVE!
0Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 3, 2014
If you love animals and love inspiring stories, you will adore this book. To say that Ricochet is an unusual canine is an understatement of epic proportions. From the moment she was born fulfilling the wish of Judy, who would be her partner, through to her dropping out of Service Dog school to her finding her true passions- surfing and helping humans who needed her, Ricochet is one in a million.
We all know our animals are smart, intuitive and endearing. To read story after story of how Ricochet knew, just somehow knew, what each person needed when they needed it even if they did not themselves shows how amazing she is.
Kudos as well to Judy whose compassion and desire to Paw it Forward gave Ricochet the means to share her unique gifts. Be prepared to be moved by the stories of each of the recipients in the book. Each in his own way had been wounded by life with little prospect for joy. This wonderful dog with her goofy joie de vivre inspired and helped each one find happiness on a surf board.
This would be a great beach book for the hot summer!
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 3, 2014
This awe-inspiring book will take you on a journey of how one special person saw the potential in a canine named Ricochet. This will make you want to hug your dog and go buy a surfboard. This book will lift you up and keep you reading from the very first page.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 4, 2014
This book is very inspirational. A must read book. I think every high school student should read it as required reading in schools. I cried, smiled and had goosebumps reading this book. I think we can all learn something from Ricochet and how she paws it forward. Thank you to Judy Fridono for sharing such a wonderful story by writing this book
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 3, 2014
I met Ricochet and her "Mom" Judy 5 years ago, shortly before Ricochet's journey began. Ricki's story is kind of like "Mr. Toad's Wild Ride" in that you just never know what will happen next! This book does such a wonderful job of capturing the feeling of what it's like to be with Ricochet in the water that you will quickly become engulfed in her journey.

The stories of the people who Ricochet works with are sometimes terribly sad, but to see how things change and how these individuals blossom and gain confidence from being with her is just phenomenal. Ricochet has the ability to provide just what each of these individuals needs. To see the change that occurs over time in these people's lives is truly heart-warming.

Just as the cliché states you will laugh and you will cry...and you won't be able to help but to be deeply touched by the story of Ricochet and how she's made such a tremendous difference in so many lives.

This book is suitable for readers of all ages, but probably best for ages 11 to adult. It is a feel good book that is hard to put down once you begin. It would make for a great birthday or graduation gift.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 3, 2014
Once in a while a book comes along that is so much fun and heart warming that it reminds you that Life is so Good!!! Well this is one for sure and it made me smile big time. I love this true amazing and remarkable story and all the "Good" that Ricochet is bringing to the world.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 11, 2014
Ricochet the SURFice dog has been an inspiration to me for the last few years, but I had no idea of the long road her guardian Judy had walked before Ricochet came into her life. Judy has kindly and openly shared some of the losses in her own life that led her to wanting to help others. She has certainly been successful ! The book is both intriguing and inspirational to all ages, and I think late elementary age or middle school children would also get a lot out of it. A very quick read, and I had trouble putting it down. There are many full color photos of Ric and her darling, and very smart, fur sister Rina. Some of the proceeds from the book will go towards support of Ricochet's causes. Enjoy a fascinating read, be inspired, and do good all at the same time!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 19, 2014
This is an absolutely marvelous book about an awesome dog. He showed that you never give up and that there is something that can be done to help people even if it wasn't what you started out to do. Never give up and always have hope. That is a lesson everyone can learn from Ricochet. From puppy hood he knew he was meant for greatness. The many people that he has inspired and continues to inspire is overwhelming. A gorgeous dog with a special purpose in life. Ricochet is an inspiration. I recommend this book to everyone whether a dog lover or not. The story is for all.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 12, 2015
So much potential in every beautiful Golden Retriever, but Ricochet's beginning was different than most. Right from the start she was learning a lot about her world because it was hoped she would become a service dog.

I have been following Ricochet since shortly after her first viral video which presented us with her changed focus from Service Dog to being the one & only SurfICE dog. Helping many, rather than "just" one human find joy and new interest in daily life.

We learn a bit about how Judy started out training service dogs including a **VERY** special Lab\Golden cross she puppy-raised who eventually was "career changed" before being placed. And that young dog became Ricochet's mentor and sister.

VERY worthwhile to read and we get more details of Ricochet's work with adaptive surfing, children with autism, soldiers with PTS and various other causes including one *very* special Make-A-Wish day.

It is likely you will tear up, laugh and shake your head as you read her story. Then you need to hop on to her web page, Facebook page and\or Instagram to see just how amazing Ricochet, Rina and Judy Fridono are!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 7, 2014
I love the book and I have had the honor seeing Ricochet in action.
She inspires me to " Paw it forward". Doing so it has enriched my life.
The book is easy to read and hard to put down.
I will purchase more books to give away as gifts.
I 100% recommend this book
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse