Hill Climb Racing 2 Industrial Deals Beauty Little FIres Everywhere STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited GNO for iPhone 8 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Transparent Transparent Transparent  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Shop Now FFII_gno

Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$8.25+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 238 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 313 reviews
on December 29, 2016
My father put me on to P. G. Wodehouse, Bertie and Jeeves. He was given his books while in the hospital recovering from injuries during WW-II. He said he laughed so much, the staff threatened to take them away. They were afraid he would tear his stitches out. I think the are just as hilarious as he did. Wodehouse has a wonderful sense of humor.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 28, 2016
This is an old compilation about a bon vivant and his manservant. The stories were made into a sitcom decades ago. The heir hasn't much sense and the manservant not only saves him from himself but also advises some of his friends with similar life-styles. The stories are light-hearted and short, each making a nice quick read. They are a good escape at night to take your mind off of work/life dramas and clear your mind for sleep. Many are funny enough that you'll want to share them with family and friends, and clean enough that you can share them without worrying about the audience.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 13, 2016
This was a wonder read. Wodehouse had such masterful way of using the English language. I was engaged & entertained by the characters the entire time. When a book makes me laugh audibly, then it's a good book! I've read about 4 of his books, Jeeves & Wooster are my favorite.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 20, 2017
"...like taking a spade to a souffle.", if memory serves. Being asked to do this after reading about Donald Trump, at least Bertie had adult supervision: You're not proposing to wear that in England, sir? You'll like it or you won't, but you'll be better-off if you do. I still remember the gal to introduced me to him.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 27, 2016
If "laughter is the best medicine," then Wodehouse is the best of doctors, & his Jeeves stories are among his best comedies. The Audible version is a bargain.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 7, 2016
Highly recommended. Good setting gives ambiance of early 30s. Some slang needs a dictionary, but not too often. Many of the terms are repeated.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 9, 2017
I'm being held hostage by this rating system. I can't browse more books until I write a review. However 10/10 would recommend to a friend.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 12, 2016
Ad usual - an improbable number of interlaced plots with Bertie spreading confusion and Jeeves sorting it all out in the end
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 26, 2017
PGW classics - what else but to say Love it!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 15, 2017
I thought this book would be great fun and bought it for an amusing read. And perhaps it would have been fun...in 1930.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here