Amazon Business Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Travel Accessories Shop Popular Services girlss6 tgirlss6 girlss6  All-New Echo Dot Starting at $49.99 Kindle Oasis GNO Shop Now STEM

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
19
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$12.37+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 11 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 19 reviews
on October 14, 2015
Read slowly. Read over a life time. Be Patient. But most of all have this book and this translation in your home.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 8, 2014
I love his poetry As a psychotherapist I have given some of his work to my clients to help them understand situations they are struggling with and give them insight into solutions
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 25, 2016
Great quality and arrived quickly
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 4, 2012
I first read this bilingual edition of Rilke over 20 years ago. A former professor of religion and literature, Mood's sensitive and insightful translation and commentary (especially on Rilke's epitaph) illuminate Rilke for both new and seasoned readers. John Mood doesn't just study Rilke--he lives the poet's work. Highly recommended for Rilke lovers, it contains fragments of poetry and prose difficult to find elsewhere in translation. And the new edition has a gorgeous Art Deco cover, although is missing Mood's short bio of the previous edition for some reason. "May all never-belonging be yours!" RMR
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 9, 2014
Sublime...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 4, 2012
Rilke says everything I need to be said. He knows that 'each of us is alone' but by and through his writing in general he gives one comfort to that very singular realization, if that makes any sense. The idea and image of love and beauty as terrifying hits home and is so welcome in our world of no privacy and little time and space for solitude and reflection. To acknowledge the difficulty in loving another person is so brave and clear-headed. Sex as connected to childhood love, and playfulness. Love the idea of two lovers' being guardians of each other's solitude. Translation is wonderful. However I do not read German, which I trust is even more beautiful than the English.

What's important is not the answer, but the question
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 8, 2015
excellent!
Virginia H
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 5, 2016
I get them mixed up. If this is the original translation, it sucks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 18, 2014
I love the way this poet thinks!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 3, 2014
would love to give it away. Not for me.
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse