Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Year So Far STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book House Cleaning TheTick TheTick TheTick  Introducing Echo Show Limited-time offer: All-New Fire HD 8 Kids Edition, starting at $99.99 Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Tailgating STEMClubToys17_gno

Format: DVD|Change
Price:$17.86+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 703 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 1,127 reviews
on April 1, 2007
I had not seen this movie in over thirty years, so I had forgotten just how good it was. To start with, you have John Wayne in the lead. Then you have Dean Martin in one of his few serious roles. Then comes Ricky Nelson, who could have been a great actor if he had been given a few more serious roles and not simply used as a cameo to bring in the teenage girls. Angie dickinson, doing her best as romantic interest for a man old enough to be her father. Then we come to Walter Brennan at his crotchety best. With a cast like this you just have to have a good movie, but add in a plot with more twists than a fifty foot lariat, then top it off with a great song sung by Dean Martin and Ricky Nelson. Pure entertainment. No deep philosophy, just lots of action and adventure. Treat yourself to a piece of the time when movies were made for fun.
11 comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 13, 2017
If you like the Duke & westerns, here's yur movie! Dean Martin, Angie Dickenson, Ricky Nelson - all just excellent! I mean outstanding! Filmed in Old Tucson. Western movies just don't get any better than this. I'd give it about 12 stars at least.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 6, 2017
Pure fun. Fine transfer to replace my well-used VHS tape. Love the Walter Brennan/John Wayne interactions. Overall story is a little thin and mainly serves as an excuse for the character interactions.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 25, 2011
Just purchased this on Blu-ray from a merchant, as it's out of print. I should have considered why a classic like this would be out of print on Blu-ray--but I didn't. One reason is that the transfer is far from optimal, as mentioned by others. The other reason is that the pressing is defective....the picture/sound freezes, skips, jumps, etc at different points in the film. This was not the seller's fault, as I should have done my homework before making the purchase. Hopefully, Warner Brothers will revisit this title on Blu-ray in the future, from a better master and without the authoring defects.
11 comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 27, 2017
The movie is great. The disc is a blatant rip off bad bootleg copy. It even says "Disc made in Mexico" on the case. Picture quality is poor. BEWARE THIS SELLER. SELLER IS A FRAUD !!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 28, 2017
Perfect in every way, picture, sound and clarity. With the Duke, Dino, Rick Nelson, Angie Dickinson and Walter Brennan you can't go wrong.

Last Ranger
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 29, 2017
Don't bet against John Wayne, even if he is outnumbered and cornerned in the town jail with only a drunken Dean Martin and a young Ricky Nelson for help.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 19, 2017
Loaded with stars such as John Wayne and character actors such as Walter Brennan, this movie is timeless with one of the better western story lines that keeps you interested all the way through. Good humor and classic alpha male show downs make for good continuity and texture. The soundtrack has one of my favorite western movie songs sung by Dean Martin (Rat Pack) and Ricky Martin (yesteryears Justin Timberlake). I find myself returning to watch this classic again and again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 2, 2017
A good transfer to Blu-ray and a good John Wayne movie, the storyline very much like "El Dorado" but both should be in your collection.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon December 15, 2009
I don't yet own a lot of Blu-ray movies, but of the dozen or so I've watched, this is easily the worst. The transfer seems very grainy and there was literally nothing in the image that seemed to me to be in any way an improvement on the DVD version. So, if you already have the DVD version, I would see little point in buying this one.

With respect to the movie itself, like most other reviewers, I find this to be one of John Wayne's best films. I would not, however, put it up there with the truly classic westerns because of the presence of Ricky Nelson. In the latter part of Wayne's career, he apparently liked to include a young star in the film, presumably to appeal to younger filmgoers who might not have been attracted to an aging Duke. I assume that this was a good box office strategy, and sometimes, as with Glenn Campbell's more than serviceable performance in "True Grit," it didn't significantly damage the movie. But not here. Ricky Nelson is unbelievably bad. Literally, the worst actor to ever appear in a major movie. (He also managed to nearly capsize the otherwise excellent Jack Lemon film "The Wackiest Ship in the Army.") It's not difficult to see why his film career came to an early end. The problem with having a truly awful actor in a movie is that it makes it difficult to suspend disbelief. You always end up being distracted by thoughts like, "Did Howard Hawks really believe he could coach a decent performance out of this stiff?" There is a sharp contrast between Ricky Nelson and Dean Martin, who came to fame, of course, as a singer and straight man for Jerry Lewis. In this movie, Martin shows that he was an excellent actor.

If I'm allowed one more carp: I think it would have been better to have cast a somewhat older actress in the Angie Dickinson part. The age gap between Angie and the Duke makes their romance less plausible than it would have been with a more mature actress in the part.

The strength of the performances by Wayne, Martin, and Walter Brennan, and the brilliance of the script are enough to overcome these problems, though, and make this an enjoyable film. One that is, of course, indispensable for John Wayne fans.
44 comments| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here