Amazon Vehicles Beauty Return your textbook rentals STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Limited time offer Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Shop Home Gift Guide Father's Day Gifts Home Gift Guide Shop Popular Services whiteprincess whiteprincess whiteprincess  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire HD 8, starting at $79.99 Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Spring Savings Event on Amazon.com Ellen

  • Tzaar
  • Customer Reviews

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
12
Price:$27.93+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 12 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 12 reviews
on March 18, 2017
This is an okay game. Random starting positions for your pieces is more fun than set starting positions. The game is obviously abstract. On the level with chess in terms of how I'd categorically describe the game. The design is cool and the rules are straight forward. The quality of the pieces are excellent. The board quality is okay...nothing special. With random start locations for the pieces, the replayability is there. It's a very strategic game, but not entirely up my alley for gaming. I prefer more traditional euro games like Tigris & Euphrates, El Grande, Five Tribes, Power Grid, Agricola, etc. Still recommended, though.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 23, 2016
One of my favorite games. It fits somewhere between checkers and backgammon as far as the gameplay goes. It's easy to learn, more difficult to master. I like that we can easily get through a few games quickly - it's a nice lunch-time diversion at work.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 10, 2016
So glad I got Tzaar! All Rio Grande Games are excellent.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 2, 2016
Great game!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 26, 2009
I got this game for my husband because he loves strategy games. HE LOVES IT!

I play it with him and I have to admit that even though he kicks my butt it is alot of fun and very strategic.

It's deceptively simple but that's good because as long as the players are of similar skill it keeps it fun and challenging for both. At a basic level it is fun and at an advanced level it is even more fun.

It would be great for kids to teach higher level thinking skills and encourage "out-of-the-box" thinking.

We purchased some of the other games in this series and will eventually get them all.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 21, 2012
There are six games currently available in this series, the Gipf project. They are possibly my favorite six games at the moment, all abstract games of skill and depth. They have enough in common to be related, yet each holds its own charm and uniqueness. Easy rules, endless possibilities. Brilliant games, though they can be played simply by younger players as well.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 20, 2015
This game is so fun! Simple, but allows for so much strategy that it stays interesting and different every time you play. Great two player game!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 31, 2015
A great game that the whole family can play. Well made, simple rules and quick set-up. Less complicated and easier to learn than chess, but more strategy and thinking than checkers and not much more difficult to learn.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 22, 2017
This is grate. I love this one too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 12, 2014
If you've played any of Kris Burm's "Gipf Project" games you know they are all exceptionally enjoyable strategy games for both young and old. It needs to be accepted though that "Tzaar" was designed to substitute for the sadly unpopular "Tamsk." As a result it brings with it a lot of what is familiar and only a few surprises. "Tamsk" was designed to evoke a sandstorm and further served as an allegory about time. If a player was caught abusing that time, his opponent was then given two moves instead of one. This then carried into the "Tamsk Potential" within "Gipf" which provided two moves. "Tzaar" picks up at this point, using the exact same shape as the "Tamsk Potential" for the game piece. "Tzaar" also uses two moves, but the interesting twist is that EVERY move is two moves as opposed to just a rare occurrence. You can spend your second move either making your opponent's family weaker or your family stronger. The latter is accomplished by stacking your pieces which for me is too evocative of "Dvonn." Your pieces can also move the length of any open space which is rather evocative of "Yinsh." "Tzaar"s only significant difference is that the center of the hexagonal playing area, which when controlled in the other games typically lends you an advantage over your opponent, is actually a void that can serve as a defensive barrier from one side of the board to the other. All in all, it is still a good game and a significant improvement over "Tamsk" but inasmuch that it is not as uniquely original as the other games in the series, I can only give it four stars.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.

Customers also viewed these items

$35.43
$28.21
$26.85

Need customer service? Click here