Check out Santa's new ride Beauty Best Books of the Year Black Friday Deals Week nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums PCB for Musical Instruments $24.99 for a limited time only Try it first with samples Handmade Gift Shop Home and Garden Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Black Friday deals: save 40% or more on Amazon Video Black Friday deals: save 40% or more on Amazon Video Black Friday deals: save 40% or more on Amazon Video  Echo  Black Friday Deals Week: Fire tablets starting at $29.99. Limited-time offer. $30 off Kindle Paperwhite Shop Now HTL17_gno



on May 23, 2017
I am an avid board gamer, and this is one game I keep coming back to over and over again. The mechanics are not too hard to pick up, and the directions could be a little clearer in areas, but overall I love playing this game and would highly recommend it to anyone thinking of purchasing it. This is more fun with 3 or more players.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 27, 2016
The game is very fun. The directions for us were a little unclear. After watching a YouTube video we were able to set up and take off. Game play is very well thought out and the game flows very nice. It has a nice system to give the players doing poorly a chance to catch up each round. It has very good game mechanics. This game is more fun with three plus players, however the two player game is fun and we enjoyed it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 27, 2017
I love this game. More strategic than luck and love the mechanics of inverting turn orders. Makes you wonder if it's worth being at the lead until the last moment
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 4, 2017
It's a fun game that you usually can't predict the winner until the very end. Just be aware that it is on the complicated side so isn't for everyone.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 29, 2017
Great game. My kids love it and my wife might just be addicted. Just enough strategy required to keep it fun.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 21, 2017
Instructions are a bit much, go on youtube! Very fun "gateway" game
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 19, 2017
This game is amazing! I am a master's student studying renewable energy, hoping for a career in the green energy field, and this game is awesome! I love how the bidding for power plants and the buying of resources mimics real life, how scarcity affects prices, and how the initial purchase cost of green energy is always higher. I'm hoping to play this with my advisor and co-workers!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 28, 2011
Power Grid is a unique and very cleverly-conceived board game. There is virtually no luck involved in play. No dice. No random event cards or tables. Cards are used to determine which power plants are available for purchase, and which power plants may become available in the future, but that's it. The rest is all up to the players. Even the player order (which is important in this game), varies from round to round and is determined by the outcome of each previous round. The idea of the game is to be able to power the most cities, and the player powering the most cities at the end of a round goes first in the next round. But going first is not necessarily a good thing. In Power Grid, sometimes it can be best to be last.

Take control of a new city? Bid against your opponents for a new power plant? Wait and hope that the price of a particular resource drops? Every single decision that you make in this game can come back to haunt you later. Or can make you the winner.

My husband and I have been playing Power Grid as a two-player game for a couple of years. Just recently we pulled in a third player and it is even more fun.

One last thing: The box says playing time is two hours. Unless my husband and I are unusually slow, it's more like three to four hours. But it really is a lot of fun.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 7, 2016
Colorful, amazingly accessible and deeply complex for its simple ruleset.

Go to Boardgame Geek for a streamlined rulebook... the 'official' one is OK but leaps around a bit and you may miss a Step or a refill bit quite easily.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 9, 2016
Power Grid is an amazing game. It has elements of Settlers of Catan, Ticket to Ride, and Monopoly. The game simulates a genuine economic system through which you buy resources to power the plants that you build in the cities you occupy. You do this in the same way that you build roads and cities in Settler of Catan, by paying the cost to build them. There are plants that run on coal, oil, garbage, nuclear, and renewable energies. There are pros and cons to all of these, and you have to be constantly thinking ahead in terms of upgrades to keep up with the other players, outbidding them on newer and better power plants that will cost less in the long run. It's a fun balance of strategy, and nothing ever seems too complicated or overwhelming. The rules might seem a lot to take in at first, but so do the rules for most other games of this kind.

Power Grid has become one of my favorite games of all time, and it's a hit with my gaming friends too. Every time we get together, it's on the list of things we absolutely must play.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.
See all 8 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here