Amazon Vehicles Beauty STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Shop Home Gift Guide Father's Day Gifts Home Gift Guide Book House Cleaning MeBeforeYou MeBeforeYou MeBeforeYou  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire HD 8 Kids Edition, starting at $129.99 Kindle Oasis GNO National Bike Month on Amazon toystl17_gno

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 2,103 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 3,141 reviews
on November 2, 2016
I've been a big fan of the Stargate franchise from the beginning. Imagine my surprise when I make it to episode 4 in season 1 and Amazon Prime pulls the series! Now they want me to pay $30 for each season!! Talk about bait and switch. Amazon Prime, you screwed up when you decided to screw your customers. What happened, did the show start getting more views? Did you smell money?
88 comments| 47 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 18, 2016
I love Stargate. I truly do. Amazon is the only place that I can stream all three series, as of this writing. The quality is fantastic as well. But there is a reason gave it only 3 stars.

Whatever powers that be that decided to have episodes with scenes removed need to be removed themselves. Crucial scenes in the first episode, like O'Neill and Shepards flight from Antarctica and Shepard's first meeting with Col. Sumner. There were quite a few scenes over the course of the first episode that helped build the story that were blindly removed.

I do have the entire series on Blu-ray, so I can fix the problem for myself. First time viewers are going to be seriously left out.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 2, 2016
All seasons are no longer available on prime as of today. Why pull them now. I am a big fan of the show and enjoyed watching. Now what was included in my prime membership costs $30 a season. Disappointing.
0Comment| 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 7, 2017
Stargate Atlantis was a great series. It only lasted half as long as Stargate SG1, and didn’t have the wonderful cast of Stargate SG1, but I enjoyed the series as much as the original Stargate series. I only watched a few episodes of Stargate Universe. The original Stargate series was fun and witty. Stargate Atlantis continued with the fun and wit, but Stargate Universe was dark and dumb, with an unlikeable cast.

Stargate SG1 is a great example of taking a mediocre movie, the source material, and turning it into an outstanding franchise with the longest running sci-fi series in history, although Supernatural is now the longest running fantasy series in history.

When I’m not watching episodic storytelling I’m reading, everything from nonfiction to westerns, but at least half of my time is spent reading sci-fi and fantasy.

Sci-fi and fantasy authors I like include Douglas Adams, Isaac Asimov, Paolo Bacigalupi, Ray Bradbury, Orson Scott Card, Arthur C. Clarke, Earnest Cline, Suzanne Collins, Abe Evergreen, Diana Gabaldon, William R. Forstchen, Joe Haldeman, Robert A. Heinlein, Frank Herbert, Hugh Howey, George Martin, Larry Niven, Andre Norton, George Orwell, Patrick Rothfuss, Brandon Sanderson, John Scalzi, John Steakley, J.R.R. Tolkien, and Andy Weir.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 16, 2016
Admittedly I like anything to do with Stargate stories. The entire premise of ancient technology taps into so many of the mysteries that both scientist and archeologist are unable to explain. The SG series combined great story line with generally good acting, great music, and good cinematography. The characters in Stargate Atlantis are dreadfully human, often lovable and sometimes frustrating. SG-1 and Atlantis are grounded, for good or bad, in the hard to believe universe that amazingly speaks English, a necessary presupposition to enable a fluid and exciting story line. But tuck that aside and enjoy the shows. Atlantis replaces Colonel O'Neil with Major Sheppard, right down to the cowlick hairdo and rebellious leadership styles, so for the SG fanbase it was a nice transition. The Wraith are the clear replacement of the Goa'uld. They lack the complexity of character but they have the essential evil and fear factor. As with any series, it's hard to compete with a movie production. To carry on the story requires great writing and production. And some patience on the part of viewers and fans like myself who would might not like every episode. But this is a great series. The characters remain true to their personalities and key characters show development over time. There is a main character for every taste from prophet to warrior, idealist to pragmatism.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 27, 2016
It is a very good spin off of the original Stargate series. The main characters are all very likable and have good chemisty, even the Doctor who is a whiny is likeable. The main story starts with the discovery of the ancient city of Atlantis in the Pegasus galaxy, and earth sending a large military and research contingent there knowing that they will only be able to do this once and that for the most part they will be on their own, until another way is found to bring them back or send support to them. Upon arriving there in the city find that the city is underwater and that the shield holding back the water is failing. Unexpectedly the city raises to the surface. They are only able to power some of the cities areas with the generators that they brought. As they go out exploring they are met by a Wraith raiding party that takes some of the off world team. In rescuing them back they inadvertently awaken the whole hive. They find out that the Wraith are the ones that defeated the Ancients, and in a last ditch effort the Ancients had submerged the city and fled back to Earth, those that were left. The teams as they go out exploring looking for allies and energy modules to power the city run into allies and foes alike. The season ends with the Wraith coming to capture Atlantis in hopes of finding a way to Earth to open a new feeding ground for them.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 18, 2016
We loved Stargate SG1 and that was 5 star and Stargate Atlantis goes off the charts to at least a 7 or 8 stars out of 5!!!!! Just the greatest story line and the quality is as good and well put together as a great movie. If you listen to the producers talking (if you have the actual DVD's, they were so into the filming of it and every little detail. We got the complete 10 seasons of SG1, the original movie with Curt Russell, Continuum, The Arc of Truth and the 5 seasons of Atlantis. I liked the Universe series and they just left us all hanging. If they could finish that and continue with 5 more seasons of Atlantis, I could not be more happy. Whoever made the decision to kill Stargate made a bad mistake.
review image
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 30, 2015
Pretty decent sci-fi show. Slightly campy at times and the production values aren't always great, but the characters are interesting and the plots are usually better than they sound. The first season has a nice tension between the civilians of Atlantis, who are there to explore the alien worlds and learn the science, led by Elizabeth Weir, a very smart, competent leader who emphasizes diplomatic resolution and long-term peace, and the Marines, led by John Sheppard, also smart and competent, but more willing to use violence and brute strength. The mission is under civilian jurisdiction, so technically Elizabeth is in charge except during security threats, and she and John balance each other really well, actually, when they aren't arguing about what constitutes a security threat, and John bothers to actually follow orders. The show does a really good job with the alien bad guys, the Wraith, who are genuinely creepy and have enough presence to create a sense of mild dread even when they aren't in an episode, and the human bad guys end up being pretty worrisome themselves.

The humor is pretty good, especially when it's aimed at Rodney, head scientist and the self-proclaimed 'smartest man in the universe', who can be pompous and whiny; John spends a lot of time laughing at him behind his back (and sometimes to his face), but like all the characters on this show, Rodney's a balance of flaws and heroism. The cast has pretty good chemistry overall, and the balance of humor and tension is good. There are a few kind of slow episodes, but they build to a pretty satisfying cliffhanger by the end. If you're a sci-fi fan, you should give it a shot.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 15, 2017
Stargate Atlantis has a bit of a rough start, mostly due to the hype that Stargate SG-1 built up for the lost city and its discovery. Many of the struggles and problems harken back to SG-1, and at first it just felt like this off-shoot was trying to give fans of SG-1 a pressure valve for the coming end of SG-1.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 27, 2009
I bought the first & second seasons of Stargate Atlantis for my son's fiance. She had them on her wish list, so I ordered them. She opened them & proceeded to play them at my house for the next several days. I got hooked on it from the first episode! Never thought about the show when it was on TV; not a big TV watcher. Even though I never watched the original series, I could figure out what was going on because it shared enough of the plot & actors as if it was the beginning of a new show.

I'm an old Star Trek fan, and still love sci-fi. All the futuristic technology was so well done & believable. The relationships between the characters were realistic, and the dangers were quite realistic!

I guess my initial attraction was spurred by the fact that there is a mythology about Atlantis, & they incorporated that, but the ancestor souls who designed this place came through the portal from another galaxy. They left their portal here on Earth, under the sea, where the south polar cap is now. If you're a sci-fi lover, you won't be disappointed.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse