Industrial Deals Luxury Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Limited time offer Wickedly Prime Handmade Mother's Day Gifts hgg17 Book House Cleaning Catastrophe Catastrophe Catastrophe  Introducing Echo Look Starting at $49.99 Kindle Oasis National Bike Month on Amazon

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 396 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 487 reviews
on April 14, 2016
A sometimes brilliant, sometimes frustrating film that manages to mix a Hollywood teen sex comedy and retrograde male fantasy (the gorgeous, happy, smart hooker who really does want you), with a pretty edgy satire about the American idea of success. The original script was even darker, with more thought provoking satire, and less flat out comedy. And indeed, the original ending included as an extra on the blu-ray subtly casts a whole different, more complex and interesting light on the film. But whatever it’s failures to live up to possible greatness, it’s still got amazing music, cool photography, fun performances, and some real ideas in its head to go with the glossy, sexy sex and wacky comedy.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 29, 2013
"Risky Business" represents the 80's teen genre with style, as a a teenager has the house to himself when his parents leave for vacation. His friends tell him that he owes himself a good time, so he ends up having a one-night-stand with a hooker who inevitably steals a very expensive crystal egg off his families mantlepiece. His life just get's worse from here on out, by having his father's car slide into the lake and almost blowing his entire college interview. I must say that this film knows when to be subtle and good hearted and it knows when it is the right time to make you laugh. Tom Cruise is very cool in one of his very first theatrical roles, and the classic underwear scene will never tire. The acting is fun, the outfits fit the film perfectly, the plot line brings out the true events of the 80's, and by the end of the movie, I was either feeling happy when he was or sad when he was. My only complaint is that there are a few too many moments where it is a little too dramatic for the type of film that it is meant to be, but all-in-all, this is one of my favourite teen films!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 2, 2016
This movie is one of my all time favorites. I have seen it many times over the years and it only gets better and better. For me this movie is one that really made me recognize Tom Cruise and after it I began watching many of his movies. This is a classic and should be a part of any home DVD library.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 15, 2013
What can I say about the film that made Tom Cruise a star and brought Bob Seeger back to the forefront of Rock n' Roll History by a silly lip-sinking impression and dance in one's underwear? This became the protoypical teenage angst movie with a genuine happy ending (Rebecca De Mornay, several years Tom's senior, became his real life lover during the filming) Add a pulse quickening musical score (an almost haunting techno creation by the Japanese Synthesist, Tangerine Dream) and an improbable plot facing most High School Seniors (can I get into college and WHERE?) Its all good fun until a chance meeting with a callgirl (De Mornay) complicates Cruise's plans with a business offer of her own. With the parents out of town for a weekend, Joel (Tom) takes the advice of one of his privileged pals ("F____" it, just do it man!), casts caution aside and goes out on a limb (actually SEVERAL limbs) and gets mixed up with a seedy pimp, a college recruiter and pretty much every teenage boy from his school.....Tom cemented his role as a tentative teen teetering on the edge of independence while trying to do the sensible thing; he is charming, vulnerable and endearing in his evolution into young adulthood. Rebecca De Mornay is perfect as the fallen angel--sexy, sweet but driven in her ambitions. This movie is an incredible look back 30 years ago when most of us were struggling with GPA's and hopes of a college education--what it delivers is an education in the risky business of finding ourselves!
22 comments| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 20, 2013
RISKY BUSINESS is a comedy/drama flick about a call girl Lana(Rebecca Demornay)helps a Princeton applicant Joel Goodson(Tom Cruise)turn his home into a one-night brothel when he falls in love with her while his folks are out of town along with the fact that this comedy/drama flick is what made Tom Cruise famous.

RISKY BUSINESS also takes me back to memory lane to when I was 10 going on 11 years old in the 5th grade when this movie was theatrically released in the Summer of 1983 along with STAYING ALIVE, PRIVATE SCHOOL, VACATION, PSYCHO 2, etc.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 15, 2012
I loved this when it came out all those years ago, though it doesn't seem like that many, it is. I still laugh when "Guido the killer pimp" is said by a buddy of mine when somehting is chasing anything. There really was a lesson to be learned back then, breaking a few rules when you are younger makes you a better man tomorrow (and every day there after). Till my knees can't take it, the wife will have to deal with impromptu dance sesions when Old Time Rocking Roll comes on anywhere. I wish the powers that be could make the movies feel like they did back then.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 18, 2017
The movie holds up pretty well for an early 80's comedy/drama. Still pretty sexy. Also, my 17 year old son who was watching it for the first time, and who is going through the college admissions process, and getting ready to leave the nest, found it pretty relatable. If you think about the movie, it's got some reasonably deep thematic aspects, like race and homophobia, lust vs. love, trust, and getting outside the suburban safe bubble and into the real world. On the other hand, those SAT scores would NEVER get you into Princeton, even if you got the interviewer some you-know-what.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 22, 2015
This was a '80's classic dark comedy filled with adult sexy humor. Tom Cruise plays teenager Joel Goodsen whose parents are going to Florida for a week and is being left home alone. Acting boldly he calls a call girl number. Rebecca De Mornay shows up and everything gets out of hand. He has trouble with her pimp "Guido" (Joe Pantoliao), dumps his father's Porsche into Lake Michigan and ends up with a wild night of prostitutes and high school boys in his home. An over the top adult comedy, geared for teenage boys, that was popular at the time. While not really a great film and stretching all moral guidelines it is a entertaining piece of adult comedy and worth a watch. The first choice for Joel was Timothy Hutton, but he turned it down. Tom Hanks, John Cusack and Nicolas Cage all auditioned for the role. For Lana, the prostitute, Kim Basinger turned it down and Diane Lane's father said no way.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 14, 2014
Princeton can use a man like Joel. This is not a John Hughes movie. It takes the 1980's formula up a notch, and deals with its subject matter in a raw and honest way. I had not seen this movie in 25 years when I decided to take a trip down memory lane with Tom Cruise. I was not disappointed. The movie has aged better than Tom's image. The subject matter, cinematography, acting, music, settings, and everything else is perfect. I'm surprised there has not been a re-make. Just be careful. There is nudity. There are a few scenes of a sexual nature that can be uncomfortable if you are watching them with your teenagers. A few f bombs get dropped. Pretty tame when compared with some of the stuff you can watch today, but it is still there. Watch this again for the first time.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 28, 2016
Risky Business is one of the best films of the 80s and is one of Tom Cruise's top best. Extremely entertaining, edgy and even dark. Its an excellent coming of age story with thoroughly winning performances by everyone involved especially Tom Cruise and the knock out Rebecca De Mornay who is even hotter now if you can believe that. It also has a stellar 80s score by the great Tangerine Dream. I would love a darker follow up to this film showing where Cruise's character is at with being a "pimp" and De Mornay's character. Awesome movie!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse