Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

FREE Shipping on orders with at least $25 of books.
Only 7 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com. Gift-wrap available.
River Talk has been added to your Cart
+ $3.99 shipping
Used: Acceptable | Details
Sold by big_river_books
Condition: Used: Acceptable
Comment: Pages have significant wear and cover is damaged. May have writing and highlighting throughout. All pages are intact. We ship daily Monday - Friday!
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 3 images

River Talk Paperback – March 26, 2014

4.9 out of 5 stars 27 customer reviews

See all 2 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Price
New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
Paperback
"Please retry"
$16.00
$9.54 $4.50

Saving Sara (Redemption Series)
Losing her daughter seems like the end, but can a new start offer Sara fresh hope? Learn More
$16.00 FREE Shipping on orders with at least $25 of books. Only 7 left in stock (more on the way). Ships from and sold by Amazon.com. Gift-wrap available.
click to open popover

Frequently Bought Together

  • River Talk
  • +
  • What If?  Writing Exercises for Fiction Writers (3rd Edition)
Total price: $81.99
Buy the selected items together


Editorial Reviews

Review

An uncommonly clearsighted collection of short fiction.  
Though journalist Anderson is a first-time author, her sensitive and startlingly perceptive debut proves she's on her way to being a master... [Her] gifts of attention and emotional precision are on shining display...  A triumphant, probing debut that promises both literary and mass appeal. 
--Kirkus Review (Starred)  


"A stellar, fully realized collection of stories. River Talk is grounded, wonderfully, in the river valleys of Western Maine but Anderson knows her diverse collection of characters just as intimately - their desires, their secrets - and you come away not only understanding a place but the soul of its people."
--Peter Orner, award-winning author of Last Car Over the Sagamore Bridge and five other books
 

"I adored these stories, every one of which engaged my mind and my heart. Anderson writes with wisdom, generosity, and beauty about people we don't see often enough in contemporary literature. She gives us minimum-wage strivers, doing their best and sometimes their worst, and asks us to see them, hear them, walk with them for a while. Anderson is a marvelous writer, but her best gift is simple and rare: empathy."
--Monica Wood, best-selling author of When We Were the Kennedys and six other books

"In the tradition of Winesburg, Ohio, CB Anderson follows the discrete and diverse lives of characters in a small town, revealing both the heart and heartache that surrounds us all.  This is a powerful and wonderfully insightful book; I can't imagine a reader who wouldn't come away moved and illuminated."
--Antonya Nelson, award-winning author of Bound and nine other books

"This intriguing book is centered by the understated murmuring of the river in the background, seemingly constant, but, in fact, endlessly changing and with the potential for reinvention...  Readers will feel drawn to these characters written with empathy and compassion." 
- San Francisco Book Review
NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

New York Times best sellers
Browse the New York Times best sellers in popular categories like Fiction, Nonfiction, Picture Books and more. See more

Product Details

  • Paperback: 236 pages
  • Publisher: C&R Press (March 26, 2014)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1936196468
  • ISBN-13: 978-1936196463
  • Product Dimensions: 5.5 x 0.5 x 8.5 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 11.2 ounces (View shipping rates and policies)
  • Average Customer Review: 4.9 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (27 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #832,938 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Customer Reviews

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Paperback
You know when a writer is really superb when you begin to see the world around you through the writer's vision, when you continue to hear the writer's voice. You go to the gym and the people you see could have lives straight out of those stories. CB Anderson writes about people we may think we know, or even might know, but the thing is that she really does know them: The dance instructor in the poisoned little Maine town; Steve, the husband and father who returns from his second tour in Iraq to a wife who's left him and with no work in a town where he meets regularly with other Vets who also suffer from PTSD; the couple, John and Evie, who after years of fashioning jewelry out of modest gems suddenly stumble on a vein of tourmaline that changes their life as a long-married couple in ways that you see are inevitable, but only at the end; and Ena, who acts on a sexual urge in her teens and suffers a sense of guilt until - I believe - her marriage offers a reprieve; and the Indian math teacher with a restless libido. Oh, and Luke, the charming, irresistible painter who spins a web of group sex out of his amoral imagination that draws Nina toward her own moral red line. And there are more. They all live in Maine, on the coast or inland, a landscape that CB Anderson has made her own through sharp, poetic descriptive writing: a place of harsh weather and hard luck in which these characters - children, parents, grandparents - struggle to find some emotional purchase, if not release. Artist that she is, Anderson can make us erupt with mirth. She writes wonderful dialogue and has moving insights, or leaves us to experience those insights her keenly detailed stories evoke in the reader.Read more ›
Comment 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
This is a very insightful and thoughtful collection of short stories. Much like Chekhov, this writer finds the grand psychological, philosophical, and political streams of humanity in the simple everyday life and relationships of this small river town of Two Falls. It seems you can find all of humanity everywhere. Here are stories of the divorced mother of a severely autistic boy, who works in a bar to make ends meet, a philandering expatriate Indian professor at the college who picks up a young female student who is also Indian, the religious cult run by a man who has several wives, and the couple from Mogadishu given asylum so that they might make new lives in America. Looming over all is the paper mill, primary source of employment, that daily deposits debris into the river. This is who we are now. The stories are beautifully told, vividly simple and heart rending.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
Always exciting to discover a new writer. I read an excerpt first on Amazon and was so intrigued by Anderson's gritty and compelling writing, that I had to read the rest. I wasn't disappointed. There wasn't a weak story in the entire collection. Anderson writes about the North like a Southern writer.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
Anderson is a writer’s writer who is also a reader’s writer. Like Evie in her story “Tourmaline,” she has found rough beauty hidden in ordinary life in western Maine, and like Evie she has crafted it with precision and imagination into pieces I shall come back to and marvel at again and again.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
Beautiful debut collection of stories about ordinary people living in the old mill towns of western Maine. Anderson writes about her characters' struggles with great insight and compassion. Already looking forward to her next publication!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
I've read some other pieces by CB Anderson, so I can't say that I'm surprised at the quality of this collection of shorts about Maine. Still ... wow! I find myself thinking about these stories and their characters even days after devouring this beautiful book. Anderson seems to have reached a new level with this one, and definitely earned that Kirkus star rating. I strongly recommend this book!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback
CB Anderson does not disappoint when she delivers gritty rural Maine characters who stare down their despair and anguish to get through the next day, and the one after that. With lean and precise prose, pristinely drawn characters, conflicts that run from the prosaic to the exotic, Andersen chases down all that is beautiful, stark and enigmatic in Northern New England’s harshest state. She does so without sentimentality; nor does she abandon her characters humanity, whether they are barmaids, mill workers, or Ivy League grad students. She captures the universality of alienation and opportunities lost and we fall a little in love with everyone we meet, as well as the unforgiving landscapes they inhabit.
Comment One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback
CB Anderson's stories set against the landscape of a Maine river valley speak the truth about day-to-day rural hardscrabble while shining the light on universal concerns: autism, anorexia, alcoholism, polygamy, the desperate, and the disparate, and on and on. The prose is tight. Characterizations are compelling. You walk away with knowledge about people like you, people unlike you, and new ideas about people in and the world in general. If you like short stories, gritty and compassionate, you'll enjoy River Talk.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Most Recent Customer Reviews

Set up an Amazon Giveaway

River Talk
Amazon Giveaway allows you to run promotional giveaways in order to create buzz, reward your audience, and attract new followers and customers. Learn more about Amazon Giveaway
This item: River Talk